April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Soldier Chess: The Game

by Sandcrawler - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is a take on a long term art project of mine called Soldier Chess. Its never been a game before, but I have always considered making it into one.

It also happened that Sunday April 28th was Worldwide Pinhole photography day. So I combined both into one project. All of the images are photographs made using a pinhole lens on a Canon 50D.

Instructions and whatnot are all in game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#711Audio2.44
#721Innovation2.92
#789Graphics2.73
#826Humor1.87
#852Mood2.59
#1091Overall2.63
#1179Fun2.19
#1264Theme2.54
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

gizmo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:34am

haha! perfectly fits the theme! .. :D Great idea! :D

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:52am

I have to say I have no idea what I was doing. I just clicked on pieces and they murdered other pieces and then everyone died. I think that's a very good metaphor on war.

sanojian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Visuals have a WWI look to them. Nicely done.

yetanother says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:25pm

original concept.

Guardian_Bob says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:14am

Colors could be more vivid, but interesting.

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:32am

While ranged chess is a neat idea, I don't think this is the way to go about it. The pieces all just go forward and don't really affect anything not in their column. They also all have health, but don't have any indication of how much they have. The game doesn't really have a lot of strategy, either, you just march your pieces up the board and keep them possibly doing more damage than the two guys in front of them. The core concept is neat, and it would be interesting to see more done with it, but a more chesslike implementation might be more effective.

kbm0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Interesting idea, good execution. Good job! I really liked the music.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Very cool idea! And pretty fun too. Also really like the pinhole graphics :)

jlm says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:17pm

That was... unexpected :)
I like @sparkleswirl's take on it, sums it up pretty nicely :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:20pm

21 I won! ^^ Well nice concept but there wasn't enough interactions, you could just move your pieces without thinking, maybe add some walls or pieces that could move in several directions (just an idea ;)

Brassawiking says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 7:08pm

It was hard to get a grasp of what was going on. Reminded me of old c64 game called Archon.

dick_claus says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 4:58am

Strange game :) I don't understand rules, but win, fuck yeah!

wallmasterr says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 8:57am

Nice, ye got confused as how to play , but i won so must have been doing somethign right. Would have likeda 3d spin around but im ubsesed with 3d. through the board was a bit fuzzy even though that might be the dof u were gogin for. love the cover image though

f7f5 says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 11:36am

I loved the visuals.
The strategic part didn't seem very interesting. I couldn't find a way to make use of the different types of soldiers, and I kept winning by just letting the CPU suicide both soldiers in a row, and then moving my soldiers in that row forward.
(btw, I could only hear the sound/music on Chrome and not on Firefox)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]