April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

BLOB

by Kvisle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"(What a horrible night to be a) blob" is my entry for this Ludum Dare.

It's a small action/puzzle-game. All 15 levels are beatable.

It's written in Javascript, using the Impact game engine. (http://www.impactjs.com) - this is the first game I've made with it, and I am really happy with the result. I consider this my best work.

Let me know what you think!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#78Fun3.70
#152Overall3.67
#306Innovation3.44
#455Mood3.00
#477Graphics3.13
#496Humor2.31
#683Audio2.49
#885Theme3.19

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:27am

Excellent platformer!

I like how the levels get more and more complex, and introduce concepts one at a time.

TheSnide says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:49am

Great !

Ofursnati says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:00am

Nice game. Well done.

gmaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:00am

nice)) stage 5 seems impossible

Kvisle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:05am

@gmaker: Have you tried shooting at the dark blocks?

juaxix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:07am

I think level 8 is very hard, but i like the gameplay, would like to smooth the sounds also, it is fun :)

ndssia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:09am

Great concept mate, well done!

I find the sounds scary somehow D:

erdos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:10am

This is really awesome and fun polished and well done. I also really like the particle system, will be poking around in your source code for some protips!

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:10am

Very Nice! I thought I beat level 9, but I guess one little blob can't exit the level by himself?

Kvisle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:15am

@cahman: Correct, you need them to merge :)

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:53pm

not really sure where minimalistic comes in play, but I don't care, I love this type of platformer ;) very nice done

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:20pm

That is some seriously evil level design. Currently at 11 and while I can see the solution, I can't coordinate myself enough to do it :P Excellent work!

Fififox says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Couldn't get past the split-blob level, but it's a really good game! Congrats!

JokerDen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:28am

Cool game. Not new mechanic but not bad. And it need some level balance.

timtipgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:35am

Love the level design. Was a lot of fun.

patrickward says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:01am

Great concept and fun to play. I got stuck on level 8 though.

De10ter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:08am

Was pretty fun.
Couldn't get past level 11 though :/

Eternal_Rest says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:33am

Cool game.. 12 made me too dizzy to continue.

escence says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:42am

This game is awesome :) Nearly gave up in the spike level but somehow couldn't stop playing - great work!

doobdargent says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Stuck at 11th! Nice game though.

Folis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:29pm

This was a lot of fun for sure! Level 12 was very hard, but somehow after lots of dizzy-spinning I did it! Great job, man!

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Classic and pleasant to play.

tcstyle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Great game. Couldn't solve the level with the shooting stuff on the ceiling.
Anyways. Fluid puzzle-platformer mechanics. Sound an theme fits. Good job!

Sestren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:40pm

The ragequit level actually turned out to be one of the easier ones for me, but I think it's because I accidentally stumbled upon an easy solution I doubt I could easily replicate. Cool puzzle game!

namuol says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Awesome Impact game! Solid mechanics, tricky but rewarding puzzles, lovely particles, etc. Congrats on a great entry!

JFlegle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Very polished, needs music!

folmerkelly says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:55am

Awesome! Best platformer I've played so far.

Team Castor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Great platform game !

PsenFilip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Phew phew sounds do fit your game theme but they sound way to much, I guess.

I like the reset/new level transitions. Pretty smooth.
That could just happen auto when I die though.

Good puzzle design on there. Overall it is a good game. Couldn't get passed level 12 though

ovenchips says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:13am

This was great. I played this for way longer than other LD26 games. Really challenging - 12 was fiendish! Well done!

Cryovat says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Played it up to "Throwing myself around".

As it is now, it's already a very complete and good package with a good core mechanic, but it has some balancing issues. The levels seem to be a bit too reliant on precise timing. For instance, the level introducing turrets had me getting killed at the "last pixel".

The flipping also felt a bit abrupt. Since it didn't freeze the game, it felt a bit hard to tell where'd you end up/when to start moving the opposite direction.

All in all though, I think you got a very good game here. Great job, looking forward to seeing where you take it after LD. :-)

nintendoeats says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Nope, I CANNOT finish level 9. I was enjoying it, but that' got me stuck. There must be something conceptually that I'm not getting.

I quite like the graphics and sound, and in general I think the mechanics are well thought out and implemented. Except level 9.

shawn42 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:22pm

I love gravity platformers like this! A lot of games get the mechanic figured out and don't have time for good level design. It's obvious that you nailed them both. The difficulty scaled up pretty well too. Nice work!

klianc09 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Really great, I somehow managed to play through it. My only major complaint is, that it's difficult to navigate when gravity switches often and fast, but when you implement a short timer that freezes the game while rotating, than this is a really great game.

whilefun says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Good stuff! I really liked the puzzles. The audio was a bit harsh at times, but overall very well done. Nice use of particles when stuff got shot. Fun entry! :)

Cambrian_Man says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:34am

I really enjoyed it, though I did eventually get stuck. It's tough! The mechanic works really well.

Ragzouken says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:31pm

So frustrating! Gave up on the VVVVVV level. Cool game though.

Morgawr says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:07am

Pretty cool game, got really hard towards the end. Nice work!

MinionStudios says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Great and superbly crafted game! So tiny and awesome!

Taro Omiya says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:35am

Wow, that game was Nintendo-hard. Especially the VVVVVVV level. Well implemented, however, and many of the puzzles were clever with multiple solutions.

Maple says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:46am

Pretty good! But hmmm, I was able to beat those last 2 levels without going what looks like the intended path was. I think you accidentally made the last two levels easier than you planned.

I wonder what that QR code is all about!

farmergnome says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:32am

This is fantastic, solid mechanics and full points for innovation and fun, great platforming puzzles, I would love to see this expanded at some point, the mechanics definitely have loads of potential.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]