April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mini Hero

by sharbelfs - Jam Entry

In Mini Hero we tell the journey of the little boy Ted, trying to make his world better with your imagination, and to tell this history we're using text and puzzles.

Each piece reverses the neighbors in a different way.

-Red changes the Horizontal
-Green changes the Vertical
-Yellow changes the Diagonal
-Blue changes the Cross

Most of the levels you have to complete the board, make all pieces in color, but some you have to left some pieces without pressing. You can check the Help to see with pieces is.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#56Overall(Jam)3.74
#103Fun(Jam)3.39
#110Theme(Jam)3.73
#140Graphics(Jam)3.71
#143Innovation(Jam)3.37
#146Mood(Jam)3.38
#163Audio(Jam)3.30
#278Humor(Jam)2.11

Comments

wccrawford says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Very nice. I love puzzle games.

Unfortunately, I've had it lock up a couple times. Once, it refused to show the second board at all. The next, it didn't recognize the solution as being finished. I didn't take off points for that, of course, it was just disappointing not to be able to finish the story.

jrkirby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:06am

I wish the sound effects were atonal. They really disrupt the music.

robcozzens says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:43am

That was pretty cool, but the difficulty was pretty low for the first few and then almost impossible... for me at least.

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Wow really polished. 3 level was actually quite tricky but this seemed like a finished product. Nice work!

kbm0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Amazing polish, interesting puzzle mechanics, Pachelbel. What's not to love? 5/5 <3

juaxix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Thank you for creating this game, i loved the char being turned into a mage hero :)

Kyle Bolton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Amazing. This is reminiscent of something Cipher Prime would release.

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Really great game. Good entry in the puzzle genre. Good choice of music.

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:04pm

I love these kind of games. Really good clicking you have going on here. The off keys just hurt my ears but who the hell cares :)

Aquatic Games says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Great game, nice storytelling!

rubapi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Puzzle mechanics are interesting and the graphics are minimalist, good job!

jadams says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Nice gameplay and very well polished.

It caught me out when the puzzle didn't involved filling the entire board, could do with an indication at the start of each level to show what you're aiming for.

hnjslater says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Fun little game

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Looks fantastic. I found it really hard to begin with, then realised I wanted to have the squares all full, not all empty :p

saampahlavan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Very elegant. I enjoyed it!

ananasblau says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:03am

Simple to play really, but I had (on Hard) to surrender at the Wizzard level. Apropos levels, it's rare they have a story, or live and breath a story like yours do, big plus for that.

Well polished puzzler and I was absolutely sure you have an iOS and Android port in the making already but then I saw it's flash. Let me know if you need a tiled-block-engine thingy for CoronaSDK, I got one that would be a perfect start for you.

sharbelfs says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:16am

@ananasblau Do you tried the hard level? Hehehehe. We're thinking to port to mobile, but we're trying to use flash to port.

Thanks everybody for the replies. We apreciate it.

Tater_hater says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:23am

i suck, but it was fun

naufr4g0 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:33am

Really great puzzle game! Nice story and well designed levels.
The minimal graphic is really effective.

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:37am

These types of puzzle games aren't my cup of tea, but I completely recognize how well done this game is. Keep up the good work!

YsenGrimm says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Really good combination of narrative and game, good work!

May 2, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Nicely made, i understood the story completely. But your sounds + audio don't mix.

Wiering says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:35am

At first I thought the music was full of wrong notes, but those turned out to be the sound effects.

Foxtacy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:15am

Thanks for your comment on my entry.

Well about the sounds... it's just that we wanted to use "funky" sounds... but yeah it received a lot of complaints.

On the future versions all the audio will be revised ^ ^

I'm accepting suggestions, you think 8-bit sounds would fit it better?

PS: I'm still to play your entry, i will do it as soon as possible :)

Foxtacy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:51am

Whoa. I like your entry.

There's harmony everywhere!

It's so cool.

I'd enjoy to keep hearing your tips on how to improve my entry ^_^

mramaizng says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:01am

Man, this is an awesome game. Very polished, stuck to the theme. Even had a story behind it. Way to go!

dick_claus says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:01am

Worthy game!

moomoo112 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:11am

I like the pieces puzzle mechanics in this

SaintHeiser says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:13am

Wow! Its awesome puzzle game with a plot!
Excellent work!

bowlercaptain says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:51am

Very nicely polished. I wish the sound effects meshed more with the music. Also, I was never sure what constituted as a 'solution.' Sometimes, things wouldn't be filled in and it would work. Others, you had to fill in the whole thing. I would make with winning condition a little more clear.

May 4, 2013 @ 3:13am

Nice Puzzle!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:22am

It's hard because your game is really good but when you play the second piano destroy the canon in C beauty.

dannycalleri says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Nice entry, finally a game that's playable on the web :D ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]