April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Negia Kfula

by elbowroom - Jam Entry

Instructions:
Click near the "gray ball" to hit it (and make it move in the opposite direction). To hit the ball softly, click near the gray ball. To hit is harder, click a little further away.
To score points, you must hit the "white ball" first (at least once) and then hit the "black ball" (at least once). In each turn, you are not allowed to hit the white ball after you hit the black ball. A turn ends once all the balls stop or once you hit the "gray ball" again. You lose chances when you do not hit both balls in the correct order while meeting the constraint noted above. You gain chances and points if you hit both balls in the correct order.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#197Theme(Jam)3.48
#435Innovation(Jam)2.39
#488Mood(Jam)2.13
#525Graphics(Jam)2.06
#526Fun(Jam)2.03
#534Overall(Jam)2.22

Comments

evilDan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:28am

The physics feel good. I'd love to have a bit more to do but the big frustration is having to wait while the balls slowly roll to a halt.

elbowroom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Thanks for the constructive advice. You don't have to wait - you can take another shot while the balls are still in motion.

Aron says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:44pm

That game is quite hard, as it is hard to guess where exactly the grey ball will go after you click. A fastforward option would be nice as the balls tend to roll veeery long and slow.

Qaterknan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:57pm

The physics are good, but it is not really amusing to play this. I think it is because you don't get any response for success but the increase in the score and chances and there is no audio. It could be better after that, because the goal of the game is quite challenging.

Ty Taylor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Simple, but difficult. I like that about this game, it really fits the theme in that way. Though I'm not a fan of having to wait for a long time for the balls to stop rolling before I get a point.

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:10pm

No real liveliness to the game, but the concept works. Add some flair and it could get quite the attention.

Jhelle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:15pm

A enjoyable concept, but the controls could use some tweaking.
Good job

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:17pm

The complexity that rises from a simple mechanic is nice, but the game could give some more feedback to keep the player engaged.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Quite minimalistic ;-) Is the name based on something? I know the game as billiard. As others said, the waiting should be improved and instant feedback (blinking balls, immediate increase of the score) would be nice.

elbowroom says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:52pm

@Dining Philosopher, the name is indeed meaningful. Negia is a common word in the Hebrew bible. The meaning of the word Negia is "touch" or to come in contact with. The other word is taken from Hebrew and it means multiplied or more specifically "two". The goal in the game is to make the gray circle touch two other circles.

GetFun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:19pm

1 point! =D

Foxtacy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:57am

Hey

About your comment on my entry:
I've got this problem here too, i think i know how to fix it, i will do so on the next versions :)

Btw! cool entry! :D i see that you posted it on newgrounds! i have an account there too :D

i've recently remixed a track from Raptor (that old game from Apogee :D)

http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/532644

You can add me as a friend there if you want ^^

Foxtacy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:58am

Now, about your entry. I find it kinda fun! there's so little games like this nowdays ^^

omaha says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:13pm

I couldn't score. After re-reading the instructions I realized that's because I needed to wait for the balls to come to rest. Some minimal sounds (on contact) would have made this a lot more engaging.

messiano says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Controls would be easier if you provided some visual information on speed and angle, it felt hard to know what would happen. when I clicked it. Simple mechanics fits the theme well. It could benefit from some basic audio when the balls collide.

Switchbreak says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Pretty fun. Would be nice if the balls rolled to a stop more quickly, and it could use some sound.

mramaizng says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Neat idea. The ball motion is very smooth. It would have been nice to have a hot circle around the grey ball showing where you can click, but other than that I enjoyed this. Nice job!

May 5, 2013 @ 7:08am

simple, perfectly in the theme

avidgamerNino says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Solid Entry, definitely them based. Simple and fun. Great job.

hgouveia says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:09am

entertaining game :D, but is like billar right?

frogmaster says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:11am

Wow, that's fun! And minimal. I'll save it to my phone :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]