April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Vectron's Revenge

by Rutger Megahertz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Howdy!
You're a fighter pilot venturing into the deep space of Vectron's realm. Watch out for his smart attack-mines.
Steer with 'A' and 'D', fire laser shots with the spacebar.
If any mine will get away they can inform the HQ and request
reinforcement. For every 10th mine that gets away another is added to the reinforcement pool.

I wished I had time to make some awesome soundtrack to this.
I recommend you listen to some Lazerhawk or something like that to get the ambience down.


In my opinion minimalism is doing, just enough, to convey a feeling or a certain effect.


PS. The game is written with slick2d and java. It should function on all the three os. (Windows, Linux, Mac)
And it's written for the JRE7, so you'll need that.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#283Graphics3.46
#552Theme3.54
#639Mood2.79
#772Audio2.33
#882Fun2.63
#926Humor1.73
#954Overall2.79
#1238Innovation2.04
#1594Coolness37%

Comments

Joror says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:18pm

The slowness (counter to the usual) and the diagonal perspective gives a nice alternative feel. Graphically distinct & old-school, very minimalistic.

I was expecting a step-up in enemies at some point.

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Good little game :) The grid is blinking and that's a bit annoying...

daandruff says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Awesome graphical style! The sounds are ok, but the ship too slow. Would have wanted some kind of highscore or such

Inf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:49pm

by vectron's golden beard it's kind of hypnotic.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Fit's the theme, really nice graphics and good gameplay, although another key feature would make it really nice. Some music could really add the tension too when he enemies mount up. Great entry!

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Really interesting visual style. Curious as to what your inspiration was for it. I also enjoyed that it was more slow-paced than your typical shooter.

siondream says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:01pm

I liked the style but the blinking grid is a tad annoying.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:03pm

invaderJim:
Lot of 80's style music, synthwave, those old vector games. In general anything electronic during the late 70's and the 80's.

May 1, 2013 @ 10:24am

Hypnotic. Good work on the visuals.

shatterhand says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:17pm

My only problem with it is that's just too easy. You can just keep moving left-right non stop, while presing space very fast, and no mine will escape your barrier of shots. I even let a few escape to try make the game a little harder and, still, the strategy was flawless.

DST says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:06am

Linux users will need to rename res/laserskott.wav to res/laserSkott.wav - The filesystem is case-sensitive, so it will fail to start.

That being said, it's a pretty game, I liked the effect on the gridlines, reminds me of.. CRT's ^_^

paulopn says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:21am

Really impressive ow simply shifting the perspective to a diagonal view can make this game stand out so much. A little slow, though.
Nice game! =D

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Nice vectors graphics. The screen is a bit small, it's hard to kill the enemis.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]