April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

RUN: The Sprinkler Man Story

by Kaphonaits - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Background Story: "IN A WORLD WHERE TAPE MANUFACTURERS HAVE DOMINATED THE UNIVERSE, ONE MAN, A SPECIAL MAN, A HALF MAN HALF SPRINKLER, LUKE SKYWALKER, IS ON THE RUN. HE MUST FLEE FOR HIS LIFE FROM THE HORRIBLE CTHULHU TAPE MONSTER THING THAT WANTS TO ROCK HIS SHIT. HOWEVER, WHILE RUNNING HE MUST ENTERTAIN THE FLYING INVISIBLE PAPARAZZI BY MASHING HIS KEYBOARD AND DODGING SHIT THATS FLYING THROUGH THE AIR FOR NO APPARENT REASON. HE MUST DO THIS TO ACQUIRE POINTS THAT HAVE NO ACTUAL POINT OTHER THAN EGOTISTICAL VALUE."

Anyway, I wrote this in about 30/48 hours of the time given. I used C++ with some random nightly build of SFML2. The rest of my time was occupied by sleeping and playing Diablo III. I'm a bit late to the party with the whole "dayblow tree" thing, but anyway.

So the game I developed features really nasty sounding Atari-like audio, some of the most quirky and scary visuals I've ever drawn, as well as some of the nastier code I've written. But hey, I still hope you enjoy.

Oh, the game involves mashing your keyboard a lot. Don't break your keyboard, okay? <3


Notes: You're probably going to need MSVC2012 Redist because Microsoft is silly and I use dumb compilers. You can grab that here: ( http://www.microsoft.com/visualstudio/11/en-us/downloads/vc-redist#vc-redist )

Also If I forgot any DLLs tell me. Thanks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2059Coolness0%

Comments

Mega1mpact says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:06pm

You forgot to include the openal dll

Kaphonaits says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Fixed.

Gas says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:32am

Hey cool game. ill vote on it when the voting starts. very nice all around. vote on mine too? Thanks.

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:21am

haha pretty fun!

lapogo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Very cool! Got some good game feel.

messiano says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:59am

You owe me a new keyboard! I didn't understand it very well, pressing spacebar increased my points but I still couldn't land on the second building?

Kaphonaits says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:04am

The game itself doesn't explain it very well, which is why I crammed a lot into the Help block. When you're mashing your keyboard, you must accumulate 200 points before landing.

8BitPimp says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:49pm

"Notes: You're probably going to need MSVC2012 Redist because Microsoft is silly and I use dumb compilers."

I agree it is annoying, but you know there is an option in the solution properties to use a non DLL version of the run time library. Using that will avoid anyone having to download the Redist.

DdlyHeadshot says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Dead link on the DLL download: "We are sorry, the page you requested cannot be found.
The URL may be misspelled or the page you're looking for is no longer available."

Therefore unplayable. Shame - it looked quite good, too...

Kaphonaits says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 5:01am

this link should work: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30679

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]