April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A Scholar In The Woods

by Rastagong - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A short interactive story. What if a pedantic scholar from the city had to go through the woods, in the middle of nowhere? Help Anna to guide him, try to bear his continuous rants and his boring speeches on minimalism.

To launch the game, launch main.exe/play.exe on Windows, main/play on Linux.
Controls:
- Arrow keys to move
- W to interact with the objects and characters (Z on QWERTY keyboards)
- Escape to leave at anytime

Made with Pygame, Python 3 and my own RPG engine.

Post Compo Sources: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/8347940/A%20Scholar%20In%20The%20Woods%20-%20Post%20Compo%20-%20Sources.zip

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#419Humor2.44
#668Mood2.76
#790Overall2.95
#912Innovation2.63
#994Theme3.05
#1021Audio1.63
#1048Fun2.41
#1194Graphics2.14

Comments

Helco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Unfortunately it crashes on my PC (Win 7 x64) with the message:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File:
"C:\Python32-32\lib\site-packages\cx_Freeze\initscripts\Console3.py",
line 27, in <module>
File "main.py", line 173, in <module>
File "main.py", line 90, in executer
File
"C:\Users\Kevin\Documents\Narro\trunk\Build\gestionnairevenements.
.py", line 124, in gererEvenements
File "C:\Python\32-bit\3.2\lib\_abcoll.py", line 434, in __iter__
KeyError: 'Sortie2'

Colisan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Crashes too when I went up of the second map : (Win 7 x32)

Traceback (most recent call last):
File
"C:\Python32-32\lib\site-packages\cx_Freeze\initscripts\Console3.py",line 27, in <module>
File "main.py", line 173, in <module>

File "main.py", line 90, in executer
File "C:\Users\Kevin\Documents\Narro\trunk\Build\gestionnairevenements.py", line 124, in gererEvenements
File "C:\Python\32-bit\3.2\lib\_abcoll.py", line 434, in _iter_ KeyError:'Sortie2'

Rastagong says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Thanks for your feedback, I'll fix it asap.

Rastagong says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:55pm

I've updated the build, it should work now. :)
Sorry for the inconvenience! If I can grab a Live CD, I'll build the game for Linux too.

graytest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Quite interesting. I liked it.

dasrkrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Great job! I always find games like this interesting!

Jools64 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:16pm

This was a really interesting game. I really like the story it was telling and I'm amazed at how much scripted movement you managed to include for the people.

The graphics where however a little messy looking though and the lack of sound was quite noticeable in a game that focuses fairly heavily on atmosphere and story telling.

Having said that, I did really like the game up until the man started following me and I accidentally walked into a position where he was blocking the only exit. That made it impossible to progress any further into the game which was a real shame.

Good work all the same.

jmf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:26pm

I liked it! Quite advanced for a ludum dare game. It ended rather abruptly though, or at least I think it ended. I was stuck in the middle of the woods with the man.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:33pm

I liked the ending. The guy got what he deserved, particularly after he almost trapped me by a tree.

reheated says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:38pm

This was really well written.

I think I got stuck (at the same point as jmf)? It's the scene beginning "and so it continued, on and on, until night." I can't interact with anything.

reheated says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:49pm

SPOILER

I replayed and realised the problem - there's a way you can go through the trees without finding the key in the forest - this causes the scene to start without the scripted events happening.

Rastagong says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Thanks for the feedback, everyone! :)

@Jools64:
I love RPGs when they feautre dynamic NPCs, as in Chrono Trigger or Majora's Mask. That's why when I wrote the Narro Engine (the Python engine behind this game), I focused on the NPC scripting. I want them to move precisely as I tell them to, when I want them to. I'm glad it pleases you, I've dedicated so much time to this task!

Regarding the two latter points, it's mainly due to a lack of time. I'm considering releasing an improved version, with some music, some sounds and fewer bugs.

@jmf:
Actually, it seems you haven't found how to leave the forest. Hint: the leaves of the trees may hide some paths. ;)

@reheated:
Thanks for reporting that! Mapping the forest took quite some time, because I had to make sure that the player doesn't cut through the woods when he has to perform a specific task. But it seems there are still some hidden paths! I'll fix that in the post compo version.

vinull says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:22am

This was interesting... I got to "The End" which I assume is the end (I could still walk around). The conversation was nice and I like the narration quality to the tutorial.

