April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lunar Rain

by LeafThief - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A short Adventure Game about a girl with a weird name who has gone to the Moon to find answers but soon has to decide what's important to her.

Settings:
The default playback mode is set to 640x480 px.
You can change the settings by executing the winsetup.exe

Controls:
Left Mouse - Interact
Right Mouse - Walk

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
Mood4.47
#4Graphics4.62
#32Audio3.95
#60Overall3.89
#538Fun3.00
#778Humor1.94
#932Innovation2.61
#1187Theme2.72

Comments

raoz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Interesting game, moody

namuol says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Outstanding atmosphere, mood, visuals, sound ... but tragically-brief. Still, this stands out as one of the most memorable LD entries I've ever played.

I've seen two different endings -- are there more?

Solid little adventure game. What was used to make it?

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Very good, will you continue it ? The world seems good enough to make a full game about this !

dvdking says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:16pm

it was moody, but kinda too short to get into this moon world

glbs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Yeah, the scifi theme and the atmosphere are pretty interesting. Could be a good beginning for a longer game

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:18pm

I can't play

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Hmmm, that was an interesting game - it makes you think.

I really like the graphics, and the general theme that you proposed in your adventure. I like how information come little by little, and you learn different things based on which path you take.

That said, there was a host of little things that made me enjoy the game a bit less.

First (and least) of all fullscreen: Games should behave and stay in their own window, unless I give them permission to use the whole screen.

Secondly, if you complete the game, and try to start a new one (to see another path), you will actually be returned to the last screen of the previous game - you need to close and reopen the game to try different choices.

Finally, the dialogue of the "family" tree is pretty good, but the dialogue of the "you are important to me" tree is kinda confusing.

Thanks for the game! I enjoyed it!

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Great graphics, great audio. It really sets a perfect mood. Well done.

zerebruin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Fantastic artwork & storytelling!

Sadly, I didn't get it to run on a decent resolution and had to use magnification. Going to try it at home later.

LeafThief says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:59pm

@namuol: I used Adventure Game Studio (www.bigbluecup.com)

belickim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:22pm

The game is impressive. I love this romantic motif of being lonely and surrounded by the technology (it reminds me works of Stanislaw Lem [0]). Graphics and sounds are obviously great, they fit perfectly into your story (I really liked the walking animation).

[0] http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stanislaw_Lem

daandruff says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Moody and nice looking game. Content is always hard when you're short on time ;)

Gaeel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Excellent style, nice atmosphere, shame there's so little of it

Meep says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Extremely aesthetically pleasing game. :) Really set the mood with this one. Good work!

DST says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:02pm

I did consider playing it, and since it's made in a way so that it runs fine in wine, I AM playing it, and I'm also liking it! :)

nurabsal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:17pm

my kind of game. awarded a trophy

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Great little game. It's definitely my favorite adventure game from this LD so far.

omaromeir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Cool game, amazing graphics and sounds! Really really moody.

atraxgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:40pm

This is...so beautiful.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Hooray for AGS! Solid presentation, really well put together! (also reminded me a little of an old old AGS game called SOL)

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:00pm

fantastic setting of atmosphere and blending of game play and dialogue

Mousseto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:09am

I loved the graphics and univers of this game, it's very interesting, maybe a little sad... :)

Chman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:52am

Beautiful art, stunning atmosphere. Too short but it's LD so... I'd love to see a longer game based on this universe. The game doesn't show a lot but it suggests so much more !

Benjamin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Wow that was a blast, Even if the game content is only one room, You did so much with it. You have a great sense of storytelling. Just one little bug, the breathing sound is staying after you finish the game. So if you want to replay ( which I of course did ) the breathing sound is still here and ruin the mood. I had to restart game.

Jod says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:57am

Wow. One of the most finished games I've seen. Love the LucasArts adventure game art style and the animation. But most of all those gorgeous backgrounds.

The story itself was interesting. I really wanted to know why she's there. Also, Rain is a pretty cool name :).

ArkadyDracul says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:57am

Nice :D

MinionStudios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Love this game! I wish it were longer...

Xaychru04 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:52pm

It was a great story, the music was very moody, and the pixel-art was cool. Good job ;)

enzo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Lovely lovely art! And an intriguing story, too-I just wish it wasn't so short!

vapgames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Really cool art and designs. Thick atmosphere. I like it.

Pierrec says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:28pm

I was SO happy when I saw you made a game for this LD. And I wasn't disappointed at all! Really nice job! (Plus it's made with AGS <3)

oatsbarley says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:42pm

The atmosphere is amazing. I'm not sure how "gamey" this is, but it's an impressive achievement either way for 48 hours. I'd love to see a full adventure game in this sort of style/setting. Great job!

cwilloughby says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:32am

Very, very cool. Pulled into this by the 10s video. Moody. Amazing art. Controls are a little wonky - would get caught on stuff, wasn't sure what I could interact with. Keep working on this. I want to keep playing it!

GranaDa says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Great adventure. Really nice for the 48hrs compo. Awesome job!

Covenant says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Excelent work, although short... Loved it!

naughtyloose says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:21pm

very atmospheric and disappointing because its too short! You totally should do a post-compo.

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:40pm

This one gave me chills, and I felt sad after each ending. Good job, you nailed the mood!

ethankennerly says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:45am

Your graphics, audio, and text coalesced into a grand unified science fiction. If you continue to develop this, I was a bit lost and so a bit let down as to what had happened. For me, a few threads of the story seemed unexplained. Was this a simulation of a human that was speaking? Who was the father? Why is he significant? In this context, what is God?

Jeremias says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Very dense atmosphere, the graphics and sound fit very well. Great work!

TurboDindon says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:30am

Very sad and immersive. I really liked your game.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

May 12, 2013 @ 1:06pm

The graphics and sound/music were fantastic in this, and created a very coherent mood that I enjoyed immensely (and it was science fiction, which will always win me over!). The story was interesting, but was held back by the vagueness of the writing. The choices didn't carry the weight they should have because the relationships were not built up (specifically with the AI and your father) and the context was never made clear.
With that said, there is some clear potential here, and I'd love to see you develop it further!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Great graphic work and a bit clostrophobic.

farmergnome says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:13am

Full marks here, this is fantastic, I would love to see it expanded some also, great use of the 48 hours - all the art and music and mood and such is lovely.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]