April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lightbyrinth

by siondream - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Lightbyrinth is a simple game about a small light sphere trying to escape a dark labyrinth.

Written in Java using libgdx and the GWT backend for the WebGL version.

Controls

- Move: arrow keys
- Shoot: space bar


Features

- Light & shadow based gameplay
- 5 levels
- Procedural enemy spawning
- Limited energy for shooting

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#242Graphics3.57
#326Mood3.18
#400Audio2.97
#457Overall3.26
#485Fun3.06
#670Humor2.07
#679Innovation2.97
#956Theme3.09

Comments

badlogic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:16am

Nice, you got box2d-lights running with GWT. In the first level i thought "this is going to be to easy", then the red balls hit me :D

badlogic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:16am

Two small things: camera following could be a little faster, aiming with mouse would have been an interesting control option.

siondream says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:44am

@badlogic: thanks for playing mate. Yes, I think I'll send a patch to box2dlights because I had to make a couple of silly changes to the sources to get it working. It doesn't affect anything and it'd be nice to make it GWT friendly.

The non mouse controls is intentional so you can't walk and look backwards, it would have been too easy that way. To be fair, the camera could have been tweaked a little too.

Thanks for your input!

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Fairly minimal, and nice to see a webGL entry, which i'm not familiar with. I guess the lighting is done per vertex or something since it can look a little strange at times, but on the whole very nice.

Arkazon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Very nice mate. Liking the music, bit tricky with the camera being so slow and the ability to fire is pretty pointless since you can just outrun the enemies - I didn't need to fire at all to complete it.

siondream says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:00pm

@8BitPimp: yeah, I thought I'd provide a WebGL version which to encourage people to play. No plugins, only IE is excluded and, honestly, who cares? I'm using box2dlights [1] for the lightning.

@Arkazon: cheers mate. For the music I used this procedural melody generator [2]. Yeah, definitely could have lived without the shooting...

[1] https://code.google.com/p/box2dlights
[2] http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/02/19/procedural-music-generator/

imagnity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Not sure if it is my Chrome browser but the movement is slow. I like the lighting very much.

siondream says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:02pm

@imagnity: it runs at 60fps on my machine using Chrome. What kind of hardware do you have?

multikorv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Nice with WebGL! Oh, at map three (I think) I ended up in the wall and could reach the exit immediately.

Brassawiking says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:28pm

It was hard to see and all of the sudden you had an red ball in your face. And you died so easily. Cool lightning!

FaBrito says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Great game! Very nice effects with the lights! As some people already said, I guess the camera lag didn't quite helped, but hey, this probably made the game a little harder.
Played very well here: Chrome + Alienware M17xR3.

atlantian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Loved the music

Daisuke909 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Really nice lighting mechanics, naturally. I guess the biggest problems are the suicidal enemy AI and the learning curve, which is more like a sheer cliff. Also, I wouldn't mind having mouse controls. Nice looking and sounding game, though.

jmf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Nice lighting effects! A little bit too fast paced for me, would have enjoyed a more tactical game. Fun to play though.

siondream says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Thank you all guys for the feedback :-D.

@Daisuke909: I thought about the mouse but the point is that you can only look where you're going so you need to worry about who's behind you.

GaTechGrad says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Got stuck in a wall on level 5 and couldn't finish. Otherwise, great maze game!

siondream says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:15pm

@GaTechGrad Dodgy physics setup maybe? Damn level 5 was the last one :-D. I was too tired when I did all the level design :-(.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:15pm

This was actually kinda spooky. I'm guessing this was made with libGDX?

siondream says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:20pm

@Rutger Megahertz libGDX and box2dlights yes :-D

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Great game. Nice minimalistic sound and music, the lighting mechanic was impressive. Usually I find exploring a maze in the dark tedious but I think you offset that by making the guy (blue ball) nice and fast. Would have felt even smoother if the walls were frictionless. Nice work!

Drabiter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:02am

This game is really utilizing box2dlight - it's good for game demo lol. Actually I think the BGM is kinda unfit with environment. Good job!

AlanZucconi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:38pm

A clever usage of dyamics lights.
You created a lovely atmosphere! :D
Good job! :D

timtipgames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:59am

Nice! I really appreciate how you implemented the tutorial into the actual gameplay instead of presenting the player with a wall of text :)

Per says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Nice game with impressive light effects!
I like the music as well :)

patrickward says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:40am

I felt it had a spooky atmosphere to it. You did a wonderful job with the lighting. The red enemies surprised me! And the music worked with the atmosphere. Great job.

ilo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:49pm

We have made similar games. :)

The lighting effects are really good, and I liked how I never felt too safe despite having the light.

_Rilem says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Cool idea. The light adds to the creepiness.
I was busy reading the text that told me not to stand in one place for too long, then I died :P

FREEZX says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Pretty interesting, but restarting the game when you lose it's pretty annoying.

hgouveia says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:07am

Great game, similar to my game so i share feeling hehe, love the lighting effect

dector says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:23am

Start from beginning after death is a little bit frustrated. :( But I liked atmosphere and dynamic in game. It takes in tension all time.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]