April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Spheres

by fueelin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

IF THE GAME CRASHES ON START:
Install the XNA 4.0 distributable (located in 'IFCRASH' folder in .rar)

Update:
Fixed 'infinite ball' crash (hopefully).
Fixed bug w/ Launcher targets going off screen (no-win condition).
Fixed some typos, added 'you win' text.
Can close game by pressing Escape.

UPDATE: Added folder to .rar with non-installing .exe, can just run that directly. Let me know if there are still any issues.

NOTE: If you encounter any bugginess (like tons of balls spawning super fast for no reason), click the stop button and then the play button.

Spheres is a minimalist music creation/puzzle game. Fire balls from launchers that bounce around the environment, creating sound as they go. Work your way through an (unfortunately short) assortment of levels or try out free play mode!

Game includes a grand total of two images and one very small audio file. Few assets and few mechanics, but hopefully still a good amount of depth in the result :)

Check out the included readme file, especially if you plan to use free play mode!

Installs to Program Files(x86)\LD26\Spheres by Fueelin

Readme contents:

Freeplay Mode Controls:

Left click to select an object (Launcher, Platform, or Circuit).
Click and drag to reposition Launchers and Platforms.
Select a Circuit and click a Platform or Launcher to link them.
Click again to break link.
Click in free space to de-select current object.

With a Platform selected, you can toggle the following:
C - Circuit
D - Descending Intervals (Notes)
M - Mute
S - Solo

These keys place objects:
1 - Launcher
2 - Horizontal Platform
3 - Vertical Platform
4 - Goal

General Controls:
Del - Remove selected object
Backspace - Remove all objects
Enter - Save level. Note: goes to Freeplay.xml.
Can back this up and/or swap other files to load them

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#396Innovation3.33
#443Audio2.88
#448Fun3.10
#698Overall3.04
#802Mood2.63
#1006Theme3.04
#1008Humor1.56
#1250Graphics2.04

Comments

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:36am

Some people -- myself included -- don't want to play entries we have to install. Can you create a non-installing executable?

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:39am

Love the idea, and it was fun. It's pretty easy to get a ball stuck on the edge of a platform... had a number of CTDs due to infinite balls on the screen at once, before I could do anything about it. Still, quite enjoyed it.

baldwinthree says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:39am

Couldn't get this to run - installed the .msi, went to the install location, but it errored out before opening a window. Is there something I'm missing from the install instructions?

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:50am

A really interesting idea and a pretty sweet game! Had a slight problem when I dragged one of the red boxes off the screen and couldn't get it back, and the game crashed on one of the later levels (windows 7 x64). But really, a superb offering!

paulopn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:50am

It's not working...when I open it it immediately crashes. I'm on win-7 64bit.

robcozzens says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:52am

I installed it, but when I double-clicked on it nothing happened... no error message or anything.

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:52am

Very cool. Liked it. Would have preferred to unzip versus install. Liked the audio variety. Liked the challenge.

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:56am

UPDATE: Added folder to .rar with non-installing .exe, can just run that directly. Let me know if there are still any issues.

wrongcoder says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:56am

Installed, then nothing happens when I launch the EXE. Win8 64-bit in VirtualBox.

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:33am

This is cool, the idea is really good. I had a couple of issues like dragging targets off screen and being unable to recover them, but otherwise this was really fun.

richy486 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:14pm

This is amazing, seems like the author has worked with music games before :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:51pm

I don't have windows :(

Beanalby says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Only key I could press that seemed to have any effect was space, looked like a level warp? Otherwise lots of balls bouncing around and nothing looked like it changed anything.

jamioflan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:55pm

I don't seem to be able to get it working; it loads OK, but nothing is selectable, and no controls seem to do anything...

fussycashew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:57pm

This was awesome! The physics could use a little work (I managed to bug out my spheres a few times), and some of the maps can be beaten without using anything but the first element, but I absolutely love the concept! Put in my play later folder.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:57pm

well done man.. i like things like this :)

Farjuan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:05am

That was great! Unfortunatly I crashed the game by making the balls hit the generator note making infinite balls spawn too fast but this game was really innovative

Andy West says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:35am

Sorry, but this won't run for me. Tried installer and stand-alone .exe. Running Windows 8, 64-bit. Part of the error message says: Problem Signature 09: System.IO.FileNotFoundException

fueelin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:32am

UPDATE: If the game crashes for you on start, look at the description above for fix. Also, updated version fixes previous 'infinite ball' crash and issues w/ launcher aim going off screen and preventing level completion.

boboKat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:35am

Works nicely. The install was smooth but I didn't like that it wanted to put it in my program folder. I suspect that's an XNA thing. Very reminiscent of the one game from Electroplankton that I liked. Similar them to my entry but much more structured.

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:50am

I like the concept and enjoyed playing to the end. I would like to note that it's easy to get a ball stuck in a wall making it easy to win some levels. Also after a while the tones sounded harsh (could need a softer tone, could also be related to the stuck balls triggering the sound very quickly).

hardycore says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Wow, this games probably the most innovative one I've played yet. Also you got the sound spot on. Art was functional though could've been a tab better. Also shoddy hit detection between the balls and corners of platforms, but thats always tricky to get right. GOOD JOB!!!

vinull says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:24am

The game is a little dense and hard to understand (you should have a level for each stage of the tutorial to practice the concept on), but once I got some of what to do it had a charm to it. The audio is a nice touch as well.

Kitch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:24am

I love these sort of games. Good work! (Looks like we had sort of a similar audio idea :) )

Crazi456 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:31am

Pretty amusing, ran into a few bugs also

Otoris says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:02am

Sick musically inclined game. Wish the audio was a little better though. Gets to be teeth grinding over time.

argo15 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:45am

This is a really clever idea and with some polish it could be really good.

Jellycakes says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:00am

Cool concept, enjoyed it kept me playing even though it seemed a little bland with the graphics and lack of sound. Great anyway though!

gmaker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:46pm

not bad really

JustinMullin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:23am

Cool concept. I noticed sometimes balls can get caught on corners, resulting in an annoying "b-b-b-b-b-b-b-ring!" Overall though, this is a lot of fun - would like to see more!

Reminds me a lot of Electroplankton - were you influenced by that game?

fueelin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:38am

Haven't but played it before, I'll try to check it out though. Yeah the balls getting caught on things are pretty annoying, I tried to minimize the annoyance of the sound etc but didn't quite get it fully fixed... I'm definitely going to work on this more.

May 2, 2013 @ 7:39am

good game

HelkeGames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Nice game well done! :)

berkano says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:28am

Really cool concept! Reminded me a little of The Incredible Machine (just a minimal version). Tricky to start with but soon get the knack of it. Loving the way the balls create random music.

Ryusui says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:40am

I thought it was lovely how the walls and platforms played music when struck - up until they played a resounding cacophony while I was trying to solve puzzles. XD

GranaDa says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Really innovative. Was worth the trouble to install it. Good job!

oatsbarley says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Really clever idea. And when it gets hectic it almost sounds like you're in a one of those silent movies with the plinky pianos. Good job!

gameXcore says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Really nice idea, needs a massive amount of polish though!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]