April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Text Adventure

by Selliato - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Final Release for the Ludum Dare 26.
A small text-only adventure game.
It's more a test for practicing than a real game.

Update 04/29 : Some Typos fixes. Enjoy a correct English.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#199Humor2.93
#446Theme3.64
#548Mood2.89
#742Graphics2.79
#800Overall2.94
#874Fun2.64
#1120Innovation2.24

Comments

Branch says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:58pm

MS-DOS PORT PLEASE? I really would like to play this on my ms-dos 6.40.

Selliato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:03am

Sorry, MS-DOS is a new technology that I have not yet mastered. Maybe in the future, when more people using it. Sorry for you, being a pioneer is never easy.

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:56am

A lot of grammar errors, something that isn't really excusable on a text game... I was a bit annoyed that I couldn't backspace my way on the text, which piled up all over the place because of my typing retardation.
A very good idea and concept which became annoying fast (unfortunately).

64Mega says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:57am

Not bad. I a little clunky, and the lack of being able to use Backspace was an annoyance.

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:03am

Wish this had backspace input working, my dyslexia/crap spelling made it hard not to fatfinger commands. I picked everything up and LOOK'ed every room, am I missing something?

Selliato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:27am

@Morgawr :
Sorry, I'm French and my English grammar is catastrophic. I'll try to fix it this week.

@others :
For the backspace, I am aware of the problem but I haven't managed to find a solution before the deadline. Alternatively you can use "delete".

FenrisWolf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:56pm

I liked the inventory and items side bars. I wish there were common text adventure features (typing N instead of GO NORTH) and also the ability to backspace. The game would be immensely improved if the whole game wasn't in caps lock. Good idea though.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:01pm

I tried to take the heart potato, but then I got booted all the way back to the start for some reason - nuts!

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Loved Nabilla reference :D

Spanfile says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Really needs more things to do.

berkano says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Nice job, it took me back to a simpler time and place. Would be nice to type things such as "W" instead of "GO WEST". Contained appropriate levels of potato.

phi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:14pm

I like the colors very much! Very relaxing for old school programmers... ;)

ddionisio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Nice game! I enjoy text adventures from time to time. The interaction is a little unconventional. Things like USE DOOR should work, LOOK should also always list where you can go, this was missing in some locations. I tried 'eat potato', didn't work :(

Colapsydo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:19am

The layout and the visual aspect are great.
I didn't find a main goal in my quest, and I tried a lot of actions (I wasn't able to cook a potato with the mower).

Selliato says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:30am

@Colapsydo :
Cooking a potato with the mower ?
Good job if you perform this exploit.

( in french mower = tondeuse )

And sorry i didn't had time to add some goals so ... you can consider this game like a comtemplatif game in text mode :P

Yacodo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Console game, didn't see one since a looong time ! How can we do more minimalist than that ? Improvement on text input (history, delete and maybe auto-completion) and a panel go different available direction would be great

nSun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:08am

Same surprise as GertJohnny : Use heart-potato in the kitchen : something happens too fast for reading : back to the beginning.
This game seems minimalist, but I know it mean lot of work : write and describe everything.. Finaly maybe very time consuming project ?
Nice compo, well executed :)
YOU WELL COME WITH YOU GRAMMAR GUY ! X) (Why we dont use esperanto on next LD ?)

Selliato says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:31am

Strange for the heart-potato ... I am unable to reproduce the bug.

Thank's for your feedback.

Jod says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Cool interface. Didn't quite manage to go up the stairs, though.

michail says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Whenever I pressed 'tab' in Firefox it resets for some reason.
(Yeah, I couldn't resist using tab for autocompletion :p). Anyway, the concept is fine, but it could be more user friendly.

CrazyGage says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:14am

interesting game. I am a big fan of text adventure. I had trouble doing much though as text parser needed more synonyms.

N427 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Pretty fun and original! What can I do with the heart-potato?

mrexcessive says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Seems competent text adventure... picked up some things including heart-potato, nothing seemed to stick out as a puzzle... maybe I didn't look enough. I would give the detailed "look" description for rooms on entry, only use simple description on reentry... seemed had to type look in every room...

ahm99 says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:17am

Pretty small world :) I actually had a lot of fun typing certain things.
Fun things to try:
USE INVISIBLE_OBJECT or USE CHUCK_NORRIS
type: IF YOU'RE HAPPY AND YOU KNOW IT UNKNOWN COMMAND
I also used google translate on the french text on the magazine :)

Pretty cool game, good job :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]