April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Shaving Quest: The Razor's Edge

by Milktoast - Jam Entry

The most highly anticipated shaving simulation of the year... is some other game. This one's all about making creepy mustaches and poking some guy in the eye.

THE STORY: Imagine it's the morning of that big job interview or business presentation. You were up 'til 3 a.m. preparing, but you forgot to set your alarm clock and you've overslept. Your train leaves in 10 minutes, so you only have a few precious moments to shave...

UPDATE #1: Boosted by the encouragement I've received, and with just under two hours to go 'til the Jam deadline, I implemented a kind of shaving-like... um, thing. It's not so much a simulation of actual shaving, but more of a Photoshop eraser tool, if one were implemented very poorly. Since the Jam still hasn't ended, I'm releasing an updated version!! Now with 100% more shaving! Enjoy!

UPDATE #2: The post-jam version adds: (1) a button to regrow the beard, (2) option to grow a more dense beard, and (3) a monobrow.

UPDATE #3: The post-jam version is now more game-like: a score and timer have been added! Yay! I've removed the beard density and debug options. Minimalism!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#16Humor(Jam)3.85
#167Innovation(Jam)3.30
#344Fun(Jam)2.72
#347Graphics(Jam)2.93
#428Mood(Jam)2.44
#452Theme(Jam)2.70
#467Audio(Jam)1.20
#495Overall(Jam)2.49

Comments

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:08pm

You made SOMETHING. You know, I've been programming for five years, and in those five years the amount of time I've spent on programming which resulted in nothing made is roughly %95 of the time.

Prototype after prototype, giving up on a project to move to another, which I'd give up and move to another. All wastes. You've made SOMETHING, if every time you sat down and worked it was toward a completed project, then you're better than me, you're better than 9/10 of every amature game dev. The keynote of this very Ludum Dare was about submitting something. http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/04/24/welcome-to-ludum-dare-26/#more-228094

Milktoast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Thanks, Perry. I see you also went with CreateJS. Congrats on finishing up! I knew going in that it was going to be rough. Having never attempted LD (or any game compo for that matter), I didn't fully appreciate the need for pre-planning, rigorous time management, etc. Didn't do any pre-work... just began with that accursed, cold cursor blinking at me in that vacuous, empty text editor. (*shudders*)

peggiosoft says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:50pm

this is pure nonsense, but so far it's funniest game i've played.

aare says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:51pm

I really like the graphics and how the guys face reflects his emotions. It's a really shame that you didn't manage to finish becouse it really have a potential

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Hey, don't give up, you did a great job with this, so keep working on it and finish it, even if it's not for the compo, who cares? Try to do it in the next days, if you achieve that you'll have done it, because the point is to finish the game.

Keep making games! :)

zanzindorf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:58pm

I almost didn't play this game because the thumbnail reminds me of "Un Chien Andalou" (A very messed up movie by Salvador Dali), but I'm glad I did because even though it wasn't finished I thought what you did have was interesting and funny. I shaved the heck out of his nose :D Thanks for the submission.

theomnis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Funniest game so far.

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:22pm

You made something indeed! Way to post it in spite of what you think of it.

You know what would totally rock? If you wrote up a killer postmortem for this and described what you think went really well and what didn't go well. What were you shooting to achieve and what prevented you from doing it? The exercise would help you do better next time and would help your peers as well.

A failure, properly responded to, is a fantastic opportunity. Go for it!

Richard Matey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:22pm

For a man that can not grow a proper beard, my dream would be to shave a face with a healthy grow and expose a young fresh face in hiding, even if it is virtually. Please make my dreams come true ;)

neight says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:23pm

What's here is already funny. I can see how this could be hilarious with a little more work. I very badly wanted to shave his nose off.

Perry says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:33am

Oh yes, very much do what netguy204 is saying. Do a postmortem, I would love to read it. But it would still be most beneficial to you.

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:44am

I could shave this man's eyeballs all night long. o_O

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:31am

I like this. I'm glad there's no blood!

fueelin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:52am

I enjoyed this a lot more with debug mode on! Funny game, liked the animations.

TravisChen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:12am

ROFL'd.

Harsay says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Shaved like Hitler <hehe>

Qaterknan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:22pm

good idea and funny gameplay :D It is a shame there is no actual goal

m4cgregor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Great idea !.

Real funny.

Maybe you could use the texture of a full grown beard... to fade out... and smaller opacity "pixels".

nimblegorilla says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Nice job. I like the simplicity.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Absolutely hysterical! I won't admit how long I played around with it :P

ahm99 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:11am

Haha. Doesn't really have a win screen, oh well. Good job :)

vilya says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:04am

I guess it's not really a game, but I liked it a lot anyway. Something about it just makes me chuckle. Nice one!

MinionStudios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:05am

What the... no endgame? Did he make it to work? Did I get ten point for a fu manchu? DANG... Fun game tho!

SuperDisk says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:06am

Ho ho, I guess it's something. Neat for a few seconds.

May 2, 2013 @ 12:29am

Interesting concept but more of a toy than a game. Also, when I shave there's a lot more blood involved... I wonder if I'm doing it wrong...

May 2, 2013 @ 1:27am

Haha, had a good laugh. <3

atraxgames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:36pm

:D

_Rilem says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Wow! O: lol
It's definitely minimalism. It's a shame the nose wouldn't let loose though. :D

Sylvain.p says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:41pm

The character haven't nose in my version.

cfloydtweets says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:14pm

This idea was hilarious. I love it!

goerp says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:07am

I don't know where that screenshot with the smiley face comes from must be from the post compo, because I didn't see it.

Anyway: a very funny game with the right looks (eventually).

PS: love your choice of avatar!

Milktoast says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:53pm

@zanzindorf "Un Chien Andalou" OMG =(

@Perry @Ludipe @netguy204 Your feedback really helped me to stick with this thing until it was done (including a post-mortem). Thank you!

@Richard Matey You can now shave his beard. But I don't know if this is a dream or nightmare.

@thatwhichis :o

@ahm99 @vilya @MinionStudios Actual gameplay (what little there is) and win screen (technically) now available in post-jam version.


@goerp He starts with a smile, but looses it if you hit his nose or eyes too hard. Your goal is to keep him smiling through the whole ordeal. =)

Thank you, everyone! This has been a blast!

Fnkee says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Seriously; add some music and some sounds to this, as well as a couple of features for different kind of beard and brows, and you got yourself a NEAT app! It's great fun playing around with!

bobiniki says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Ha ha hA ha!

May 10, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Most fun I ever had shaving without shaving myself... :O

PsenFilip says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:57pm

I dig the concept as a toy.
I LOL'ed quite a few times.

xploitgames says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Enjoyed shaping the perfect tauche! Would love a challenge mode. Shave this style! Go! (P.S. Add more shaving trauma)

kidevil says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 1:04am

Ha! Neat idea! I think I spent more time shaving his eyeballs than his beard ;)

Brassawiking says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Mustache physics, the newest addition to cry-engine ^^

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]