April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

S.A.M

by Lafolie - Jam Entry

As S.A.M, the rescue drone, board a wrecked vessel in order to save the survivors deep inside the ship. As S.A.M ventures into the ship he inevitably takes damage and loses modules, becoming a minimal version of himself.

A sort of open platform/puzzle game, overcome obstacles by using different S.A.M modules. Score and time is tracked, the game was also partly designed for speed runs.

Game features two complete levels, a tutorial level - docking bay, and the engine.

Programming: Bart van Strien, Joe Mycock
Graphics: Dale James
Audio: Dale James
Level Design: Dale James

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#161Graphics(Jam)3.66
#188Overall(Jam)3.34
#196Fun(Jam)3.09
#231Mood(Jam)3.08
#265Humor(Jam)2.16
#275Audio(Jam)2.90
#368Innovation(Jam)2.66
#524Theme(Jam)2.31

Comments

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Sadly it just freezes, when I try to start it. :( (Win XP, 32bit)

Lafolie says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:49pm

I think the windows build may be 64bit, I'll see what I can do. Thanks!

TriBeard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:36pm

I see what you were aiming for, but I think you've just got too many mechanics going on at once here. I think the time would've been better spent making one or two of them feel a bit nicer. Still fun though :)

Fadobo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Very cool game, and a great achievement for the short time jam. Feels awesomely retro. Totally would've bought that 3,5" back in the day :)

TheBenjaneer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Interesting Game. I love the S.A.M. Sprite.

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Really like the graphics :) Taunted by that floating box that I have to laser with my jetpack :p

Julian Ceipek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:32pm

This entry has a lot of potential; its intent seems to be to reverse the typical platformer trope of gathering new abilities as you advance. I could imagine a long level progression where you start with many abilities that make overcoming obstacles easy as you learn about what you can do and then future levels that encourage you to overcome the same challenges with more ingenuity as your repertoire diminishes. However, as @TriBeard mentioned, the game has too many mechanics to explore any of them well. I get the sense that you could have done much better with more time, but as it is, the premise isn't properly fulfilled because of the limited content you were able to produce. Given the scope of Ludum Dare, I would have liked to see fewer mechanics more honed to perfection.

leafo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:25am

Interesting idea concept. It would be cool to see this expanded.

Lafolie says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Indeed, we had time issues since I (reluctantly) had to work my day job during LD, so we had a deficit of around 24 man hours. We all agree about the mechanics, the first level was originally intended to be a tutorial that introduced the abilities.

Thanks for the criticisms and praises thus far. I do have sketches for 2 more levels and a breakdown of how S.A.M gradually diminishes, and we're considering finishing the game proper.

Oh, the trick to 'floaty boxes' is to use others to stand on before firin' the lazor, though there are a few that are unbreakable 'dummies'.

bartbes says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:47pm

I, being the evil bastard I am, also placed one of the batteries in a (practically) unreachable place.

In any case, I do think you're right about there being too many mechanics, however, I don't think it was an option for any of us to "dumb it down" at any point during development, we just liked the idea too much, and it's sad we couldn't manage to finish it.

fysx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Reminded me of Commander Keen 1-3 and somehow System Shock 2 (really far fetched!). Had fun exploring the level. Looking forward to the finished game!

Prelucid says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Nice game. Good graphics. I had trouble laser'ing this one crate against the roof.

Leginar says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Very good game, I can't believe how much you got done so fast. Like others said I would be cool to see this expanded upon

Beldarak says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:48am

Great game, love the ambiance (I freaking love space^^). I didn't finish it because at some point the music froze in a 1 second loop and it finally drived me crazy but I really liked this game.

manax says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Enjoyed the game. Agreed with others, there were some nice, but underutilized features. I liked the hacking minigame, good, simple, effective mechanic.

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Nice work! Brings me back to the old console days. This one's more like SNES than Genesis.

martijn says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Quite unintuitive controls scheme. Also the music is quite repetitive.

wrongcoder says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:53am

Sadly, I get a big white window when I try to run this in Win8 64-bit on VirtualBox. Looked great in the compilation video part 2 though!

bartbes says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:58pm

@wrongcoder This game needs OpenGL, maybe that's the problem?

zkenshin says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Enjoyed the art. Only one small bug to report, I was firing my laser when I went through the first teleporter, and the sound got stuck playing. Fun game. :)

ahm99 says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:30am

I really enjoyed this one. Good graphics, fun, Good job :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]