April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Friggin Lazors

by Fenmar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Friggin Lazors is a First-Person puzzle game. Navigate the levels with WASD or the arrow keys. Click on a switch to trigger it. Some switches can only be triggered by boxes or lasers. This game uses the mouse capture feature of HTML5. It works with the latest Google Chrome and Firefox builds (make sure to allow mouse capture / fullscreen mode). In Firefox you have to use the Fullscreen mode in order to play the game.

Made with HTML5, Javascript and the Canvas element using webGL. Tested with latest Google Chrome and Firefox on Windows.

Makes use of three.js, tween.js and buzz.js. All textures are procedurally generated.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#149Overall3.68
#156Fun3.51
#261Graphics3.51
#309Mood3.19
#439Innovation3.27
#475Theme3.62
#598Audio2.64

Comments

Fervir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:06am

It was pretty fun at first, but then all of a sudden, there was too much pushing involved, and the pushing controls could use some work.
Looks very nice and the puzzles were good.

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:22am

Very clevel puzzle, complex and fun. Pushing objects is pain indeed.

robertcalvert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:56pm

This was really enjoyable. I am impressed at what can be done in webGL. Awesome work!

IndieRetro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:44pm

That was really awesome, I only got to play a little bit of it but I plan on completing it when I get home in a few days :)

ovenchips says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:04pm

I really enjoyed this. I got about 10 minutes in and then my brain fried so I gave up (I blame this on Ludum Dare sapping all my energy). Pushing blocks was slightly awkward - would be cool to lock on rather than slip to the side. Nice clean graphics. Great submission - well done.

shama says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Well done.

maxogden says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:20pm

great job! really nice game feel too (other than pushing blocks). p.s. is your code licensed MIT or BSD?

Fenmar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Thank you for your feedback so far. I wasn't aware that pushing blocks was so awful, I will rethink the mechanics for a potential post compo version.

@maxogden: I retain all rights to the code, sorry. All the libraries I used are licensed MIT though.

jolle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Friggin Lazors indeed. Very good game! As some other's said, bit too much pushing, being able to pick up the cubes instead might have been less tedious, but I think it's a minor complaint. Felt a bit like Portal without portals. Props for making an actual good game with HTML5 + webGL. Suitable graphics, good puzzles, good length.

Helco says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:48am

Unfortunately it doesn't work on Opera (button presses doesn't have an effect)

smealum says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:52am

great entry ! my only gripes were that pushing cubes felt too "slippery" and uncomfortable, and that the puzzles were generally too easy (and it was possible to block doors with cubes which made it even easier :P). but great job !

gre says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:56am

I was a bit stuck at the beginning, It was not obvious for me that you can push blocks, maybe you need a bit more help for that.
Otherwise it's an awesome puzzle game, audio is great,
Nice work and Kudos for using web tech :)

reheated says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:05am

Nice puzzles. I liked how everything was in one big level.

Per says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Really nice game!
I liked the minimilistic style and the overall mood.

davidwparker says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Pretty big game- I played for ~7 minutes (that's a lot)... I really like it. The one thing that could use work (as others stated) was pushing objects. Maybe clicking to "pick up blocks" would be better (ala Portal or whatever).

Well done!

I also didn't know about Buzz.js, so I'll have to check that out!

DaveDobson says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Neat game, and some fun puzzle stuff. It did seem longer than I could invest while playing, but I think I got the idea. Very neat. I had some texture/color issues with the red disks on the ground - they got all moire-y - but otherwise, it was very smooth, except for I kept slipping off cubes while pushing them - maybe a little friction factor there would help.

Broxxar says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Aside from a bit of awkwardness when pushing blocks this was really fun. There was maybe a bit too much block pushing though. But the puzzle was tough to solve (in a good way) and it looks fantastic. This was really one of the best games I've played.

MinionStudios says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:53pm

An awesome game with great puzzles and a nice mechanic! Good job!

AndyBumpkin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Enjoyed this, had a bit of portal to it because of the laser stuff. The sound started off good when the lasers turned on, but I really felt that on achieving a door open that some kind of melody should have played in the same style/key as the laser sound. That would have been awesome.

Otherwise I enjoyed it enough to get to the end and it worked well as a minimalist game :)

zkenshin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:46pm

A lot of content for a Ludum Dare entry, well done. :)

DdlyHeadshot says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Clever puzzle game, though a bit complex for the theme.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:06am

Nice puzzle. Impressiv work for a 48h LD.

mrexcessive says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:20am

Clean implementation. Like the small things such as footsteps and good switches.

pentaphobe says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:13am

Great work, nicely designed and implemented :)

I concur with the comments about block-pushing being a nag, but it's hardly a deal breaker, just sort of pulls the rug out from the exploratory feeling at the beginning.

Especially liked that there were multiple approaches to solve it

TurboDindon says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:58am

Great.
I spent 20 minutes on your game and then I was blocked ; I haven't solved the sixth (or seventh I don't remember) puzzle. I like the character movement settings, it works very well.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]