April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Detour

by quadtree - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Important Note: This game is supposed to use a fixed width font. If the font looks very disjointed, try refreshing the page. The game is implemented in HTML5, but the only browser that I've found that is able to run it is Google Chrome, so this is highly recommended.

My take on minimalism: An adventure/survival game with only ASCII graphics, and no sound. The visual style is inspired by oldschool roguelikes like Nethack.

I sort of ran out of time on this one, so I strongly suspect that there are some unresolved bugs. Hopefully it isn't anything too serious.

In this game you have to take a "Detour" to a (mostly) uninhabited planet, and try to survive and ultimately escape. Enemies are not the only threat, but also cold, hunger, and sickness. You must explore this uncharted world and find some means of escape.

Tips:
- Nights are dark, cold, and dangerous. Try to be in a sheltered area, with a lot of firewood and an ignition source at night.
- Wood can be crafted into javelins, and it is always a good idea to have at least a few at all times.
- This game is basically about exploring, so be sure to check everywhere.
- The Lifeform Detector is invaluable if you're wondering where to go.
- The game is not real-time, so you can take your time when deciding what to do. Press . to just wait for a second.
- There are four possible endings (if you count dying, that is).

Press F1 at any time to view the key commands.

A comprehensive guide that might help if you get stuck is available at: http://dyn.ironalloygames.com/detour/walkthrough.txt

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#105Overall3.76
#190Fun3.45
#219Mood3.33
#306Humor2.64
#608Innovation3.06
#652Graphics2.91
#702Theme3.39

Comments

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Cool little rpg; I had a lot of fun exploring and figuring out what everything is. Only thing I was wishing for was a label informing me what I am standing on or next to. :)

SnoringFrog says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:20pm

A little difficult at first, mainly since I didn't realize how easily I could start fires (and that I could just set deer on fire, which curiously doesn't produce cooked meat, btw), but once I got the hang of what was going on I really liked it.

Nolojen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:49am

wow, amazed at the amount of content, nice work

ocmu says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:50am

I like the ascii art with line of sight view. A lot of depth for an LD game!

LTyrosine says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:18am

As a long Nethack/Slash'em player I see a great work here; Nice execution of theme and fun gameplay.

pansapiens says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:19am

I really enjoyed playing this. I like the way you've incorporated story into a roguelike - works well. The amount of detail to the model of the world is great too ... stand too close to the fire, you get too hot, too far away, you get cold. Should be obvious, but I don't always expect that level of 'realism' in an anything ASCII so it caught me off guard. Now if you'll excuse me ... I'm off to try and not die this time :)

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:22am

A lot of depth. A rich universe maybe a litle bit 'classic' but still cool. I like the fact that there's actualy a story plot and 'non nteractive' scenes. Then since the gfx is ASCII it forces me to imagine just like when reading a book. The only drawback for me though was the use of WASD which on ZQSD keyboard is just a nightmare. But since it is not real-time that's 'ok'. (but if you would have courage to bind cursor keys or zqsd that would be just great.

Bernhard says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:44am

Wow amazed at how much is in this game. It's very well made and all the systems feel very complete.
The start was a bit rough as I didn't get to the fusion torch and made me freeze the first night. I had to look at the guide to proceed :-)
Sometimes I wanted to know what a certain symbol means, Nethacks ; command or mouse click examination would have been nice.
Other than that I'm really impressed by this entry!

deige101 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:27pm

wonderful... wonderful...

Uhfgood says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:13pm

IMO, rather poor use of the theme. Granted the graphics are ascii, but the game itself is rather complex. I would say it's good as a game, though.

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:48am

Wow, this does not feel like it was made in 48 hours. Well done! Reminds me of my nethack days

kurrik says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:10am

Wow, super conflicted here. This is an incredible roguelike and I'm really impressed with how much you got done. I wouldn't really consider it "minimalist" though! Still giving a high overall score given how much you got done. The line of sight implementation is really cool.

Ryusui says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:08am

Amazing that you managed to put together a roguelike in 48 hours for the comp. Nice work!

gizmo says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 12:18am

wow.. 48h seriously?! o_O :D simply amazing...

Brassawiking says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:10pm

A bit overwhelming with all the info, but I'm no veteran at rogue-likes so it might be a matter of taste.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]