April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Linemalism

by rubapi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

LINEMALISM is a simple but artistic videogame.
Control is the movement of the mouse.
Rules: Lines of the same type can not collide or touch each other (ex. horizontal line with another horizontal line) or you will lost 1 life (you have 3 lifes).
Create as many lines as possible.
Create the largest possible number of figures,a figure is created by placing 3 verticals lines with 1 horizontal lines or vice versa.
It is all. Thank you for play!
Send me a screenshot of your final frame.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#63Theme4.17
#148Innovation3.70
#196Mood3.38
#267Audio3.18
#447Overall3.27
#459Graphics3.17
#657Fun2.87
#894Humor1.80

Comments

Saturnyn says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Interesting concept. I think it would play nicer if the next line indicator was in the center of the screen or if a sound indicated the next type of line.
Anyway, great work, on the game, the music is really nice too !

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:54pm

really great utilisation of the theme
no control for reset game

its too hard to notice the next patern

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Interesting game! Congrats :D

DkCub23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:44pm

I like the game. Very simple. The design of the pattern looks very interesting after a while. Especially with all of the colors.

folmerkelly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Decent! Definitely fits the theme and I love just making patterns out of it all

Daisuke909 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:51pm

The central mechanic is very interesting, and your use of the theme is also above average. My biggest gripe is that it can be kind of clunky to control. Good job!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Awesome visuals! Reminded me of Mondrian's painting: Sea and Dock. The gameplay was simple but interesting and unique. Better indicating the next line type is needed or maybe if it just alternated so you would always know. Also you need to increase the difficulty, there needs to be more ways a player can mess up and more rules about what you can do. For example maybe you always have to connect one line with another (you cant put it on empty space), maybe you aren't allowed to add to figures once they are made, maybe you aren't allowed to create closed off spaces, etc.

Rubi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Thank you very much everyone for play my game, I love your comments... these make me really happy!

Felix20 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:50am

That was a nice relaxing game. The music was very good, what did you use to make it.
The graphics are simple but effective.
Overall it's very nice. :)

Kyle Wanzek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Hey this pretty great! I'm not sure I liked the fading when a new line is about to be played. I really enjoyed the simple zen-like flow of the game though!

tcstyle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Great idea. The text about what's next could be in the middle of the screen.

Kyle Bolton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:14pm

I really like the idea behind this game. Very artistic and relaxing. The only thing that put me off a bit was the constant fading in and out. I get why it was there, but it didn't feel like it was occurring at a constant rate. Sometimes I would see my lines draw before the fade out completed, whereas other times the line would draw once the screen was completely black.

Great job though!

berkano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Lovely concept and relaxing to play! Here's my end result: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/21611/ld26/misc/berkano-LINEMALISM.png

dook says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Great! Very mellow and fits the theme great. At first I thought, well this is easy, but soon my constructions were so elaborate I panicked and messed up :P

Sylvain.p says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Are you Erik Satie ? :-)

rubapi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:59pm

@berkano thank you for your screenshot! :)
@Sylvain.p hehehe I based my game in this song by Erik Satie ^_^

Hypnohustla says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:27am

Really nice and relaxing. I'm glad you managed to create a new gameplay mechanic. I really disliked the fading between placing the lines. Disrupted the flow. But still enjoyable :)

sharbelfs says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:32am

A good game you have here, but i think the blink effect not work much.

Symmeteer says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:11am

I loved this game! At first it was so easy to not mess up that it tricked me into thinking it was just an art thing. Then when I tried to make certain patterns of figures - that's when it started being tricky.

Here's my favorite screenshot:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/107314069/liminality.png

The blinking between levels was a bit strange - perhaps it would be better if it lined up with the beats in the Satie (which was great, by the way).

SmilingCat says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:32am

Very cool. Great use of the theme, and I loved the music.

aeveis says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:38am

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/16325832/ludum_dare26/Linemalism_aeveis.png
Very relaxing gameplay. Makes nice patterns. Cool concept.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]