April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A Picture Says

by ntdb - Jam Entry

Learn, as quickly as you can, what it is that the impatient Minims want and fetch it for them! Hooray fetch quests!

Characters will tell you what they want by drawing you a picture. The faster you understand what they want (HINT: check out all the items and animals lying around before chatting) the more points you'll get when you deliver! Keep the drawings to a minimum.

CONTROLS: Arrows/AD to move, X and C to perform actions as indicated on-screen

Developer's Tools: Flashpunk, Sublime Text 2, Photoshop, Zwoptex, fcsh-wrap
Artist's Tools: Pen, paper, markers, scanner, photoshop

Thank you for taking a look and telling us what you think! We didn't exactly cancel plans and take the whole weekend to jam but we had fun and learned a lot. Give us a shout on Twitter at @ntdb and @lohwree.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#291Graphics(Jam)3.11
#308Innovation(Jam)2.83
#368Theme(Jam)3.00
#433Mood(Jam)2.41
#506Overall(Jam)2.44
#545Fun(Jam)1.83
#1934Coolness14%

Comments

syawqy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:07am

you have a decent mechanic
but, need to work on level design

Yacodo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:40pm

I follow saywqy, game level are not really safisfying.
Love the art, does it's effect !

petrocket says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:48pm

My level 13 sword wasn't able to defeat the dragon so I used the cat instead. Please put a lobster in the next version I LOVE LOBSTERS.

Jellycakes says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:11am

It was a nice game, but I didn't quite get the story and I think the ending was a little abrupt. Good job anyway.

marnaouf says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:52am

Loved the graphics and the concept behind the game is pretty awesome.

notepid says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Enjoyed the graphics, but it got abit monotonous walking around.

Super Hamster says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Interesting concept, I wish it could be a bit more complex and longer.

Coil_Whine says ...
Nov 9, 2013 @ 5:45am

Like it, really shows the best and worst the gaming industry has to offer. Fetch quests!... yay

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]