April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Black vs. White

by lathomas64 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only have 1 hit/1 life
click or press control to fire
Avoid collisions
2 possible endings(not counting game over if you lose).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#769Theme3.32
#989Audio1.85
#1008Humor1.56
#1194Mood2.00
#1277Fun1.92
#1303Innovation1.81
#1313Overall2.11
#1320Graphics1.66

Comments

Andrew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:28am

I wish there would be some indicator showing score/life

lathomas64 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Ah well as far as life goes its the old school rule of one hit and you're dead. Could have done a score though since I'm keeping track of numbers internally anyway to determine the various win conditions.

Your player will visible change slowly as you kill more though so that should work in your favor of a score of a sense if killing is your goal.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:56am

Nice and simple. Maybe a score or how many lives you have remaining would be nice.

protensity says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:59am

There's a nice subtle theme here.

The overt dialog at the end isn't necessary. The game is just a tad buggy - I had to restart once. Enjoyed playing though.

JFlegle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:59am

...but at what cost? Something to think about.

Jim Haslett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:01am

It took way too long for me to figure out that control was to fire. Space or up arrow might have been a better chance, maybe even all three?

As a suggestion, perhaps the hitboxes on the enemies are too big. It seemed like I could sit in one place and spam fire and survive indefinitely.

I really liked the way the colors changed and the player seemed to get more black, as the enemies go more white. Like you were becoming more evil as you killed more.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:07am

Very minimal, for sure!

pansapiens says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Deep. Fight violence with violence, and you become the thing you hate.

lathomas64 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:11am

@protensity what bugs did you encounter?

lekochen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:27am

I love the message you transmitted.

mort96 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:10pm

It's nice, but it kinda makes you wonder: Is Unity really needed for such a simple game? :P

sharbelfs says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:08am

Need a score bar!

May 2, 2013 @ 4:04am

Wow interesting twist! I think you should make it keep shooting when you hold fire rather then making so you need to repress it every time.

Thijsku says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:11am

It's a bit too easy when you shoot constantly from the same position. Also, a score system would be nice. Good job with finishing your entry. ;)

Prelucid says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:31am

I like that on the web page you put up two screenshots of this.

Cake&Code says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:58am

Haha! I finally stopped them all! But at what cost?! D:

Well, it took me a few minutes time and some furious clicking. Not too high a price to pay at all! Fun little game, very... very minimalist! :)

hgouveia says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:57pm

i couldn't rate this game , never opened to me even reinstalling the WebPlayer

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]