April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimum Friction

by pvwradtke - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A minimalist platform game, without platforms.

To control the game, use the space key. To quit the game, press ESC. Any key to skip the splash/credits screens.

- Windows instructions: extract the zip file somewhere before playing. Running the game creates a file, which fails if running from within the zip file.

- Linux: compile from source using g++ 4.3 or higher. Depends on SFML 2 RC and C++0X.

- MacOS X: I don't have a Mac, but thanks to Thiago Alves, now there's a MacOS X binary version. Some reports are that you need the SFML 2.0 package installed. Try downloading it from http://www.sfml-dev.org/download/sfml/2.0/ (sorry for the extra work).

Updates after initial submission:

1 - splash and credits are skipped with any key (a typo).
2 - clock font was slightly increased for better visibility on smaller screens (another typo)
3 - Added a MacOS X port.

All game features remains the same.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#185Innovation3.63
#198Theme3.94
#204Audio3.30
#303Overall3.43
#462Humor2.37
#509Fun3.04
#518Mood2.93
#706Graphics2.84

Comments

saint11 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:05am

Very simple and very intelligent! I love it!

Infin8 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:09am

I think you missed out on the chance to put in the main game? I completed the tutorial and that was that. Also... having to sit through all the unskippable credits and the entry screen

whitetigle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:45am

Escape key is your friend :)

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:46am

Hi, there's a main game. It's enabled after you play the tutorial once (not even necessary to beat it). It requires writing a file (so you can skipt the tutorial next time), so you need to extract it somewhere, maybe that was the problem?

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:48am

Thanks whitetigle,I was going to point this out as well, I'm so used to the ESC key that for me it was a given, but it seems I was very wrong :). I don't know if I'm allowed to change it now, but if there's ever another build, I'll remember to use any key to skip them.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:05am

I love the barely noticeable squares in the background. Gave it some depth while still keeping the minimalism thing going.

Tahooey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:06am

Simple yet Fun, very nice!

texel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:45am

Neat idea! I could see this coupled with some pulsing music and bouncing to it. Nice job!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:13am

Really well done! Went with the theme perfectly and the music was really good.

attagcatc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:33am

This is really good. So simple yet really well polished. It feels like a good indie game.

netmute says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:41pm

So... Mac users only get the source code? ;)

AlanBazan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:55pm

The gravity is weird auhhuauhahu
And the game is good!

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Pretty polished, and innovative, though I get frustrated quickly after having to restart every time.

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:47am

Very nice pv! You nailed it! :D

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:05am

had trouble figuring out when it would switch sides, cool idea though.

matter123 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:20am

hard but sooo fun

FaBrito says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:15am

One of the best games played so far on this LD! Great idea, great accomplishment, well polished mechanic and minimalist art!
I really liked the well timed tips throughout the game! Congrats and, always nice to see brazilians doing this good on the Compo! ;)

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Loved it! =OD
(hard tho)

Rafael Sales says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Cool game. Interesting and hard mechanic. Congratz!

TheBenjaneer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Very Nice!

Milo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:10am

The binary didn't work on my Mac; I think it needs to be packaged with SFML libraries, or at least that's what the error message seemed to say. I'll see if I can get it to work tomorrow.

pvwradtke says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:39am

@Milo: sorry for the extra work. If you manage to make it work, could you please send me an update so that I can update the instructions for everyone?

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:08am

Wow, I'm loving this. A simple idea executed brilliantly, with polished graphics and audio to boot.

stqn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:54am

Great simple idea, well executed and perfectly in line with the theme! I like the music and the paralax squares in the background :). However it is annoying to restart from the beginning every time. The sound when an obstacle is passed is annoying too. (And why do so many people make games with totally white backgrounds? Arrgh... Painful.)

