April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pong (you are the ball)

by madeinpda - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Can't imagine a game more minimalist than Pong as I played it for first time at a Magnavox, so my entry is some kind of pong tribute with a twisted fast paced gameplay!

Instead of playing with the paddles to hit the ball you play with the ball trying to avoid the paddles... Hey isn't so bad as it sounds!

Key Features of my entry:
- Web based
- Fast-paced gameplay (30 seconds per play)
- Time bending effect to make the gameplay faster and more interesting
- Minimal size (just 8kb)
- Minimal effort :-P made in less than 8 hours just for fun

It has been quick and funny to make, I hope someone finds it interesting to play :-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#75Innovation3.88
#153Theme4.00
#427Overall3.29
#443Audio2.88
#452Graphics3.18
#651Fun2.88
#1828Coolness22%

Comments

Sos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:28pm

That was hard! I love the minimal visual effects! Good job!

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:33pm

aha brilliant

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:34pm

It's very hard i only made 4 but it's a good experience !

corrigan_sam says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Very Good, It was a lot of fun! It was hard though! Awesome Idea

Pierrec says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:44am

This is a very good idea to express minimalism
But god this is hard!
On the other hand, I think the regular Pong is way too hard too, so, maybe I'm the problem ^^

Yarek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:55am

It's fun and a great idea ^^ Sometimes you just need to change the point of view and you have a brand new game, good job!

Pure minimalism :)

fullmontis says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:13am

Very cool concept, and very well done! It's very challenging to play but when you get a score it really feels great.

hypp says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:00am

I found it very hard to control the ball. Still, nice work!

Crynix says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:22am

Very difficult, love the art style though. Great idea too! Some sort of visual indicator of your influence on the ball would be nice. I felt like my actions weren't doing much.

dek says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:06am

It was pretty hard, but a nice idea.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]