April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

I Want To Go To Space Today!

by exoticorn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What's more minimal than cubes? Also, no framework or library other than libsdl and opengl was used.

You need a browser supporting WebGL to play the game. (Firefox and Chrome should work, Safari has it disabled by default, according to Wikipedia.)
It is even playable in Firefox on Android now.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#257Fun3.34
#303Overall3.43
#313Theme3.79
#365Innovation3.37
#607Graphics2.96
#679Humor2.06
#889Mood2.55
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:33am

wow cool concept! i like how even the HUD is cube based. pretty hard but fun!

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:10am

Fun game! The aiming controls fooled me for a bit (I didn't notice the jetpack mechanics lol) I like the way it measures your current altitude.

Stiju says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:27am

Really neat game, both fun and hard to play.

gizmo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:28am

up, please! :D

Jaus_LXXIV says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:41am

Very fun, though I only got to the yellow cubes once. Pretty impressive for using exclusively cubes (even the UI!). Occasionally annoying due to having nowhere to jump to.

bummzack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:11pm

This is really cool and fits the theme very well. Good job.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Woaah Great job, nice game :)

yetanother says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:41pm

I like the concept, fun game.

Spanfile says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Some sounds would be nice. The control scheme is kinda meh, otherwise a great game :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Haha, oddly charming. Not super easy, but cool idea. I like your graphics — I think your palette is what's working for me. It would be a good idea to tell ppl that they need Chrome (or whatever). Didn't work for me in Safari. Yay!

mushbuh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:48pm

For such a simple game this is awesome! It would have been cool to do this in 3d as well, (rotating camera)

Brassawiking says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Well executed. Some nice sound effects are the only thing missing to make it feel more alive. Great use of boxes for the entire game!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Cute! Frustrating.

Per says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Nice game mechanics!

juaxix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:19am

Do you realize how addictive it is this videogame? XD
The only thing I would like to change is the "jet" direction, when you are in the air and propel the cube upward just invert the axis :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:33am

Excellent gameplay !

Husky says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:07am

Impressive and innovation!
This is really fun!
The way to jump and jetpack is suit for this game!
Really good job!:p

Tanius says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Nice game and concept! *-*

Taro Omiya says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Definitely a solid idea. Very fleshed out. It could use tighter controls, though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]