April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Drimonna

by Colapsydo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Drimonna is about conflict, resources, strategy, and a hint of rectangles.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#29Innovation4.13
#82Theme4.13
#271Fun3.32
#303Overall3.43
#725Mood2.72
#934Graphics2.56
#1040Humor1.46
#1041Audio1.50

Comments

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:47am

fun game, but i didn't really get it

Doccrazy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:48am

Some hint of what's going on would be nice (damage dealt, resources mined). Also it might have been better in realtime.
But I like the idea.

Split82 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:49am

Nice one. Great idea I really liked it. Better colors and a little easier controls (dont stuck when hitting the overlap, but let the player glide) would make the game perfect.

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:49am

clever!

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:50am

That was actually pretty fun. The AI wasn't the best of opponents, but for a 48 hour job, it worked well enough.

doobdargent says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:50am

I like it but the gauges don't reload fast enough IMHO.

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:51am

I really appreciate you even made a tutorial in such a short time. Not many people(me neither) did this in LD

Frib says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:54am

This is a very cool game that is simple and works quite well.

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:54am

Very original

glbs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:54am

Your game is pretty interesting, it's quite rare to get the chess or go game strategy feeling in a video game. Well done!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:55am

Cool game, great mechanics! The IA seems to make impossible move sometimes and win a lot of energy without extractor. But the difficulty level is good. I'll try the 2 players mode. Congrats!

dstozek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Very nice! The tutorial is really important and explains things smoothly.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Ooh this very original idea

I can't test the multiplayer, but the single player was highly interesting! Nice work.

Tater_hater says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:50pm

This is a very trippy looking game. quite fun

Tanius says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:42am

it's surely minimal :D Nice idea. Not sure how to charge the bar, but the idea seems nice.

May 1, 2013 @ 11:43am

original idea. definitely needs the tutorial.

nilstastic says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:46am

Fun, but I didn't really get it. :)

Salamander3 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:47am

Really neat idea, fitting with the theme. Interesting mechanics and simple game play, sort of a new spin on reversi. I liked it, good job. I could see this being a fairly popular android game if it was spruced up.

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:47am

Thanks for the well done tutorial or else I would have never understood how to play it. This the most original entries so far and I really like the concept.

daandruff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:51am

You really got a good idea going. The tutorial was kind of hard to understand, but it got me going. After playing the first round I got it. Really fun game! :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:44pm

I am not smart people. But I can still appreciate a game for smart people! looks interesting.

ddionisio says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Wow, great take on Piet Mondrian's painting! Mad props on putting a tutorial and a competent AI!

Great game!

Also, your title is very epic! Drimonna: Heart of the Rectangle. Already it feels like there's a trilogy movie for this waiting to happen! :P

nSun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Nice gamerule. Maybe you should continue to develop this game-play (There is a great potential i think)
Good work !

PS: I'm not sure, but I believe that i read "Bleu wins"

kill0u says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Nice concept :) Hard at first, but quite easy once you get it.

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:29am

I like how it generates a minimalist art work but found it quite obscure, even after the tutorial. Very original.

Alphonsus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:55pm

I'm not really sure if I get it, but it's a nice new gameplay and looks interesting. Great work!

axcho says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:02am

Ha, I won! :D I'm delighted to see such an original take on a minimal strategy game, nice work!

Benjamin says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:15am

Good take on the theme. Never saw a game with deploy, produce and fight system all managed by a single action : drag and drop rectangle. That's brilliant. And the victory jauge system is also neat, I think I should have use some victory zones and points but you keep your game simple by using the same power jauge for victory. With your entry this innovation category really need a 6th star :D I just regret the lack of sounds... You could have added so much with just 30 minutes on Sfxr or labchirp...

May 3, 2013 @ 6:46pm

One of the most enjoyable puzzles i've played so far.
I wish there were a better AI. But for 48 hours it's fine )

Sylvain.p says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:01am

It's great to be able to do a strategy game with so little.
I am really bad I've never won.

atraxgames says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:47pm

This is a very smart way to interpret a Mondrianish style. Compliments!

pjchardt says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:02am

Very interesting. I have seen a number of games that used elements of Mondrian paintings such as dividing by straight lines and solid color blocks, but none where it is intimately tied the game mechanic. I have not played Go many times, but it reminded me a bit of the battle for territory of Go.

May 7, 2013 @ 12:18am

Nice job, very elegant game design.

May 9, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Very clever, very simple, I love it. :)

Husky says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:13am

I didn't really get it, but it's a cool idea!
Good job!:p

lorancou says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Didn't really get it either, but I played solo, maybe versus makes more sense. Misses a way to sell you masterpiece when done playing ;)

HD408 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:32am

Simply amazing.

Yezu says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Great work! Simple rules, a lot of strategical thinking. Just great :)

metalcan says ...
May 26, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Congrats on this super original entry. Even though they are just squares, I imagine them being armies frantically gathering resources. At first I got my ass kicked, but once I got it, the AI was fairly easy to beat. Really clever game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]