April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Where is Pixel

by ananasblau - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Where is Pixel? is a minimalistic search game. Travel the world and find your friend Pixel who_s gone missing in all sorts of environments.

The game features only three levels but new ones are easy to add. If you have suggestions for new levels, write me info@ananasblau.com

Various open source libraries have been used: middleclass, Simplex Noise, Quickie, Luabit and Enrique Garcia Cotas tween. GreaseMonkey_s autotracker-bottomup was used to make the game_s music.

Edit: Uploaded a small bugfix that didn't load all those music files into memory. It's now playable on Windows :)

Known errors: Older graphic cards won't game. sorry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#335Humor2.59
#512Audio2.77
#937Theme3.12
#1095Graphics2.30
#1131Mood2.19
#1154Fun2.24
#1181Innovation2.15
#1255Overall2.33

Comments

AlgidPlasma says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:54am

I couldn't play the game. When I click on the application it stops responding. But props on using Love2d

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:55am

When I attempt to play the game, it locks up at launch. I've tried with both 32bit and 64bit binaries, in admin mode and various compatibility modes. Are we missing some libraries?

baldwinthree says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:58am

Same as the above, couldn't get it to run. Looks neat though!

avidgamerNino says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:02am

At first I thought the game was not responding then it out of no where it started. It pretty much is the same as clicking links on a webpage. Music was nice.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:02am

Running the game is a bit difficult, providing some instructions about downloading the Love2D binaries is a must. Packaging the game with the libraries for Windows shouldn't be a problem, please add that so more people can play your game without problems. Other than that, I find the 2nd stage too easy to complete, the pixel stands out no matter where it is.

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:05am

The game crashes as soon as I run it. No diagnostic information given, sorry!

ananasblau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:16am

Thanks to everyone who went through the trouble of installing love2d. For everyone else (with windows), it's most likely you picked the 64bit version when you should have tried the 32bit version and vice versa. Love2D isn't perfect with this and I don't have any windows system at hand to test it :(

Andrei Barsan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:45am

Pretty straightforward gameplay, I just wish there were more levels. :(

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Not bad. Opera House on hard was very difficult I found. A few graphical hitches (I'm playing on Windows) but overall pretty good. I liked the soundtrack.

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:03pm

I found the first level most difficult - perhaps you should alpha blend the blizzard layer?

DdlyHeadshot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Runs right up to the point where I click the difficulty level, then crashes claiming it can't create the canvas.

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Somethings I would add to it would probably be a "hazard pixel" and require to multiple pixels on a single level. The music was quite fitting to the theme, loved it!

robertcalvert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:50pm

I really like the concept of this. I agree an imposter pixel would top this off. Great!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Hard mode is hard. Nice job!

Arcana says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:10am

I started with hard of course. The snow level was definitely the hardest. Too bad there were only three levels. The "hoorray" was a really cool sound effect.

I would eventually be thrilled to see the gameplay get deeper as you play more levels. I think you could probably tell an interesting story using just the pictures and the bit of text that you have at the beginning of each level.

ananasblau says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:28am

@Arcana yes, a story i definitely what I have in mind and south pole -> artic sea -> Sydney is clearly a start, isn't it?

myachin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:14am

Older graphic card - its about me ((

entrusC says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:19am

Took me some time to realize that the three pixel in the main screen are in fact this "Pixel" guy.
While the idea is quite nice I personally think the levels are a bit too easy ;)

timtimtimtim says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:27am

fun where's waldo game. i was just getting ready for a challenge when it ended :(

Royal Railway says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:16am

Needs more levels!

Loren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:05pm

really fun experience! I loved the blizzard stage, what a cool effect, nice job!

BumpkinRich says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Fun while it lasted. Could see real potential for making more of this.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Ha, nice work making a set of difficulties!

PTSnoop says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Hooray!

Lots of potential here, I'd love to see a more fleshed-out post-LD edition.

Lafolie says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:18am

Wish I'd picked hard mode first time round, neat little entry.

farmergnome says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:27am

The concept of this is fantastic, I would love to see a post comp version, good job.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]