April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Blanket the Earth

by EricTheCoolDude - Jam Entry

Blanket the Earth is a game about planting trees and making babies.

The world is an empty canvas! You'll need to make it beautiful by planting trees, grass, flowers and such. Watch out for the mole monsters that live underground, they hate trees and will break yours down if you leave them unattended. Luckily, they're afraid of humans (even babies!) and that's where the guy comes in. Make the world beautiful enough and he'll be more than happy to make babies with you to protect your trees.


Old description:

Use your mouse to plant trees around the square, but watch out!
The monsters will try to take them down once you plant them.
Your task is to protect the trees and build a house and make a family.
Maybe if your family is big enough you will be able to take out all the monsters and you can continue to grow your garden in peace.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#71Graphics(Jam)4.04
#132Overall(Jam)3.50
#147Audio(Jam)3.35
#153Humor(Jam)2.69
#185Innovation(Jam)3.25
#196Mood(Jam)3.18
#199Fun(Jam)3.08
#465Theme(Jam)2.63
#1535Coolness40%

Comments

s0ulcrusher says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:10am

Wow that's a really cute game, nice tune too.

mollymus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:10am

The controls of the axe seemed quite buggy:( Often found myself not being able to cut down trees:<

May 2, 2013 @ 4:02pm

@mollymus Yeah, you have to click the top of the trees in the LD version, there was an issue with the colliders for the trunks. I've been working on a post-LD version that should be out soon which fixes that and numerous other issues.

kddekadenz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Since this is made in Unity, could you please provide an executable for Linux? The Web player does not support Linux.

TheCze says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Gardening is way too much fun...

Broxxar says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Run around planting trees, grass, and flowers to get your boyfriend frisky enough to make 10 babies with you to kill all the monsters... This game has some quirks with gameplay and is a bit of a grind to beat but damn it's 5/5 on humour for me.

That being said, this is a good basis for a sort of harvest moon/viva pinata style of game and is very promising in that respect. I'm a fan. Great work.

TomboFry says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Great game! I managed to get a score of ~20000, but took 1184 seconds. What's your personal score, so I know what to compare to?

imagnity says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:25pm

I so like the story. Good humor. :)

PPLo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:29pm

It looks nice, but I can't play browser Unity games for an unknow reason (but the Unity "launchables" works great).
Next time, maybe you can add an executable ? It could help few people (like me) :)

_Rilem says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Look loveley and the gameplay is very fun. I found that clicking on the green of the trees always cuts them down, but not the trunk. It's a little lacking audio wise, it could have used some sound effects on the various actions you perform. I'm in love with the 3d models and their textures though.

Awesome entry! :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:36pm

It's cute !

mrexcessive says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Enjoyed playing this. Monsters make me laugh, something very 70s kids tv show about them. As ever 3d world where you can build stuff is appealing. Good job.

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Love it! So freakin fun and hilarious!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]