April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

DudeJump

by agnulf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Update: Post-Compo Enhanced version released with checkpoint and tighter controls. The switches should be less slippery now as well.

I started this game when there was about 10 hours left.
Totalt time it took to make the game is about 6 hours.
I wish I had started earlier :)
Game is too short :(

How to play:
Jump on the switches to turn them green.
The door to the next area won't unlock until all the switches are green.

Controls:
Arrow keys to move
Z to jump

Tools used:
Stencyl
Audacity
Bfxr
Autotracker
Adobe Photoshop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#482Audio2.82
#557Humor2.22
#564Graphics3.02
#725Mood2.72
#732Theme3.36
#759Fun2.76
#770Overall2.97
#1120Innovation2.24

Comments

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:57am

very nice! it's a bit frustrating having to start at the beginning after each death tho ;)

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:58am

It was a bit hard to control. The sensors are a bit finicky. Great job for 6 hours.

mollrow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:59am

Would be nice if you didn't have to restart the game every time you die. Other than that I enjoyed it :)

gabehollombe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:59am

Great job for six hour of work! I wish I could continue in the room I died in, but other than that, I enjoyed this one.

Neten says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:00am

The character takes too long to stop, the controls are not tight enough.

gizmo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:02am

a great idea and flawless execution - can't stop playing. i love the stickfigure animation :D very well done!

Alec Von Arx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:03am

This game is in need of a checkpoint system, rather difficult. Also, it might be helpful to say that "once a door is unlocked, it is unlocked for good"... It seems like it might be implying that all the switches have to be green and stay green for you to be able to make it through the door.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:04am

Greaty game for 6 hours! But controls are little tricky, I can't beat the third room.

Gustera says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:16am

Hard as hell

rujo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:21am

hard to control but nicely done, i like the style.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:21am

Love the sounds and graphics!

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:23am

A little frustrating to restart from the beginning every time, also the sensors could take a little bit longer to reset or at least the timer should start once you leave the sensor. I only made it into the third room and tried for at least 15 minutes.

I liked the scale of it, the tiny character makes it very cute.

ella guro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:25am

i really wish you could restart on the current room you die at. that made me stop playing after a few attempts.

rockford says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:37am

Fun but hard.

ndssia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:12am

Found it quite difficult, but plays well :)

evoker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Nice use of a small window. But I wish it didn't restart from the very beginning every time I died. Otherwise, it was fun. I liked the simple puzzles.

rejooh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Nice sounds and graphics, but the start from the beginning thing turns it to be really frustrating after a few attempts.

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Really cool, but I didn't like the restarting from the beginning.

bummzack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Graphics and sound are great and coherent. It's really unforgiving though, which reduces the fun a bit.

Follett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Really frustrating having to restart each death. But I really enjoyed it!

Manuel777 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:12pm

This would have been awesome if the switched lasted a bit longer green, and if you could start from the same level you died :)

omaha says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:37pm

that's pretty cool. there was some kind of a delay between landing on a platform and being able to jump to the next. it felt like I should be able to jump sooner after landing.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Nice game idea, but as orangepascal says, it's annoying to have to restart from the beginning every time.

Tinco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Wanna be the guy type game, ain't nobody got time for that ;) It looks pretty but the lack of save points kills a lot of the fun.

shaircast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:53pm

simple and nice effects, but starting at the beginning? noooooooooooo

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Man, difficulty ramps up FAST on this! I haven't been able to get past the 3rd screen! Also agreed that it's brutal having to start back at the 1st screen every time.

Nice game though!

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:52pm

for 6 hours, pretty good

Zed says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:03pm

The controls and physics were a bit floaty for my liking, and maybe not having to restart the entire game every time you die would've been nice, but other than that, I really liked it. Solid little platformer.

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Good effort, but having to start from the beginning when you die is frustrating =\

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:38pm

It's very hard!! :)
Like it.

Gama11 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:47pm

I don't think it's a good design design that you have to start over when you fail a room. That just makes it frustrating and led me to quitting at room 4.
Controls were alright, but could be better. They're a bit "floaty" like someone else pointed out.
Alternative jump keys would've been nice - like being able to use the up arrow.

Liked the graphical style and the music.

theomnis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:50pm

The controls were a little hard, but not bad at all for 6 hours! I might have to look into Stencyl for quick projects.

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Loved the art-style and the music felt nice as well.
Having a jump that big right at the start was quite annoying to me since I'm bad at jumping. Terribly needs checkpoints!

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18pm

If you're going to have a tough to control platformer, please don't also have perma death where you restart from the beginning. I think Gustera said it best.

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:45pm

It's too hard since it goes back to beginning when I fail :-(. But otherwise it's very nice little game, and it's funny how the wide aspect makes it unique in its own way.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Bit too hardcore (=tough and unforgiving) for my personal taste, but good job with Stencyl

TheSheep says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:18pm

A very fun, very hard game. Also very frustrating, but in a good way.

AnnynN says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Good game, but the controls are a bit tricky. :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Argh, having to start all over when dead? That's brutal.

Is it just me or is the player actor more slippery on the buttons than when on tiles? I swear I'm sliding off them to my death.

Sweet minimalistic graphics though

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:13pm

The lack of checkpoints plus hard/timed platforming doesn't really work well together, but otherwise it's a pretty awesome game.

tankete says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Can't get past level three! Ahhhhhh! Fun game. Controls feel a bit loose. If playing longer than 5-10 minutes, the music gets to me. But I still liked it. Nice job!

Spierek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:22pm

I enjoyed the simplistic visuals and that moody music, but overly floaty jumps and no checkpointing make it hard to really enjoy this game.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Like a lot

peggiosoft says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:44pm

no checkpoints makes me a worse person.
good music, though.

