April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Void

by Frib - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Enter the void! You and your colleague have developed new tech that allows you to cross dimensions! But you drew the short straw, and you're the first human test subject!

Armed with high-tech goggles you prepare yourself to traverse this new world, while your colleague can offer guidance and advice via trans-dimensional voice chat (one way only!)

It is up to you to explore this beautiful new world, and to return home safely!

------------------

The post-compo version has a skip tutorial button (default tab)! Now, in the first two levels, you can skip my annoying ramblings :D

There's also a few bugfixes. The game should be a bit easier now. There was an issue that once a monster had sighted you, it would always see you if you had your goggles activated, even if you weren't looking at him.

----------------------

Made for the 48h compo. The Void is a first-person horror game filled with limited vision, spooky atmosphere, an intense ending and super high quality professional voice acting.

First one to find the potato wins. Or loses. Or both.
Also, what happened to mr. Snuggles?

Enjoy!

Made with XNA, so you'll need .net and the XNA framework.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#96Audio3.59
#144Mood3.50
#256Innovation3.51
#334Overall3.40
#356Humor2.55
#416Graphics3.24
#526Fun3.02
#874Theme3.20

Comments

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:07am

Scared the hell out of me when I died the first time! But very good idea, great execution!

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:09am

That was really good =D

Sanguine says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:22am

Excellent voice acting and an interesting concept :)

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:31am

Haha love the dialogue, "Don't die on me!". Too late, I died on you, this game is hard!

glbs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Loved it, I pissed in my pants when I switched on my goggles to see that monster rushing at me. The architectural graphics are awesome. congratz

glisk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Great idea, nice game

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Reasonably good idea, with okay execution. I am just absolutely terrible at this game, though. Could not get past the second part.
Respawn took a while, and hearing the same HIGH QUALITY PROFESSIONAL VOICE ACTING over and over wore a little thing. Over than that, great work!

nuprahtor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Voice actiong adds more to the game experience, but after death you must listen to the introduction again and again, it slows the game.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:22pm

That was pretty tense, I yelled a couple of times. Really nice atmosphere. Well Done!

Frib says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:31pm

@Cirrial haha yeah in hindsight I probably should've separated the 'tutorial introduction' parts from the actual levels in level 1 and 2. As developer I always rushed through or ignored those levels thinking they were fine as-is. Oh well :D

The trick to level 2 is to walk (not run) through the corridor without your goggles activated.

Has anyone made it halfway through yet? Or found the secrets?

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:08am

Oooo Wee! Walking past those monsters with my back turned to them was quite a thrilling experience! I don't know how far I made it, or if I found any secrets. (Is one of them a potato?) But I'm going to come back to this and play some more, because it's fun, and I'm curious where it goes.

Great job.

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Ew, the thing is creepy!
I played no lights/fullscreen and it was pretty interesting, to say the least.

Improvements I would say add a button to skip the intro sequence. Everytime I retry the game it plays back again.

Pretty athmospheric.

jwolf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:56am

Wow, this is really well done. Rather difficult too, trying to figure out how to get past some of those things later on.

Frib says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:55am

This weekend I'll submit a post-compo with a skip tutorials button. Sorry about that :D

intripoon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:27am

I always get eaten directly at the beginning. For some reason, the monster comes through the closed door even before I push the button and kills me. Directly whne I move around the corner.
I'm also not sure about the limited vision game mechanic. I found that I can hold space forever and always see everything that way?

Frib says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Hmm, the monster shouldn't be able to go through the closed door. Strange :D

As for the goggles, true, but if you are using it, and you see a monster, then that monster can see (and will chase) you. So you can use them 24/7 but it's not safe :D

Gremlin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Creepy as all get out. Excellent use of everything.

"This part look like it's going to be easy...I guess I was wrong." Ha!

Ian MacLarty says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:35am

Crashes on launch for me (I get a "LD26 has stopped working" message). I'm running Windows 7 with latest updates.

ddionisio says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:45am

Wow, love the goggle effects. Great narration and creepy voice. I got pretty immersed in this game! I agree with the narration playing again after death, would make the experience much smoother if the checkpoints are in as soon as you can interact.

BlackDogg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Good game, loved that wireframe/shaded switch with googles. The keyboard schemes was not really easy to use though (even more using arrows) but still a cool entry !

Covenant says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Excelent mood, loved the voiceovers... :)

DST says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:58am

Really cool concept well executed! Nice work!

angelk says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:32am

Holy crap this was great. Playing it I thought it was a jam entry and just now realized it's just 48 hours! I haven't played a game that made me so anxious in a long time. It was surprisingly challenging. Funny enough when I was going to give up the first time, you gave me an achievement for getting that far, and it encouraged me to keep going. Excellent job.

BipoleMoment says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:49pm

I swear I almost crap my pants every time I play it
so I haven't beat it yet.

But I will. I need to. I love it too much to not.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]