April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mini Car Racing

by rockford - 48 Hour Compo Entry

(Note: better to use Chrome. It's slower on Firefox.)

You participate in a big race!

Try to cover as much distance while avoiding obstacles: other cars and oil stains.

While oil stains can just reduce your road grip, collide with other car will make you crash...

Instructions:
Click on the menu to start. Use arrow keys during the game.

LEFT/RIGHT -> Move your car
UP/DOWN -> Accelerate or brake

About the game development:
Minimalistic gameplay, art, sounds and code (440 lines).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#496Fun3.05
#580Humor2.19
#690Overall3.05
#752Theme3.34
#778Audio2.32
#838Mood2.60
#890Graphics2.61
#1264Innovation1.97

Comments

Biped says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Lots of fun. Good job.

papa_troll says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:06am

Enjoyed playing it. Took me back to typing in games from magazine listings... :-)

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:09am

This is nice! It did freeze at one point when I was just in the middle of the track and not really doing anything weird. Also perhaps since it's a keyboard-controlled game it would have been handy to be able to start the game by pressing a key instead of having to click with the mouse. Just a suggestion!

caasi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:31am

game freezed when I hold up XD

Joritan Cety says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:46am

I like this game! It's simple but fun :)

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:47am

Not bad. Not enough speed control though xo

rockford says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:48am

I fixed what can make the game freeze (however never got a freeze from my side). Thanks for the feedback!

Muu? says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:15am

Feels like 80's car games. Good entry.

UP still freezes. (Firefox 20 on Win Vista Ultimate)

rujo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:15am

simple but funny racing game!

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:15am

Funny minimalist game :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:17am

Solid game!

rockford says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Freeze bug fixed! I had to remove the engine sound for that, it's buggy on Firefox, perhaps due to the loop or the volume change when acceleration. The game is better under Chrome.

Jackamikaz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Simple fun :)

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Nice little game. It's a good thing that it had the audio warning when other cars were on the track.

naufr4g0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Simple but really fun game! It reminds me very old classics driving games! :)

Canyon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:34am

Is there any penalty to driving at the slowest speed, or is there any advantage to driving as fast as possible. It'd be great if you measured the time taken to reach a distance. Then there seems to be an incentive to not just dial back the speed.

JonRB says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Not much to it but an addicting little game. I seem to recall having a similar game on my phone AAAAGES ago. The sounds became a little annoying later on when it's just beeping at you all the time but otherwise I don't have any complaints.

May 5, 2013 @ 6:08am

Would develop and polish further. Nice prototype. Add more elements and perhaps speed things up a little to challenge people quicker.

wilbefast says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:14am

Simple, but works very well :)

GameNacho says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Definitely a fun game, good job!

dertom says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Haha, great! Reminds be of one of the first games a played on a friends zx1000 (1k memory *lol*) back in the 80th. Nice game, that perfectly fit the theme! good job!

Brassawiking says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Reminds me of the good ol' C64 days.

csanyk says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 11:34am

Solid little game, reminds me a lot of the racing games of the Atari VCS era.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]