GameNacho says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:15am

Really impressive for only 6 hours

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:17am

Agree with the above comments. The game must restart in the room you are in when you die. I just can't be asked to start over after 3-4 rooms.

Meep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:25am

It was frustrating having to start over at the beginning each time, and the mid-air deceleration didn't feel right. Fun little game, regardless. :)

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:08am

It definitely was a tad touchy which made it challenging to get far. But I enjoyed the graphics and the concept!

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:42am

Game was pretty amusing, a bit difficult.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:25am

Things I didn't like: Really, really needs checkpoints (unless you make the whole game way easier). The controls are a bit floaty and imprecise, which makes the platforming more difficult. The switches can be switched on from the side, which makes the game easier.

The timing on the jumps and switches was tight enough that I personally had trouble completing them.

I did like the music and the graphics, and I expect that many of the problems that you've got here are because you only had 6 hours. If you keep working on this, I hope this feedback helps.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:29am

If you haven't read it before, Steve Swink has some useful stuff about making controls feel right:
http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/130734/game_feel_the_secret_ingredient.php
Might help you nail down the feel of those jumps.

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:29am

Cool little game. Nice for 6 hours. Starting over was rough. Controls could be tighter. Animation, audio, and aspect ratio are great!

agnulf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:06am

Thank you all for the feedback :)
I will add checkpoints and tighten up the controls in a post-compo version.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:31am

If the controls had been tighter it would have been okay, but it's way too frustrating having to start over after every single death.

Music & Sound Design was cool tho' :)

fishbrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:56am

Very cute!... a little tricky to control, but love the graphic style.

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:43am

The graphics and music are nice. I wish there'd been a checkpoint system. Starting from the beginning is annoying. The controls are also a bit loose, so some of the time it felt as if it was the controls that were killing me... although most of the time it was because I'm bad at games. Good job!

mort96 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:17pm

It's very hard o.O
Nice work. I like how you didn't use a language which depends on browser plugins. Lemme guess, JavaScript and Canvas?

mort96 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:18pm

wait, nevermind it is Flash, my browser just somehow derped and didn't say it was. Still good tho.

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Haha, this was really fun. The only thing I don't like is having to start from the beginning every time. Other than that though, I loved it.

Hadyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:04pm

There might be awesome platforming here, but with constant restarts and mean controls I'm unable to reach it =P

The style and sound are great in any case - I'd be keen to check it out again once you've added your fixes =]

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Hard to control the movement and frustrating to start over every death.
Very good interpertation of the theme and clean graphics

MatrixBai says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Nice game and a little frustrating.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:15pm

A little frustrating but still admirable effort on your part to make it within mere 6 hours.

Yarek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:21pm

It would be better if you could start from the same level that you die but it's nice anyway :)

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:53pm

The controls are a bit difficult but I liked the overall game. Thanks!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:39pm

I really think you should be able to start from the beginning of the level. Redoing the same rooms over and over is pretty frustrating. Other than that, I love the minimalistic graphics :)

whitetigle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:56pm

I just like it. Fits well the theme. :)

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:58pm

I like the little dude, I like the music, I like the wonky window resolution, and I like the gameplay concept. But I'll be buggered if I'm ever getting through that third level without a checkpoint. I know that you know, but now you know that I know.

JFlegle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Hard but enjoyable.

Daniel H says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:38pm

really fun. It was difficult and I rage quit but I think it added to the fun. :)

Purplescape says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Fun simple concept. It was a little tricky to control motion with sliding and gathering momentum. Dying keeps taking me back to the start, so I didn't make it far. Aside from that, nicely done.

Szedouu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Cool game , I didnt know stencyl is such a good tool. Yeah is a bit frustrating to start at the beginning

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Nice little game, a bit short but it's understandable because of the limited time. Great job.

Jhelle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Green and red are horrible to differentiate to some colorblind people and didn't like how I had to start over everytime I died. The game was pretty solid in other parts :)

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:25am

Not bad, but ultimately frustrating =(

Alphonsus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:18am

Make it restart to the current level only when you die and not the whole game. Nonetheless, awesome little game! :)

agnulf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:19am

Enhanced version with tighter controls and checkpoints has been released :)

kunzbe says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:30pm

good jump'n'run puzzler mix. The lack of checkpoints decreased to longtime motivation a bit.

bluescrn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Solid platforming mechanics... but rather too punishing without checkpoints and with such tight timers on the switches. (The 3rd screen took me several attempts and I thought I was fairly decent at platformers!). Audio was nicely done.

Trench says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Dying and starting again at the beginning is annoying, the friction on the player is slightly off i think i slipped and died quite a few times. Love the concept and the jumping animation just a little hard to get used to! Well done though!

GreenPixelDev says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:04am

Great and effective art style! The controls are a bit slippery though and it'd be nice to have a little more control of your jumps. I was gonna say that checkpoints would be nice but you've already done that! :D

Travis Irby says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:30am

challenging game! Like the aesthetic, reminds me of old dos games (in a good way :) ) Nice work!

RobKat says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:18am

Man this game is annoying, good and a 'one more go' type game but raging!

Gravel says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:26pm

I like the art!

nilstastic says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Nice! a bit frustrating to start over every time I died, witch I did all the time! :)

Rafael Sales says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Cool game. The running cycle is REALLY good :D

Prelucid says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Like others, I wish it didn't start at the beginning either just so I could just the rest of it. Good work though

ceMelusine says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:55am

I love the audio. It matches the game perfectly.

miotatsu says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:03am

fun, but I didn't like jump being mapped to 'Z' when nicer alternatives like up arrow or space bar were available.

GranaDa says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Very fun! Awesome job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]