April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

ColorBridge

by TheSambassador - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Just a note for future raters - you aren't supposed to be able to select a single color! Once a square is a single color, you cannot move it any more. Also, solutions do not require a direct line across.

Got rushed in the end due to not being able to work on this on most of Saturday. Less levels than I would have liked! Also much less intuitive than I would have liked.

There is a tutorial, but here is a basic explanation of the mechanics if that doesn't explain things for you.

Click a square to select it
Click a specific color in the color picker to select that color
Click an adjacent square, or an adjacent empty space, to move the selected color into that space.
All colors are composed of Red, Green, and Blue. White is the combination of all colors. Squares can be either a single color or a mix (teal = green + blue)
You cannot move or interact with a single-color square, but you can move a color from an adjacent square into a single-color square.

Your goal is to "bridge" the black-centered squares with their color(s). 2 red goals need specifically red squares between them to "bridge". 2 white goals can use ANY colors to bridge. A yellow goal can use either Red or Green colors to bridge. A BRIDGE DOES NOT NEED TO BE DIRECT LINES ACROSS.

Occasionally it may seem "locked up" in that you can't click on anything for a second. If this happens, just click on a black area away from the existing squares and then continue like normal.

Hit R to restart, just in case you miss it. There's a basic tutorial.

Note that white can be bridge by any colors,
2-color combination goals like Teal can be bridged by any color that they have (purple = red + blue, so red or blue can be used to bridge it)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#134Innovation3.74
#571Theme3.52
#812Overall2.93
#922Fun2.59
#1011Mood2.39
#1145Graphics2.22
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

corrigan_sam says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:43pm

I liked it, it was very peaceful but made me think at the same time, Awesome!

spacechase0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:52pm

It was a little hard to move a color with a single component somewhere else, since you can't see where the box is, but other than that it was great.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Spacechase0... you shouldn't be able to do that, and it's a bug. Clicking a red square shouldn't give you any option to move that color. Once a square is either Red, Blue, or Green it can't be "split" any more, and you can only transfer other colors into it.

That said, you definitely seem to be able to click where the green color picker is on a green square and then move it. That is a bug, and makes the game really easy.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Very clever puzzle concept, I liked it.

robmozart says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:15pm

I had some difficulties figuring out what to do, and eventually knowing what I was allowed to do.

Jeremias says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Nice puzzle game. As I got the rules, it was a bit too easy as every level has apparently multiple possibilities to solve it.

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Great idea!
Think I ran into a bug... Sometimes, elements that weren't "bridged" would disappear, and other times, elements with a single basic color would get stuck... Hard to select a color when the object is of a single color as well...

But very cool design...

KHANanaphone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Seems like sometimes it gave me credit for the solution when it didn't seem like i did it correctly.

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Kind of tricky , i spent a lot of time trying to figure out what to do xD

loxo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:57am

Interesting game idea. I like the game, but sometimes I get stuck and I don't know if it's me or the game :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]