April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Whatever Game

by wademcgillis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Thank you for showing interest in the game despite the AMAZING primary screenshot.

Controls are explained in game.

PRESS M TO MUTE/UNMUTE.

Sorry for the silly voice, I had planned on adding key remapping like my past LD entries, but I didn't have enough time.

Enjoy :/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#88Humor3.48
#185Innovation3.63
#201Overall3.57
#207Theme3.93
#271Audio3.17
#281Fun3.30
#291Mood3.21
#477Graphics3.13

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:08am

The Narration is brilliant, awesome work :D

Props to name-dropping Mondrian.

Zed says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:25am

I feel like I'm playing art. Apparently because I AM, but in a good way. I noticed a lot of other games referencing whoever this art guy is, but yours seems most 'inventive'.

The gravity mechanic is awesome. Don't take this the wrong way, but I always expect something hilarious yet probably-not-that-clever from you (I'd like to think we're kindred spirits, in that regard). This, on the other hand, is genuinely clever.

Tozy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:38am

The graphics where not minimalistic and a little off with the theme but at the same time beautiful.

Moromann says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Great game! You really made me laugh in the beginning at the instructions :D

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:02pm

I was not expecting that narration. At all.
Top class!

d_durham says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Two nice game mechanics in one. Was a fun way to explore the Mondrian style world.

Tanius says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:34am

Great concept, i love rotating gravity!

kyyninen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Good one! Kinda wished that you could change direction of gravity when falling, but then again building a mental map of the level bit by bit and then trying to navigate it perfectly is what makes this work.

lotusgame says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Thank you for the funny tutorial ! Good job !

Ragzouken says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Great take on the theme. It's nice to interact with the art in this way. Don't worry, the funny voices are great!

May 3, 2013 @ 6:50am

I like the mechanic a lot. Polish suggestions:

- I don't really like the other blocks of color when the exit is always blue? Do they server a purpose?
- Be nice if the gravity had acceleration vs constant speed

I think you should polish the hell out of this and release a bunch of levels. Could be fun. Lots of things you can do with it.

WiseGAMER says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:11pm

One of the best games I have played. Keep up the good work.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:27pm

The tutorial makes the game.

dertom says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Very good game, nice turn/gravity mechanic, good to have a scripted narrative tutorial (though the gravity-button-screams are so funky annoying :D).

Neonlare says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Very fun, audio was really loud at parts but didn't detract from the humour of it all, presentation schemes were very nice too, did enjoy this a lot :)

hypp says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Very fun, and challenging

SmilingCat says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Very nice! Good game mechanics, and excellent use of the theme.

multikorv says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Nice tutorial! The idea is great and very nicely executed.

Ryusui says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:59pm

One of the best games I've played in this Ludum Dare - certainly one of the most polished and complete.

I have one issue, and only one - the final stage is a freaking MAZE. XD Finding the exit takes a lot of trial and error - it'd be useful if there was some indication which way to go for the exit.

HelkeGames says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Nice game,very minimalist! Well done :)

Jorjon says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Good job on the narration!

KunoNoOni says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Ha ha! Loved the tutorial. good use of theme.

Prelucid says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Great

finefin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:53pm

haha good work on the tutorial - and the game is also very well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]