April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Don't paint me, I'm busy

by Wish I Was an Astronaut - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Source, timelapse, and mute button coming once I relearn how to sleep.

WARNING: Contains mature theme (reference to drugs) used in an immature context.
Also does not contain a mute button as of yet. Is planned for update.
A game made in under 48 hours for the 26th Ludum Dare competition.
You control Yari Sugi, the young, rather violent girl, who has seen the millions to be made in minimalist art, and thinks it might be worth a shot at it herself.
A good old fashioned beat em up, with about 10 minutes of gameplay, including three enemies, and a boss.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#73Audio3.68
#106Humor3.36
#531Mood2.91
#538Fun3.00
#569Graphics3.00
#664Overall3.07
#1022Theme3.00
#1061Innovation2.36
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

JonRB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:47am

The music sets the scene really well and the levels are pretty well balanced. I love the strange humour. The graphics could be better but work well with the theme I suppose.

I like the combat combos and the dialog in particular.

10/10 would bang.

J says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:13pm

I like it. The music and graphics are good apart from the text box head things. I didn't understand the enemy health bar for quite a while, but that's probably because I'm silly.

I enjoyed playing, for a while, but it seems to me that the best strategy is to be careful and take your time, which isn't very fun. I'm not sure how you that could be improved. I think the length is about right - I wouldn't make it any longer unless you add new mechanics.

JonRB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:11pm

The more hair the enemies have, the more dangerous they are..

brxtr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:30pm

The gameplay is largely repetitive and tiresome, but I appreciated the variation in enemies and the humour. The music was probably the best aspect of the game.

Starspell says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Music is great. The humour is fun as well. The game play and graphics are pretty good as well. The lowest level of enemy probably should have less health as they take forever to go down. I liked the introduction of other enemies throughout. Could have done with a little more variety. Nice job!

messiano says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Really enjoyed the introduction, graphics and music! Gameplay could be tightened up, but overall your entry is pretty amazing for 48hs. Congratulations!

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Good game. Far too much dialog!

SuperDisk says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Wow, great game. Final boss was quite hard.

May 17, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Thanks for all the feedback guys!
(I may not like to admit to it, but negative comments are the most useful to me, they tell me what to improve. Positive ones feel good though, so thanks all for commenting! :D)

DdlyHeadshot says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Quite a good old-school beatemup. You owe me a new "G" key though...

multikorv says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Nice music!

kibertoad says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:05pm

great story. probably the most coherent one at this jam. also, genuenly funny and awesome idea for the boss fight. this game makes me horny.

May 19, 2013 @ 7:02pm

love the main char. she's awesome. liked the music and an am in awe that you made that from scratch yourself. The mechanics seem nice, although the fighting became timing and button mashing to win it seemed. The boss was awesome. loved the things that dropped. The bullets got their own shadow as big as a man... xD

May 19, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Pretty good, if not all that innovative. The storyline and writing are very funny, and I like Yari. The battles were just challenging enough to keep me coming back when I got beaten. The graphics are nice; my only problem is that the fighting animations are a bit uninspired. Also, the font wasn't very easy to read.

Apart from those nitpicks, nice work.

MinionStudios says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Because that's all that art is.

Yezu says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 2:07pm

I like your take on the theme :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]