April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal Mousetraps

by Johnicholas - Jam Entry

Use the fewest number of mousetraps possible to trap a mouse as it runs for a bit of tasty cheese.

Mice react to dangerous felines, and player-placed mousetraps.

Replay/restart 3 levels as many times as you like in a game to achieve the minimal amount of mousetraps required to halt the mouse - beat your own low score.

Note: You will need to download the Love engine to run this!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#138Innovation(Jam)3.38
#208Fun(Jam)3.06
#259Graphics(Jam)3.25
#332Theme(Jam)3.13
#393Audio(Jam)2.20
#397Overall(Jam)2.81
#1828Coolness22%

Comments

Meep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:53am

Nice! :) I have a thing for games where you set things up and just watch things play out.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:58am

Pretty good. I don't know what it is, but this game seems familiar, like I've played it before. Oh well. Awesome job.

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:30am

I have always been curious about Love, glad this game reminded me of it.
Interesting use of theme, I would have liked that the game had an adaptative resolution, it was a little big to my screen.

Folis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:23pm

The game was really enjoyable, and had me thinking for a bit! (That mouse is quite clever!)

Kom says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Although the gameplay is pretty nice, it would have been nice to see more levels.

May 5, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Wow nice work :D, that mouse X.X

Binary Gambit says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Would be nice if the mouse ran faster, it takes an awfully long time to see the results of your work. It's not really clear to me what the cats do?

alts says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 6:54am

Interesting game. I was confused at first about how to actually play it, but with some desperate clicking I managed to figure it out. I was a bit disappointed that the lose scenario is so much more interesting that the win scenario. While I don't necessarily want to watch the mouse get mauled by the cat or caught in a trap, it'd be nice to offer some kind of "reward" to the player for having solved the puzzle. I'll be reading through the code to see how you programmed the mouse's pathfinding. Well done.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]