April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Casino

by AyCe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game requires Java 6 or higher!
-----

I made a nice game for this LD.

But it did not really fit the theme.
So I decided to make a new one.

Some stuff is missing, but hey, enjoy! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#848Audio2.20
#971Innovation2.53
#993Graphics2.47
#1116Overall2.59
#1206Fun2.12
#1266Theme2.53
#1800Coolness24%

Comments

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:16pm

"Pay mafia <---- Important"

That was funny :-) But the game was a bit dull, like real life, I suppose? Maybe if the slot machine was faster?

By the way, what happened to the game in the screenshots of your journal?

AyCe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:27pm

I wanted to reduce everything down to this cycle:
1. You do stuff (work) which is monotonous but also needs reflexes.
2. You spend your money in the casino, where you don't have to do anything but clicking a button and see if you are lucky.
3. If you get lucky, you win. And there's a way to almost "ensure" you will get lucky.

Alternatively you could just work for the debt ^^

That game was "Spacewars". It works quite good, obviously needs some improvement, but was just not really fitting to the theme. So I guess it will end like Danger!, Revolution, Goatz, and all the other unfinished games: Unfinished. ^^

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:40pm

I don't completely know what this has to do with the theme, but somehow it still makes sense. The job section really feels like a job, which is good.

free_napalm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:52pm

I got the million on my first visit to the casino :D Otherwise, all gameplay parts are rather dull. I guess that was your point, but it still makes the game boring.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:58pm

This game is a great idea, it does get a bit tedious due to the lack of options, and the wait time on the slots. All in all a decent game :)

Salamander3 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:24pm

WOO YEAH JACKPOT I- ..this isn't real? :(

Seriously though, I liked the idea. Basically a life sim boiled down to it's essential components. ...minus the mafia debt, though your mileage may vary. clicks of the reel got a bit grating after a while, but otherwise simple game, well implemented.

tankete says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:33am

Interesting game. Got a bit slow quickly. Would love work to be 30 seconds and slots to be faster. Fun!

Make A Game says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:39pm

=) while it didn't fit the theme I this is a cool idea and I had fun playing it.
It reminds me of a serious game "Spent".

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]