April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SPACEd out

by Alex Camilleri - Jam Entry

by Alex Camilleri and Michelle Westerlaken.

As many of you guys requested, now the .exe is available, and you don't need to install the game anymore.

If you want to know more about SPACEd out, you can read "A game about giving the best, failing, and getting stuck in the routine", but make sure you play the game first! :D

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/05/01/a-game-about-giving-the-best-failing-and-getting-stuck-in-the-routine/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#31Audio(Jam)3.93
#64Theme(Jam)3.93
#99Fun(Jam)3.41
#102Overall(Jam)3.61
#122Innovation(Jam)3.43
#177Humor(Jam)2.58
#216Mood(Jam)3.13
#228Graphics(Jam)3.37

Comments

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Unexpected. Really good job on the music, and following the theme. I'd get rid of the installer though, it errored out on me initially (issues with default destination folder) and most games come without installer anyway.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Thanks a lot for playing the game :) The installer problem can be solved by running it as Administrator. I'll try to fix it as soon as possible!

TriBeard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:23pm

This is really cool! Controls could use some refinement - I like the way the gray background squares could be used to lineup the approach.

paulmcgg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Great sound, and a really clever one-button concept. Everything moved nicely as well, plus the p funny text, so good polish.

nseward says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:46pm

+1 For a one button game. It doesn't get more minimal than that. Beautiful graphics.

StabAlarash says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Nicely done, congrats !!! That really fits the theme

M0N0QUARTZ says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Can you make a mac port?

Keast says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:11am

I didn't really get the text passages, and pleease get rid of the installer. :S Other than that, nice!

May 1, 2013 @ 9:08am

Thanks everyone! Unfortunately I cannot get rid of the installer, since it's part of how Game Maker Studio works.

For making a Mac build I need a Mac :( I'll try to make one somehow, but I can't promise!

I could try with an HTML5 build, but there are a lot of problems with making audio work and having a proper framerate, and considering that SPACEd out is a rhythm game, I would rather not release such a weak version.

ticlekiwi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:15am

this game as cool, the music to, was fun and minimalism

Aceria says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:22am

Nice job. Quite compulsive when you get into the rhythm of it!

Perhaps putting the text scrolling along behind the line (maybe at half the speed?) would make it easier to read?

No problems with the installation for me, although web versions are always nicer for these things.

Fits the theme well visually, musically, and for the interaction.

Capro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:23am

Relaxing and well structured game. I like it.

May 1, 2013 @ 12:19pm

I love the concept and that it follows the theme :) It is a awesome game, that is pretty addictive :D

allinlabs says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:48pm

I love one button game ^^ good take on the theme and very lively music. Nice entry !

IceCliff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:08pm

That was amazing. The only problem I had was that if you failed it would still get harder but awesome game! :)

Tino says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Took me a moment to figure out what I had to do but once I got it it got me into a nice flow that wouldn't easily stop me from playing it. If there was some sort of message it was probably lost on me. xD

pvwradtke says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Very cool, the music was a nice touch to complete the game. Found bit difficult to control, maybe delaying the decreasing action. Like, waiting 1/4 of a second to start decreasing the bar size would help. Sometimes it's very hard to get the bar to the right size and keep it that way. I have to agree with some comments, please send plain binary files, not an installer. We're all developers here and we know how to unzip and run games that way ;).

A funny note: I saw your screen shoots and I was like "yikes, we did the same game" :). Of course it wasn't the case, but before playing it that was my thought ;).

saguaro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:02am

Great concept. I really liked the music.

May 2, 2013 @ 12:07am

Ok guys, now it is possible to download the .exe file, without bothering with the installing process.

Also, if you're interested, I posted a long article about the game, explaining its basic concept and its meaning: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/05/01/a-game-about-giving-the-best-failing-and-getting-stuck-in-the-routine/

miro662 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:01am

nice game, but why when I runned it my firewall asked me about internet connection for this game?

May 2, 2013 @ 11:09am

That's quite weird, the game doesn't make any use of web features.

Muu? says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:32pm

A good idea and an amazing execution, fits the minimal theme perfectly. Good job!

Zhrack says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:39pm

very good and relaxing!

saggiosoft says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Well done! It's like a relaxed version of Frets on Fire.

theGiallo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Great entry! IT has the theme in the mechanics and in the graphics. Great mechanics! With a soundtrack it would be perfect! 8)

atraxgames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:27pm

I read the article, you accomplished a great way to communicate something with videogames/art. Compliments!

May 2, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Thanks a lot everyone :)

May 2, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Working with an actual musician must be an awesome luxury. Great jam entry.

dannycalleri says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:38am

Nice and innovative game with a soundtrack that will make you dance, well done!

dsoft20 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:05am

Great music, and great game

hissssssssss says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:34pm

I love how self-explanatory this game is. The mechanics instantly make sense, without any tutorials, demonstrations or read me files.

infernet89 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Very original and miniman gameplay, really liked it!

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Great music and a nice challenging game idea. Fits the theme.

May 7, 2013 @ 6:35am

Thanks everyone for the feedback :)

May 12, 2013 @ 11:53am

Thanks for the game - liked the concept of using a very minimialistic gameplay while still making it feel like a larger game. Loved the music as well. Maybe allow fullscreen to get a more imerse feeling?

Oh, and sorry for feeling that my game was frustrating - have found out that it was a tad too sadistic at times and will try to make it easier for the player in future LD competitions.

Good luck! :)

dalbinblue says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Really nice game. I'm only issue is the line size matching is very finicky and I missed a lot that lines that I thought I should have gotten it (it was very close in these cases).

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:50am

Good idea. Maybe it need more positiv feedback or motivation to make chains (you understand the goal but your not completly challenged). But good work

Misael.K says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:14am

Good rhythm game! Great music, too. Harder than it seems. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]