April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Flashpants

by Egonor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

!!SEIZURE WARNING!! This game does involve some mild sprite flashing. It's not too bad but if you have any history of this I'd prefer you pass on playing.

--TO RUN--
Windows: Drag Flashpants.love onto Love.exe
Mac(Untested): Go to love2d.org to install love.app. Double click/drag Flashpants.love onto love.app
Linux(Untested): Go to love2d.org to get the version for your distro.

--GAMEPLAY--
Arrow keys to move.

Chase down the potato pushing Dealers! Getting caught by a Dancer will pull you into they're path. If you're pushed off the dance floor move until you find your way back.

Booze slows your world down while Energy Drinks speed it up. But using the liquids causes more Dealers to show up. If there's more than 8 dealers the cops will come in and drop your flashpants searching for drugs!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#160Humor3.06
#565Audio2.69
#782Innovation2.84
#788Mood2.65
#898Fun2.61
#1045Overall2.68
#1145Graphics2.22
#1245Theme2.61

Comments

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:28am

funny interesting game

shotiris says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:37am

There is no source folder. I like the pig though.

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Okay.... haha pretty neat game, discodisco.

Egonor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Sorry Shotiris. The instructions in the readme were written before the ones here. You can download the source from here and use that or just drag Flashpants.love. Love files are just the zipped source but I included the Love binaries in the package so people wouldn't have to install Love2D to run the game.

Typedeaf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:58pm

It was pretty hard to understand what to do. And the blinking was kind of annoying, but pretty cool concept and charming characters.

f7f5 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Funny but a bit short. Works well on Linux, btw.

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:06pm

it was easy to understand imho what to do. like the idea. not 100% original but something different =)

May 1, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Funny! Good atmosphere. You should include a bat file to help people run your game easier.

ocmu says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:17am

Strange and fun!

MinionStudios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:18am

I had a hard time getting this one to work right, but I love the music track

Egonor says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:25am

I'll add an exe in a few minutes.

The gameplay feel short of what I wanted to do. I couldn't get the timers working correctly and was too burnt out to figure it out in the ~2 hours I had left. Essentially I wanted the dealers/objective to be timer based like everything else so there was positives and negatives to switching speeds. Right now it's kind of backwards because switching speeds also spawns them which was my "fix it fix it fix it!" solution.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Quite an interesting theme for a game like this, I have to say, and the execution isn't bad either.
Shame about the timers though, but do keep at it.

elbowroom says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:11pm

I rated high on mood cause there is no "style" category and the game has a good feel. I just found the mechanics to be a little rough which is understandable for 48h. Very refreshing.

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Pants up? Hahaha

juaxix says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Ok, let me understand this...so, you are a guy in a bar looking for energy drinks and some tea, which makes the time goes slowler or faster while people push you allover the dancefloor until you get your pants down...why? XD
this is fun, just like a crazy night =D

avidgamerNino says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:13pm

I didnt know what the blinking was doing at first and then all of the sudden I realized... its party time!

May 14, 2013 @ 8:26pm

hehe, this is pretty fun. are you trying to get drugs from the dealers? i don't really understand. can we get more psychedelic flashing the more drug dealers we hit? :D

the music could... have a little more going on with it... definitely points for innovation, humor, and mood!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]