April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

T.O.M.B.

by Knighty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to the Temple Of Minimal Benefit.
Run and jump your way through the temple's dangerous traps to reach the treasure inside. Be warned, simply getting to the end is not good enough for the temple god, as each room has a unique Law of Minimalism.

The game can be pretty difficult, so I suggest you play Normal first.

The Post-Compo version has slightly edited movement and stages to be less annoying.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#34Overall3.98
#35Graphics4.22
#115Theme4.07
#117Fun3.60
#213Mood3.35
#243Innovation3.53
#348Humor2.56
#443Audio2.88
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

saint11 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:07am

Damn this is cute :D (And hard!)

saint11 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:08am

Congratulations! It's very polished!

Cybearg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:37am

You are an evil, bad person, and your game is addicting as hell.

The level of polish on display is amazing! The game looks great and the levels, infuriating as they are, are clearly very carefully planned. I wouldn't be surprised if this game went viral like how I Wanna Be The Guy did. Big kudos, although I will never, ever play this again. I can appreciate what its trying to do.

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:40am

wow this is awesome! i love your take on the minimalism theme! well done!

Eternal_Rest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:50am

Excellent entry. Im holding off on actually Voting untill I have played a fair few games as comparison, but this here is a good entry. Fits the theme nicely and is very well done.

Canyon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:55am

This is genius. I see what you are doing but unfortunately I am dying too much. Rage quit but high ratings.

leafo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Dang this game is super hard, but it's also really good. I had to give up a few levels in because it was too hard :(

jolle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:27pm

This is very good, but also very frustrating.

(Also, if I understand you correctly, the music wasn't made during the compo, which breaks the rules. Was it supposed to be a Jam entry?)

Knighty says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:58pm

I removed the music. I must have been sleep-deprived when I decided to add that music and thought it was okay.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:01am

Very, very tough. And addicting.

Royal Railway says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:54am

Best I've seen so far!

ArkadyDracul says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:56am

Nice!

erhartmikale says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:23pm

I'm thoroughly impressed! Best game I've played yet. Graphics and gameplay and difficulty are all perfect. :)

Loren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:35pm

oh man, so fun :) Great job!

dansludumdare says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:20pm

I didn't bother getting past the room of turning because it was too frustrating. I'm not into these "I wanna be the guy" type games I guess. I think if I understood how jumping worked better, it might not be so hard, but I couldn't figure it out (namely the jump height).

Very cute and nice otherwise, and good interpretation of theme.

dalbinblue says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:57am

Sweet game. I'm embarrassed that it defeated me; I love frustratingly difficult games but I couldn't get through the room of minimal pits. I may come back later.

GFM says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:58am

This is great!
But I rage quit on the room of minimal pitfalls (hard mode xD). =X

My only complaint is about those damn spikes. Perhaps this would change the level design a lot, but... I think they should only kill when touched from the direction they are pointing at.

Ithildin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Wow...I'm amazed. I love the level of challenge behind each room's rules (I've reached the third one so far), not to mention the amazing visual polish. Brilliant entry, congrats! =)

lekochen says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:31am

Give up at Minimal Greed. Geeeeeez this game is so hard. Well done sir.

Husky says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:07pm

OMG...
It's soooooooooo hard lol.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:44am

Maddeningly hard but very fun.

lekochen says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:49pm

I bursted out the F-word when I saw the red door in the last room. Holy cow.

barkergames says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:10am

I like the idea, it's a little too hard though. I ended up getting frustrated and quitting.

Turtle says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:41am

It's so hard ( ; ; )

naufr4g0 says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Really good graphics! :)
The game is hard. Good interpretation of the theme. :)

kill0u says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:23am

Great [hard] game :)

Rafael Sales says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Cool game. Interesting mechanic and awesome graphics. Congrats!

klianc09 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:28pm

This is one really though platformer. Although the idea is good, some levels were just stupid (min. Light) and others were not innovative at all (min. Time), I enjoyed the rooms with jumping and turning and greed the most, maybe you should have focused more on this things, and maybe combined them, that way you could create some sort of complex puzzles. Needs a restart button, but overall I really liked it.
(PS.: Deaths <= 10 ... ARE YOU FRICKING KIDDING ME?)

Blizzil says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:08pm

This is awesome and ridiculously difficult! Well done, i salute you and your evil game design.

elbowroom says ...
Jun 1, 2013 @ 12:43pm

This is by far my favorite game from the compo. I finished it with "minimal deaths" and got the secret treasure. I enjoyed every moment while I played this game. It reminded me of the best moments of playing VGs back in the 8bit - 16-bit era. Exemplary game making and level design talent.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]