April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Winter's Bane

by Winterblood - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Turn the season from winter to spring, by awakening the trees...but Winter will try to stop you.

A simple one-on-one joust, where the only mechanic is movement.

---------------------

At least, that was the idea. Same old story, ran out of time to get the AI working properly. Winter does not put up much of a fight :)

Use left stick and A to jump on a controller, or cursor keys and SPACE to jump.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#569Graphics3.00
#728Innovation2.91
#926Mood2.50
#1045Overall2.68
#1158Theme2.77
#1185Fun2.18
#1689Coolness32%

Comments

Andrew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50am

It's a pretty relaxing experience. The movement speed feels a bit sluggish though.

CMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Movement is weird, I didn't really know what I was doing with it - but managed to get all the trees and give winter a good bashing.

Winter looks excellent with the icy skin and angular appearance. Summer with matt black and edges is not so great mind.

I liked the painting mechanic, and how jumping meant you didn't paint hte ground, but still streamed seeds there.

d_durham says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:23pm

I like it. It reminds of elements of Okami a little. What you've got is good, but I'd love to see a more complete version post compo. Well done.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Lovely idea :)

Gaeel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:55am

Severely lacking in sound, shame because there was some nice atmosphere to it, and all it needed for that was a bit of music or something

Winterblood says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Creativity is hiding your sources :)
d_durham - you have nailed one of my inspirations. Can anyone name the other (easier) one? There's an award in it for you both!

paulmcgg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:59pm

I felt like I was ice-skating which suited! Spent far too long trying to write messages in the snow. I did like the icy character, dancing together but more interaction would have been nice. Agree that some music would go a long way. Neat idea.

metalcan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Really cool game. Making patterns is fun. I like the look of the characters and the trees, so pointy. It's only missing some pointy birds, o pointy pointy.

GameNacho says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:08am

What a clever game!

kreddor says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:20am

I like the mood and the graphics and the ice skating mechanic. Taking trees and see it turn to spring is fun. Unfortunately I think the last tree is glitched, so I was stuck at 9/10. Some sound would have made it even better.

mrexcessive says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Inspiring. Feels like proteus-lite, very impressive for 48h. Jealous of your blitting/decals/projective however you're doing the "tree lives" effect. Nice feel. Could use some sound. Skated around for a long time compared to other games with more involved mechanics... Something very pleasurable about going for "that tree, just over there"

MinionStudios says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:22am

Looks great and plays well! I would love to see it become the joust game!

Jod says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:23am

At one point Winter hit me so hard I was launched and the camera couldn't keep up :).

Sylvain.p says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Good concept, but I dislike the camera and the player slowness.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]