April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Balls

by torokokill - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Balls is a puzzle game about redirecting the musical balls to their goals. Currently features 14 levels. Made in about 24 of the 48 hours of the jam. Based off the game Auditorium, I wanted to see if I could create my own game with similar mechanics while mixing the minimal theme in.

I hope you enjoy my first puzzle game mixed with programmer tier art.

Known bug: There is a physics bug that causes the balls to lose momentum while being redirected. A fix is in the works.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#416Theme3.67
#664Overall3.07
#720Fun2.80
#901Graphics2.60
#2059Coolness0%

Comments

Nolojen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Having played Auditorium, I was familiar with the objective. The colors are a little dark, and a player unfamiliar with Auditorium may be confused. Otherwise, works well, nice job!

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:17am

Nice!

lmh says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:55am

Interesting. There seems to be a bug which causes blocks to sometimes not activate--in particular, the first green block on the last level and a blue block to the left of the start on a previous level were problematic. Also, the sound becomes a little cacophonous with continued play on later levels.

kyru says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:06am

Very neat, though it seemed to stutter a bit when moving the direction pads.

Tom 7 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:01pm

This was an interesting idea. I got frustrated on the 6th level or so when I had a solution where the balls were hitting all of the squares, but the last square wasn't lighting up. Maybe a bug, maybe I just didn't understand. The sine waves have clicks at the beginnings and end, probably because you need to fade in and fade out rather than start in the middle of the waveform! Neat game, though.

swizzcheez says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Nice. Needs shorter inter-level fades though.

May 14, 2013 @ 3:15am

It took me a while to realize I had to move the arrow with the mouse to get it going, but once I realized that, it was a great game, very enjoyable, way to go!

Uhfgood says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 4:53am

Excellent. Although I'm sort of stuck on i think level 4 or something.

Erunaamo says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Fun puzzle concept. But I found the squares pretty hard to see and the arrows pretty hard to use. It was hard to tell how they'd work in a given position without trying it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]