April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Room

by Magnus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A mysterious game that takes a claustrophobic roguelike and puts it in a tiny, 3x3 room with four colors.

Stand next to an enemy to exchange blows.

Don't let the hallucinations destroy you.

You may find a way to escape if you survive long enough.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#78Mood3.72
#205Innovation3.60
#219Graphics3.62
#223Humor2.84
#249Audio3.22
#283Overall3.45
#446Theme3.64
#565Fun2.98

Comments

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18am

The "Shutter Island" of games - weird and wonderful!

Thein says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:23am

Quite an odd little game, but fun! Love the graphics.

invi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:24am

Game crashed as soon I loaded it. Looks fun though.

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:58am

Thanks guys. Also, invi, try downloading the XNA 4.0 Redist link I just added. Let me know if it doesn't fix the crashing.

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:59am

Game crashes without starting: http://i.imgur.com/gAUmsLI.png is all I see. I have installed .net 4 and am running windows 7 32 bit.

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:02am

Perry, try getting the XNA 4.0 Redist. It's separate from .NET 4.0 and I think it's the cause of the crashing.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09am

This thing is so weird. I love it.

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:21am

Thanks!

JigxorAndy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:54am

A very strange and interesting game. Nice job!

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:07am

Got it to work, good seeing a game from an AGDG'er. Fantastic mood.

saampahlavan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:23am

Save me butter dude. Had a binding of isaac vibe to it. Also I bashed my head against the wall too many times. Good stuff

Nakato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:40am

Great Graphics ! love this style

Zathalos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:48am

Interesting mood and gameplay. Does the game go on forever? I only made it 14 days. Good job.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:53am

Super interesting.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:20am

I really wasn't expecting something like this! Really weird and creepy in it's own way, and It really worked with the theme.

Greg Power says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:26am

Really cool. Like a messed up Tamagotchi. Could be adapted into a mobile game (we need more quirky mobile games). Also, the music reminded me of Earthbound.

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:28am

Put up a quick bugfix, forgot to save a variable when you win, as well as a food-related line I forgot to un-comment. Seekret.

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:29am

Also, quick note, I'll probably fix some broken/unbalanced stuff and put it up as a jam version. I'll also add a little config file so people can mess with variables if I have time.

Thanks for the great feedback, guys.

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:47am

I always like these kind of games and +1 for XNA :D

nurabsal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:57pm

windows link isnt working

imagnity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:00pm

I cannot download. It gives me-

Service Temporarily Unavailable

The server is temporarily unable to service your request due to maintenance downtime or capacity problems. Please try again later.

Apache Server at vidya.nyafuu.org Port 80

mushbuh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:02pm

That's butter dude.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Was pretty nice, but it seemed a little difficult. Didn't play for long but still seemed like a nice game. Good job!

minism says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:42am

Game made me feel uncomfortable (this is good, + for mood!) It was unclear that doing nothing is auto-attacking, someone in chat had to tell me.

Soundless_dev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:00am

Legit m8

Magnus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:25am

nurabsal and imagnity, I added a mirror link in case the main link is down.

Magnus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:41am

Just played through the game again. I got to day 42. That was fun. It's definitely a game you can master once you learn the useful hidden details.

7heSAMA says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:03am

I can't run this game due to the fact that it runs in the HiDef graphics profile. My PC can only handle Reach. I'd change it myself - it's just a tick box in the properties - but I only have VS2010. I guess I'll download 2012 or whatever tomorrow but I'm too tired right now.

Magnus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:35am

Ooh, I've never even heard of Reach or graphics profiles in XNA until now. Here's a build set to Reach. Hopefully it works. https://www.dropbox.com/s/ff5jffexaa9wtl9/Room%20-%20LD26%20-%20Reach.rar

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Very good ! I last 5 days then blow my head against a wall !

Pinkerator says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Nice graphics and original idea :)

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Fantastic, cornered by a bowl of salad(?) on day 30.

Magnus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Cool, 30 days is the longest I've heard. Good job.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:52pm

At first it was a bit bewildering, but once I got a hang of it I actually found it to be quite fun and addicting. Be interesting to see an expanded version with more events, and will try and survive all 25 days next time. The simplicity was wonderfully creative, too.

Beerman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:46pm

If there was a "weirdness" score you'd have all the stars right now. Very cool.

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Very nice and abstract game. i love the retro style. maybe a bit more action would be good - but i didn´t play it to the end.

Magnus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Lol, thanks, Beerman.

Loren says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:55pm

ah very cool! awesome asthetic :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Love it. Small as hell and ten times the awesome. DEV

Nehmulos says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:48pm

This game conveys true minimalism when it comes to explaining itself.
I played quite a lot of it and still didn't really feel like I figured everything out.
So a lot of my gameplay-time was spend trying different play-styles, to learn the game's rules (that's really roguelike).
Good job on the graphics and music they really build up some kind of mini-horror survival atmosphere.
I especially admire how you use rotation for movement animations.
Nice work.

tariflognib says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 1:27am

Nice game, liked the idea to bash your head

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]