April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Moiety

by aDFP - Jam Entry

Moiety is an attempt to create a atmospheric survival horror game with minimal assets, and purely in black and white.

I used Unity, Photoshop, 3DS Max and Audacity. It's not a long game, but it does have win/lose states. I hope you enjoy my game.

I've changed this to a Jam entry, as I foolishly used an add-on which I obviously can't distribute.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#43Graphics(Jam)4.22
#55Theme(Jam)3.98
#59Mood(Jam)3.72
#248Overall(Jam)3.20
#309Audio(Jam)2.78
#349Innovation(Jam)2.73
#399Humor(Jam)1.59
#470Fun(Jam)2.29

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:26am

I love the way it looks. I didn't feel think there was all that much survival or horror though. I found the win condition by luck.

aDFP says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:28am

Thanks for playing. I tried to make it so the enemies would herd you toward the end instead of having an obvious sign, but I don't know how successful I was.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:38am

Nice work on the graphics! I like how half the objects merge with the background, and the other half with the rocks.

Don't forget to upload the source, so it actually counts to the competition :P

Andrei Barsan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Really lovely feeling! #1 atmosphere so far. Fits the theme perfectly. The only thing maybe missing is some chill background music.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Very atmospheric. You could probably extend this to a longer experience...there was one point I thought one of the rocks was going to turn into an enemy, which would have been cool.

The guidance towards the end is subtle, but I think it's there.

Love the graphical look. The grayscale reflections in the water was a really nice touch.

NiallM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:10pm

This is gorgeous. I feel you could have maybe done a bit more with the audio though; what's there is really well done, but unless you're close to the *things*, the game's basically silent.

JAH2488 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Very fun feel and nice graphics. Kinda spooky and etherial. Wish I had a little more direction, but great job.

Jesse111 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:53pm

I won!

FlashRocks says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:53pm

I don't really understand what you're supposed to do, but it had a great "feel" to it--minimalist all the way! :)

VictorGrunn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Very excellent graphics. I admit, I didn't find the win condition - in fact I thought the goal was to collect those cloudy shadow-things at first. It has a nice mood to it, definitely one of those titles that gives you just enough 'game' to promote curiosity.

anjack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Very well done visuals! The baddies are pretty creepy!

alcazar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:19am

I played the game without read the description, and I got immerged from the beginning.
These shadows are frightening, cool effects by the way. I didn't found how to win.
The white particles cannot be seen if there is no rock behind, it introduces an interesting
mechanic (like hidden in white 'shadows') but I didn't figured how they can be used for.
Cool experience anyway !

alvivar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:54am

<3 the art. really inspiring.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Lovely graphics! :)

nddrylliog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:00am

Great mood, didn't manage to find the survival/horror elements though - it reminded me a bit of Proteus, ie. a contemplative game. Loved the graphic style. Nicely done!

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:49am

The soundtrack wasn't very fitting. The atmospheric graphics were awesome though.

namuol says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Any way to build a Linux version? This looks great but I can't play it. :[

May 1, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Those are petty dang scary ghost-things. Good job on atmosphere and use of (no) colour. :)

aDFP says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Thanks everyone for playing and rating. If there's enough interest, I'd love to develop Moiety further. Linux and OSX builds are now up, so thanks to namuol for the hint.

Good luck to all of you in the competition!

PPLo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Very mysterious. Obviously the mood is one of the strong part of the game. I didn't really feel like in a survival horror because the game is pretty soft and quiet. Except for the feeling of loneliness. Made me more feel like a conceptual puzzle atmosphere. Very good work!

SaintHeiser says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:32am

Design is looking awesome!
But I can't understand gameplay. Just survive?

bbrown2 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Very nice, it's a bit hard to follow the white entities with the predominantly white background, but maybe that's an intentional part of the challenge.

Tanius says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Sort of creepy and minimal, it is a strange experience. But i really like it, congrats.

lotusgame says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Beautiful and myterious :)

ataxkt says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Sorry, I had no idea what to do, and I didn't really get that the evil guys were evil. Everything looked white peaceful in white, with the sound off you simply don't know its meant to be scary! Looks very nice though.

Broxxar says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Ohohoho shivers down my spine once or twice. Would be even better if the spectres were a little bit more menacing/quicker.

MinionStudios says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Great work! I love all of the elements and the sense of mystery and weirdness is excellent!

Detocroix says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Nice effect with the silhuettes of the shadow people :)

May 8, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Liked the look and the sound, not so much the gameplay... still, the mood is impressive!

joe40001 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Really clever graphics and nice work on theme.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]