April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A Space Opera

by shard123 - Jam Entry

Journey out into uncharted space in search for Utopia. Fight dangerous aliens and space pirates! Fly straight into a wormhole! This game features an upgrade-able ship, multiple enemy types, interactive planets and asteroids, and multiple levels.

Controls:
W/A/S/D = Move your ship
Mouse = Aim
Left Mouse Button = Shoot (If you have missiles)
Click on Planets and Asteroids to interact with them

Tips:
If you start to run low on fuel it will start to beep, run out of fuel and you die.
Click on Planets and Asteroids to use the shop.
Click on asteroids to create bases on them.
The game auto saves at certain points.
Only some stores carry some upgrades.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#342Audio(Jam)2.65
#383Theme(Jam)2.94
#443Overall(Jam)2.68
#472Innovation(Jam)2.26
#493Fun(Jam)2.22
#516Graphics(Jam)2.17
#1744Coolness28%

Comments

Benjamin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Interesting game. I think that not moving in diagonals is intentionnal due to fuel constraint but it really make the game hard to control. Ship that are unaware of your presence are killable with one rocket only. When the enemy planet start to generate new ship there seems to be no limits to them, it makes a high peak in your difficulty curve.
I was a bit surprise by the corridor shape of your space. It's a bit unusual for a 2D space opera but finally its works well, Once I understood everything (1-3) games I could play more game 4-5 before getting bored. Nice entry.

smealum says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:14am

nice idea but i have a few complaints about how it was executed. first off, i found the combat very unengaging and tried to avoid it as much as i could. secondly, i didn't think the controls worked too well; i would have thought using W/S to control the thrusters and A/D to "strafe" to be a better idea, but mostly using the mouse for everything was a bit annoying because i sometimes found myself interacting with a planet when trying to shoot an enemy that was directly above it (and subsequently dying) or just wasting missiles everytime i closed a window was annoying. so yeah, there are problems you'd have to deal with, but other than that, solid idea, solid entry. keep it up !

May 2, 2013 @ 4:19am

I'll agree with the above comments with regards to the controls. I expected the movement to be similar to something like Asteroids, and struggled with it for awhile. The combat was somewhat of a pain because of this, although I liked how it forced you to monitor and conserve your fuel. There's a lot here and it mostly works well. Great job!

mungoman1 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:21am

Interesting concept, but had a few flaws(mainly with combat and movement.)

Muu? says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:49am

I agree with other comments about the controls, especially because closing a popup window by clicking an "X" triggered a shot, wasting a precious missile.

Fuel depletes so fast that a couple dodges usually ended my game because of no fuel left.

Destroyer40k says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:12pm

I usually don't like games that limit the player's resources in battle like this one, but I did like this. I'm just a little irked by how expensive the upgrades are compared to how much money I had left after the resupply&repair. I also liked how relaxing the combat is. Nice job!

SuperDisk says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:41pm

I can never get very far before running out of fuel. Cool game, and neat musics and story.

aeveis says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:25am

I run out of fuel very fast, I could buy more fuel but only in the beginning. a nice mood though.

omaromeir says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:14am

Nice take on the genre, reminds me of FTL but more action oriented. I wish it was a bit less punishing though, I couldn't get far :(.

kibertoad says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 5:29pm

this is how a jam space exploration game should look and work. awesome.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]