April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Min

by ekun - Jam Entry

Min,
A minimalistic platformer.

Code by Eugene, Art by Keo

Controls:
Arrow Keys
Z - Jump
Hold Z - Bubble
X - Shoot. Shooting propels you, especially when you're in a bubble. Try shooting down while bubbling

M - Mute music

Best run in Google Chrome.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#11Fun(Jam)4.05
#11Overall(Jam)4.09
#14Graphics(Jam)4.54
#43Audio(Jam)3.85
#66Mood(Jam)3.69
#111Humor(Jam)2.92
#259Innovation(Jam)3.00
#387Theme(Jam)2.93

Comments

eigenbom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:14am

Love it!

Deadlyapps says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:35am

Cant get it to run

epaik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:39am

@Deadlyapps

What browser are you using?

3beards says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:40am

I really like the art and sound, play wells. The boss has too much health, takes too long.

BNeutral says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:41am

Bretty good.

boboKat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:41am

Beautifully done. Love the animation and the characters. The music is good too.

Almax27 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:42am

Seems to freeze on the title screen, I'm using Chrome on Win 7

bleatingheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:42am

Love the art!

Lianne Booton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:42am

This is a beautiful game, great job to you both! Reminds me a little of New Zealand Story :)

Almax27 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:43am

ah, 'z/x' starts it! apologies!

epaik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:43am

@Almax27
Sorry, we should've mentioned.

Press Z or X to start at the title screen!

MaxSzlagor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:47am

Cool game! Love the look and sound. The boss is a bit beefy. Do I detect a Meat Boy music homage?

epaik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:52am

@MaxSzlagor

No intentional tribute to Meat Boy, but I may have been subconsciously influenced :).

Ryusui says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:20am

Beautiful. I didn't get past the second boss, but I loved it - a splendid little puzzle-platformer. I just wish the little guy was better-equipped for fighting big monsters! XD

ecbambrick says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:25am

Bosses were really well done. I especially like how you did the visual queues for the fist one.

stromchin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:31am

Love the art.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:58am

I like the hand-drawn art-style :D

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:01am

Yes! I absolutely loving the art style! enuff said.

Hyaku says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Was really hard to beat.

Love the art style.

rwos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Awesome art, but great gameplay too - very much reminded me of the "Kirby's Dreamland" titles. The controls are a bit awkward on a qwertz keyboard, but that's what I get for having a qwertz keyboard. :-) Great Job!

Shugor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:35am

This game is just all-around cute! Although, when I was on the second level after the minotaur-like boss, I was just swimming around trying to get up when suddenly I flew off to the left of the screen and drowned. Later on when I forgot that I wasn't playing a game where P =/= pause, I pressed it and suddenly, octopus boss! Other than that, I didn't find any glitches or anything but it was a bit disorienting.

epaik says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:25am

@Shugor
You accidentally discovered a debug button that I forgot to remove from the game! P was used to skip levels during development.

I've removed it so that no one in the future accidentally skips levels when trying to pause. Sorry!

Tifu says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:48am

Love the cute style, especially when you or bosses take damage. It's a little frustrating, the bosses are really fun, I'd like to keep challenging the octopus guy and figure out a strategy, but I feel like the crab levels are just getting in the way of that fun =/

SneakySalmon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:13am

Really fun, cool aesthetic and gameplay.

cwilloughby says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:08am

Super cool. Got pulled in by the 10s video. Great visuals. Cool gameplay. Found myself confused by the repeating patterns for the different effects.

pythong says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:46pm

love the art and the game play, but hate that ppl don't know that on german keyboards the Y button and the Z button are reversed - so that we have huge problems playing games which rely on the Z button :'(

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Awesomme game, like Kirby + Mega Man's hand-drawn child!

kyyninen says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Lovely style and music, but too hardcore for me! It also ran kinda slow on my computer, which might have been the problem.

SSJMetroid says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Nice job guys, fantastic use of the Heartline code also. The art style really fits.

Oye Beto says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:41am

Wow...
this game is going to the top of the rankings.

- Lovely art. I really like the style and animations.
- Short levels with 3 bosses = super fun. The levels were just a lobby before the bosses. I liked that.
- Good music
- Gampeplay isn't very innovative but the graphics make it feel fresh.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:50am

I also thought of it being a cross between Kirby and Mega Man. I couldn't get past the red/blue bird twins boss, since it gave me little time to react, but that's how the bosses in Mega Man were. Good job!

Orni says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:33am

wow, I love the controls and the visual style - really reminded me of Yoshi's Island on the SNES I've played as a child.

very well done :D

palsina says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:14am

Lovely, I specially like the animations and the jump physics.

SonnyBone says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:03pm

AHHHH!!!! I love this game! The style, the characters, the gameplay... UGH! This needs to be a full game. Seriously. I LOVE IT!

ferasmi says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:55pm

I loved this game so much and I loved the boss fights. the art style is very very good and the music too. great job and I hope to see it as a complete game one day

Hayawi says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Wow, I just loved that silly art style you had going on, with the British music, it was really nice. Good job :D

Hayawi says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:09pm

I just realized, that music was Mozart's 9th Symphony which I was playing in the background, lol disregard the music comment :P

Hayawi says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:15pm

*Beethoven...

TurboDindon says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:26pm

The art is just perfect. Pixel-Kirby-like style.
I have a few difficulties to control the character.
The second boss is not easy.

michail says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:34pm

I really like the style of this game, and I think it has great potential, but there are some very annoying things about it - especially the collision detection was too rough sometimes. I hate to be hit by the monster which is apparently a few pixels from me. Also didn't like that 'x' was assigned to shooting - in almost every platform game I've played the 'x' key was used for jumping.

Knighty says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:42am

Wow, amazing game! Graphics/music/bosses are all very good. Jumping out of water was a bit difficult, especially during the octopus boss. I wish there was some feedback when I hurt the small enemies or the bird boss, like there was on the first two bosses.

Taro Omiya says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:13am

Absolutely adorable and disturbing at the same time! Very much enjoyed this platformer.

kidevil says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 12:46am

Great art style and loved the way the spitting propels you. Wished I would have read that part before getting stuck on the water level ;)

GreyShock says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 9:37am

I love the art and the animations! sweet mechanics and challenging yet fun boss fights!

dick_claus says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:37am

I too got stuck on the title screen :( Using Chrome on a Mac

Brassawiking says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Bosses were kind hard, so a reset at the boss instead of a few levels back would have been nice. Music was a bit repetative. Otherwise, the game design was really nice!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]