April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Phlux

by vrld - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Phlux - energy conducting puzzler.

The ingame tutorial will (hopefully) teach you how to play :)

Linux users: You will need LOVE 0.8 to play this game. Get it at http://love2d.org.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#45Overall3.93
#82Innovation3.87
#103Fun3.62
#121Mood3.57
#137Graphics3.82
#188Theme3.96
#267Audio3.18
#908Humor1.78

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:41am

Wow.. very ambitious for an LD!

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:47am

This was really fun - definitely one of the best mechanics I've played in a LD entry. Great job!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:52am

Really nice for 48 hours! It fits really well with the theme, and was really quite unique!

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:05am

This is a cool concept. I like it.

HunLyxxod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:07am

Great game. I would have loved more levels but that was one of the best LD game I played so far.

Ysty says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Very well designed and implemented. I was worried it would all be a bit complex during the tutorial but it turned out to flow nicely.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Very cool and innovative :D

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Very nice game, very polished. Solid mechanics, looks good and "feels" like a finished product. Excellent job!

headchant says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Really a great game! More levels please!

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Nice game! excellent design. At first It was kind of hard but the tutorial helped me. Always play the tutorial!

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Very polished for a LD game. Nice.

AnnynN says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Love the game!:) I hope you will make more levels in the future.:)

Tapestry says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:36pm

I really enjoyed playing this game. Well made on all aspects.

mchaza says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:54pm

such a fun game, had fun playing it. nice work!

Are says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:34pm

very interesting game! :) i would love more levels! i was so sad, when i reached to the last level.

plash says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Notes:

- Whoah, got some floaty start menu going on here.
- Setting a nice atmosphere.
- Tutorial.
- Reminds me of Eufloria.
- Level 1.
- Can even scroll and pan the camera. Nice.
- Don't much like the action denied sound.
- Not sure what to do here yet.
- Music is getting annoying.
- Alright, have to convert these nodes. Let's speed up time.
- There.
- Hm, the hover sound effect happens both when the mouse moves into its rectangle *and* when it leaves. Ticks twice; feels weird.
- Still like the menu ambiance better than the actual music.
- Level 2. These are very easy.
- Level 3. I spoke too soon.
- Node position varies slightly when you restart. Nice touch.
- Oh dear, the music is repeating fivefold. It's a complete mess.
- Game saved, at least.
- It's starting to repeat again.
- Level 4. Tricky business.
- I am going to attack this big one all at once. Not so tricky after all.
- Level 5. Not sure what I'm supposed to do here.
- Ah, prevent the blue from taking over that node.
- I won. Looks like that's the last level.

- You've got a lot here for 48 hours. Great work!
- Your camera class is much cleaner than mine. Too bad LOVE requires some hacks in that area. Would be nice to have an additive translate.

Things I would change:

- The gameplay music. It should be more like the menu music.
- Add different types of nodes or circuits. Check out Eufloria if you haven't played it already.

Make A Game says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 7:08pm

I love simulation games. =D
Good job, it feels very polished, and the most impressing thing is that it was made in 48h.

glisk says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:05pm

really nice puzzle game with a neat concept. good job :D

mildmojo says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Nice work! The speed controls were an excellent idea, I spent a lot of time in 4th gear waiting for my small flow advantage to pay off. I love the way the circles spin up as they accumulate energy.

There's no limit to the effects you could add, really.

dansludumdare says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:21pm

I was still a bit confused about how energy worked by level 5. I think I lost my generators because I let their energy go to 0. I figured I didn't need reserves in generators. And it seemed like the more connections you put, the more energy a node made. I'm sure I would've figured it out with more levels though.

I really dug the floating menu, although it did make me expect a similarly unnerving game.

The game got my resources management jollies going. Nice work.

Jeremias says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Intelligent puzzle design, was fun to play. The shaders and the smooth background music create a nice atmosphere.

alts says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 6:46am

Great game. I haven't gotten past level 5, which seems to be the last level. I think the game really shines when the time sensitive elements are added. As a purely puzzle game, it isn't nearly as engaging. Despite all that, the game doesn't strike me as terribly minimalist. Regardless, great work, and thanks for all your work on and around LOVE.

JonathanG says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Brilliant stuff, very well done. Could tell I liked it by how upset I was that there weren't more levels to play! ;) Fits the theme well, nice music, sound, and presentation. Teaches itself well without holding your hand too long and leaves itself open to puzzleyness. Great!

KEFIR says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 9:54am

Really really cool concept! Reminds me Galcon. It was very fun and aesthetics was really good!

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:43pm

A) Love the floaty menus.
B) Cool mechanics! Very well designed and fun.
C) Sometimes, I couldn't reach one node with a certain node, and then after restarting the level, I could. Odd.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]