April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Maximalism

by Suyo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Also known as "Satanic Paddle Ball" -Genowhirl910

Minimalism means to expose the essence of something by removing everything that is unneccessary. So... what if we did that the other way around?

"Maximalism" starts with the core of the game. A ball, blocking balls from reaching a ball, nothing else. But as you progress, the game adds useless things to that essence to throw you off. Ropes, Sounds, Lightnings... how long can you focus on the challenge?

SIX exciting levels! ONLINE HIGHSCORES in Level 6! Plus an enragingly awesome SECRET LEVEL! Also a function which allows you to unlock all levels if you aren't good enough to get past one.

Controls:
Click / Space - retry after death
Escape - suicide / return to menu after death
Space in Main Menu - unlock all levels
R in Main Menu - reset unlocks and records

Special thanks to the guys at #runouw for testing. Some of them got shoutouts in the secret level.

CUSTOMER TESTIMONIES!
"My siblings are very concerned as to why I'm shouting at a pentagram on my computer"
"This game is quite literally, hard as balls"
"Whoa disco floor"
"okay so now i'm the philosopher's stone defending the human transmutation circle"
"I'm gonna go. And cry."
"oh my god, i love you for level 7"
"WHAT ARE YOU, SADOMASOCHISTIC?"
"Why is this game fun? It shouldn't be fun"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#188Theme3.96
#247Fun3.36
#372Humor2.53
#390Innovation3.34
#447Overall3.27
#539Mood2.90
#569Graphics3.00
#641Audio2.55

Comments

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Suyo I very honestly hate you and love you

Suyo says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:55pm

I hate and love myself too
It's pretty awkward at home

Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Great game. The first level totally reminds me how much I suck at micro in Starcraft2. Doubles as great micro training!

Killswitch says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:25am

Nice job on coming up with a block-defend mechanism. Also, did you get the level idea from Super Hexagon?

techmonkey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:23am

I felt like the difficulty curve could have been better, but still enjoyable.

Ads are a little off though

robertcalvert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Very difficult but most enjoyable.

minism says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Difficult but fun

shohs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Pretty challenging, but definitely a fun game. I enjoyed the evolution into maximalism. I agree with a previous comment on the difficulty curve: it took me a lot longer to beat level 2 than level 3.

Arcana says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:42am

First level was a bit boring, but the second level onward was amazing. Very hard though, especially since the first level and the second level are so different from each other. I liked the psycho effects in the upper levels, though I confess that I cheated to unlock (but I'm glad that you put that in!)

PPLo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:46pm

My personal best : 112 sec. I did not saw the level 3 :(
Very simple and challenging game. Nice work!

Jeremias says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Very nice take on the theme. The main menu gets a bit annoying because it can instantly trigger the entering of a level just after you changed from a previous game to the main menu.

Good idea to make all levels unlockable via cheat :)

TheSarcastic says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Nice ;D

Corofides says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Very, very nice. Creative use of the theme. Extremely fun. Just an extremely good game.

May 1, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Really satisfying to hit those blocks away.

Husky says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:31am

Simple yet challenging!
Good game.:P

GaTechGrad says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:36am

The secret level was very interesting.

JustinMullin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:27am

I didn't read the description first, or really look at the screens, so I was very pleasantly surprised when the game started to pick up in complexity. Very fun, and really impressive!

Beerman says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Aaargh! What the hell is wrong with you, dude? That is just *evil*. I love it!

matheod says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Sorry man, I ragequit.
I'm a noob.
I'm just a waste.
I'm useless in this world.
I can't be a game :-(

:D

Roupette says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Come on blocks ! My defense is perfect ! My defense is... oh shit !

davidpeter says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 2:12pm

WHAT ARE YOU, SADOMASOCHISTIC?

Purplescape says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:26pm

It got difficult but it was fun. Nice graphic effects.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]