April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Metaballs

by Rialgar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your task is to conquer targets with a bunch of metaballs, but you can only decide when to spawn and when to upgrade, your interaction is minimal!

All source is xhtml, javascript and glsl, uncompressed and not obfuscated. (EDIT: except the three.js library)

Best in Chrome, will run also in FF. Should work on any browser that supports webgl.

I admit I changed some little things shortly after the deadline:
added the title line
removed debug output
little FF fix
little AI tweak (one parameter)

There seem to be issues with MacOS, can somebody post screenshots/console logs please? I don't have acces to a Mac.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#444Innovation3.26
#477Graphics3.13
#610Audio2.62
#705Overall3.03
#737Theme3.35
#838Mood2.60
#997Fun2.48
#1002Humor1.58

Comments

Geoege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Didn't manage to win, but the concept is really interesting.
Sounds and graphics are so peaceful.

zairon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:11pm

I like this a lot, it's a good twist on the spawn-style games. The pace of the game is a little slow, though. I guess since the theme is minimalism its hard to add things to do!

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Nice, but it tends to be bit boring (but I freely admit that minimalistic simplistic games tend to bore me).
Good job with the metaballs, the visuals are great.

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Pretty interesting concept! It advances too slowly though, I think. The AI seemed to beat me pretty well on the 1st try, even if I first thought I were winning. :)

PTSnoop says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Wow, I may have just burned through half an hour playing this game. Very gripping - there's much more depth to this game than the minimal rules would suggest!

Just one qualm - since you can only spawn metaballs one at a time, once one player has got several balls in the arena it gets very difficult for the other player to regain the lead. It's pretty easy for one player to monopolise the extra resource drops, and once they've got control of those extra resources they are even more able to maintain their lead over the other player. But having said that, still a great game, and it's given me plenty of things to think about for my own strategy game-making in the future!

cwilloughby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:29am

Cool concept. Liked the music and the peaceful nature. Would have loved a bit faster pace. Good work.

lmh says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:03am

Excellent! Unfortunately it is rather unstable (whoever gets the early lead often becomes unstoppable), and upgrading "capacity" appears counterproductive (future upgrades take longer, bonus is less valuable, base counts for less, etc.). Also, there appears to be a minor bug: when the page is reloaded the "disabled" status of upgrades is not cleared (Firefox). Finally, it would be nice if upgrading didn't interrupt the flow of the game with two menus--maybe the upgrades could appear as buttons next to your base when available?

daredevildave says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:45am

Nice concept, I got totally swamped by red blobs. But it was fun.

mort96 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:32pm

The graphics seem messed up for me... Tested in OS X (10.8) using both safari and chrome, WebGL turned on in Safari.

PsenFilip says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Music is fine, but the loop is unfortunately so short.
If you get behind, it is hard, if not impossibe, to comeback on top.
I would consider a gameplay rebalancing on there since it is pretty for whoever acted first to snowball into victory.
The concept is good, though.

hypp says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:07am

Works nicely in Chrome on OSX. Gets a bit boring after a while...

Msquirrel says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:05am

I liked the concept and the graphics and the music! couldn't win :S - probably says more about me than the game xD

DST says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:02am

Beautiful game! I envy you your metablobs :D The game mechanic is something I've never seen before, very cool!

mrexcessive says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Seems pretty impossible to catch up if you get slightly behind. Not sure there's enough random in the outcome of battles.

juaxix says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 7:50pm

The shaders are really gorgeous but the game is hard, you could do some water with these metaballs...ah, I love the "black-sun" effect when the smallest ball enter a big group of enemy metaballs...wow :)

FrederickK says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 7:54pm

nice game

May 9, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Good stuff, much like a minimal RTS game... Only problem is that if you upgrade resistance a little and then always production it is all too easy... and the music tends to get repetitive over time. Otherwise, I enjoyed playing this!!! :)

May 10, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Balls, eh? reminds me of my own game :P

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]