JFlegle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:25am

Funny ending, I need a slap the guy button.

T800 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:52pm

i like the graphics and the climate

kyyninen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Storytelling style reminded me of a zen koan.

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:18am

It's a shame for the graphics. I'd really like to see a polished version of this. The writing is excellent and the story actually makes you think.

Lythom says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Hi there, here is some feddback.
What i loved :
- story with true meanings
- atmosphere
What imo could be improved :
- graphics ! Even with no graphic skill I'm pretty sure you can improve from this to something that doesn't make sick :p
- ending (fall a bit short :s, or did I miss something about this artist we had to visit ?)
- a feedback when you actually can do an action ("press 'w'")
I really liked the game overall, thanks for the story ;)

mkpictures says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:01pm

What a nice game :) You had to a lot of work to script everything like that O_o GG for that!
I also liked the story ( Even if I wanted to kill that scholar guy .. ).
The graphics are a bit too flashy I think, but you did a really great work on this!!

Rastagong says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Thanks for the feedback once again, everybody. Glad to see you appreciate the mood, enjoy the story… and hate the pedantic scholar. :p

@vinull:
You can still walk around but "The End" is printed on the screen, right? If it's the case, you got to the end indeed! But yeah, it came earlier than I wanted too, I hadn't have enought time to finish the game. I was supposed to add one more scene.

@Lythom / @fullmontis:
Ahem, yeah, I've never been a talented pixel artist. :s
I might use other graphics in the post compo version, then. Actually, I had considered entering the jam instead of the compo to do so. But making a LD game without designing the graphics at all… It seemed pointless to me. Maybe next time!

I'll think of an immediate feedback sound for the action key too, thanks Lythom! ;)

Regarding the end, yep, it comes rather shortly. I had originally planned an additional scene. I might add it in the post compo version as well. :)

@mkpictures:
Most of the key movement functions (A* algorithm to follow the player, dynamic changes in the map, etc) were already written in my game engine, the Narro Engine. It's then rather easy to script extensive interactive scenes. That's one of the main reasons why I programmed this engine instead of using RPG Maker. I'm relieved to know it works well, I haven't lost my time! :)

Rose says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:17am

Nice work! I love RPGs. Unfortunately I got stuck (went into some trees in a ] shape, pedantic dude covered the last side and I couldn't get out), but maybe I will play again later in order to see the end. You should work on this more and get an artist to help you! Or work on your own pixel art skills - try looking for inspiration in sprite sheets from existing games.

May 2, 2013 @ 2:35am

The game seemed fun, but the little girl moved so slowly that it made the game unplayable for me... Very likely due to my slow computer that I have to run at minimal speed. I didn't rate it since I didn't want to rate what I didn't fully play, and I think I really would have enjoyed it otherwise, for what it's worth :D

hissssssssss says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:38am

The walking speed for the girl was irritatingly slow.

Other than that, this was neat. I liked the narration at the bottom of the screen.

Topaz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:34am

Nice job! I use Python + PyGame too btw, you should check out our game: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=10594

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:17am

Nice job doing this in python !

May 5, 2013 @ 5:19pm

That a game like nds games (zelda or other) i like small games like this.... nice job in 48h;)

Rastagong says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:34am

Sorry for replying so late, and thanks for the feedback. :)

Regarding the speed of the girl, I've added frame independent movements to the game engine, it will be featured in the Post Compo build. It should be ready tomorrow. I've been busy fixing some performance issues, sorry for the time it takes!

kddekadenz says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:42pm

python main
File "main", line 1
SyntaxError: Non-ASCII character '\xc1' in file main on line 2, but no encoding declared; see http://www.python.org/peps/pep-0263.html for details

You need to organize the folder, too, putting the data stuff into a subfolder.

May 17, 2013 @ 12:18am

I was impressed by the amount of text, dialogue, and the npc's were neat! xD It was slow to go places, got lost at times, and there didn't seem to be anything dangerous.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]