April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Road Rage

by Jimjam - Jam Entry

Road Rage is a top-down traffic simulation game that gets out of hand very quickly. As a traffic officer, you must run around and manage a city in which humanity has embraced new levels of driving horror.

Controls: Move with W A S D, perform an action with space. The game contains tutorials.

Submission notes:
I did not create the music for the game - I've used an awesome freeware music track from an external source (https://soundcloud.com/8th-mode-music).
Mods/other Ludum Darers: Please let me know if this isn't ok, and I will upload a build without the music. The Jam rules seemed a bit ambiguous regarding whether this was allowed or not.
Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#15Innovation(Jam)4.05
#82Humor(Jam)3.11
#100Theme(Jam)3.77
#101Fun(Jam)3.40
#109Overall(Jam)3.59
#182Mood(Jam)3.24
#266Audio(Jam)2.93
#347Graphics(Jam)2.93

Comments

recursor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:45am

Wow this is pretty nice. Great presentation and the in-game tutorial is well done. You should have an option to select which side of the road to drive on (right or left) Haha :) I realized it pretty quick when the cars at the intersection would turn left on red (a very cool detail by the way).

Impy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:32am

Really awesome game! really love the road rage and car build ups! looking forward to the next release!

TheFuntastic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:07am

Haha, getting KO'd by road rage was hilarious

Richard Matey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Love the ideas in this game and great clean on screen UI.

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Great game. Could be a bit faster maybe and i would love to have some pepper spray

psychomonster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Nice Idea, easy to learn but hard to master. Played it for a while... I'm a noob :D I will try later again^^

WhatTheTeam says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:26am

Really good mechanics!

Jimjam says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:50am

Thanks for the feedback all - I will definitely add a few tweaks to the player speed and a couple of other things so that mad traffic jams found in the last level can actually be controlled better :P

@recursor: so true! I'm from South Africa, and like the UK we drive on the left side of the road. I knew this would mess with all the Americans' minds :D Seriously though, it would be good (and not too hard) to add that option, just to keep everyone's sanity!

Grouflon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Incredibly challenging game, very fun to play. A very rich gameplay with a small amount of mechanics, that's minimalism! Theme is suited by the graphics and the overall mood. It was also very funny, I constantly imagined rage drivers passing red light saying "fuck off"... Very serious entry for me, lot of 5 stars ;)

Corofides says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Neat little game. Awesome concept. Pretty entertaining.

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Great game! Loved the concept and the execution works really well! Visuals were bare but created nice depth and relayed the information cleanly, well done. Only rough points were that sometimes the character felt a little too slow, changing the stop lights didnt feel super responsive (sometimes would take a few hits to change or would immediatly swap opposite what i wanted after leaving). This goes for the repairing, although well done, getting to repair stuff felt unnecessarily sluggish.

The AI worked really well and was a big win for this game. though sometimes it would be difficult to stop the traffic as they'd hit me and just push me backwards.

fysx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Player movement feels very slow should be more responsive (e.g. higher maximum velocity).

Apart from that very cool game and very interesting mechanics. Also very good level design!

intripoon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:48pm

This is great. Like Lemmings, except the start killing each other if they can't move :D

Ernyz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Interesting game even though i failed a lot ;D

Super Hamster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Very interesting idea, I have never played anything like this before.

Yoni says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Great game! It's a shame there is only one non-tutorial level - but wanting more of a game is always a good thing.

druckson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Really cool concept, and nice tutorials. I had a few issues with burnt cars just touching the road that would interfere with pathfinding, it'd be nice to be able to see them a bit better. Great game though!

TriBeard says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:38pm

This idea has great potential. I personally think you should drop the repair mechanic and really focus on the stopping traffic/changing traffic light patterns. I think you could've lost the majority of the HUD at the bottom as well - would've helped the minimal aspect to. Good job!

lotusgame says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:32am

Interesting and very novel concept. Well executed with music and, it's very rare in a LD entry, a progressive tutorial. Well done !

patrickward says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Great idea for a game. I laughed out loud as the cars got redder. The game moves a bit slow at times and having to get the repair tool was a bit frustrating at times. Also, I didn't really notice the hud at the bottom as I was always looking at the road. Might try the hud at the top. Overall, I thought this was a clever, fun, and challenging game. Well done!

Jimjam says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:23am

Hi all, thanks again so much for the feedback! I'm busy working on a post-compo version, taking into account a lot of this feedback, like changing the HUD, player speed and repair dynamic, among other things.
I'll also eventually include more maps, and an actual difficulty curve :P
Thanks,
Jem

Shigor says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Great idea for a traffic cop simulator, well executed, although it got pretty complicated and not very funny soon enough

zkenshin says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Very nice game, though I did find the movement of the main character a bit slow, interfering with the hectic gameplay of managing a ton of intersections.

May 6, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Nice game, I loved it the first time I saw a guy go mental and just plough through the traffic

HELLO23 says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 10:33am

I enjoyed the game. Nice idea.

Xanjos says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Wish there was more but the concept was very cool and interesting plus I loved how each level progressively taught you everything you needed to know bit by bit up until the final level where you pretty much have to apply what you've learnt from all the previous levels.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]