May 1, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Nice! Slightly difficult to get hang of, but pretty fun and challenging. Liked the music and graphics.

netmute says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Nice that you got a Mac version now! :) The "Sinus-Jump" mechanic is a pretty awesome idea.

jayemjee says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:39pm

The graphics leave trails behind, obscuring everything. Not playable on my computer.

nathanj439 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:00am

Loved the music. Graphics were simple but stylish. I wish there was a checkpoint system to avoid havin to restart from the beginning every time.

pvwradtke says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:19am

Hi jayemjee, care to share your setup, most specifically, your graphics card? Thanks!

Blinked says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:05am

Very cool, minimalistic idea! Love the music. Good entry :D

kyyninen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:02am

Slick style! This could have benefited from procedural level generation, doing the first 30 seconds over and over again became frustrating to the point of ragequit. Then again maybe I'm just bad at these sort of games.

May 2, 2013 @ 10:58am

Our games look very similar hahaha they play very differently though :D I really liked the concept, even though it took me some time to figure out how to jump downwards (the tutorial didn't really help me). Would be interesting to make it more fast-paced :) Great job

HybridMind says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:32am

Well, I feel like I _almost_ wrapped my brain around it! :D I tried for a long time and got an OK distance but it was tough to remember sometimes which way I would jump first. Maybe if some indicator reminded you? I do like the idea though and it is pretty fun for sure.

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:33am

I had the same problem as jayemjee. I'm running windows 7 and an ATI Radeon HD 6800, AMD FX 4100, 8GB RAM

GingerMess says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:30am

I didn't have any problems on Windows7, just so you know.

A lovely little game that really does need lots of attempts before you get anywhere due to the nature of the oscillation. I love the parallax background as it gives the game that little extra something without going beyond the theme, which is something I should have considered actually.

Overall a great entry in my opinion.

pvwradtke says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:04am

Thanks for pointing out the problem. I'm looking into it, at least on a Radeon 4500 mobility this wasn't an issue (will try others later). However, as I was using a release candidate for SFML2, maybe they fixed that on the library final version, which is just out now.

Cybearg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:32pm

I love the idea! Very cool and it has a lot of potential.

Unfortunately, my screen kept bugging out. I'd see lines everywhere, like the platforms and player leave residue everywhere. See this screenshot to see what I mean: http://i43.tinypic.com/2nrhjb9.jpg

It could be very distracting.

Also, it was kind of frustrating that it took so long to retry the game. This game has a very rapid death rate, so there are going to be a lot of failures. Allowing the player to try again as fast as possible is a good idea, or else it begins to get frustrating. If you make it very quick and easy to try again, it helps to make the game more addicting. For a good example of this, see here: http://www.adamatomic.com/canabalt/

Overall, great concept and I'd like to see it expanded. Kudos!

Zhrack says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Very good game! In theme and challenging!

pvwradtke says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:33am

Thanks Cybearg. As far as I can see, this is an issue related to the library I'm using (SFML2) and some video drivers. Which video card are you using?

PsenFilip says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:55pm

This is pretty inventive and somewhat mind bending. I like it a lot!

Oye Beto says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:10am

Great game, it was fun. I haven't seen the same mechanics before, so it's something original to me.

1:29 is my record, beat my game and I'll beat yours.

May 8, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Cool little game. The tutorial is a nice addition, however, the text changes quickly, took me a few deaths to discover the inverse gravity mechanic. It takes a while to let the player replay: when you die, the game could allow the player to instantly press space and reload the level. Also, there could be some graphics (other than solid color rects).

Aside these facts, the game is pretty nice, challenging and innovative. Good job!

TheSheep says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:49pm

$ make
g++ -std=c++0x -c main.cpp
In file included from main.cpp:10:0:
Game.hpp:48:5: error: ‘RenderTexture’ in namespace ‘sf’ does not name a type
make: *** [main.o] Error 1

TheSheep says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Ah, it requires an unreleased library, sorry, didn't notice.

pvwradtke says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:50am

@TheSheep: yes, while most Linux distros come with SFML 1.6 packaged, I used the current SFML 2.0 release candidate. The final library was released on the same week as the compo, and is available at http://www.sfml-dev.org/.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]