April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Path Breaker

by kyru - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Simple game where you draw lines to redirect moving entities back at the walls they came from. You start out with 20 points and when you run out you lose. You gain a point for every entity returned home, you lose a point for every entity that makes it to another wall. Starts out simple, but can get hectic real quick. See how long you can survive.

Plays best using an actual mouse or touchscreen.

Uses a runnable jar file.

Built using LibGDX, SFXR, Eclipse, and Paint.NET.

Written and tested on Windows, but since it uses Java it should in theory work on OSX and Linux.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#247Fun3.36
#268Innovation3.49
#446Theme3.64
#491Overall3.23
#806Audio2.26
#830Graphics2.68
#862Mood2.58
#1008Humor1.56

Comments

Branch says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:53pm

doesnt work on my os. could you port it to ms-dos 6.40? :(

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:52pm

cool game, but i keep gettin a bug when im trying to start again!

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Nice :) The entities sometimes fire directly into a wrong wall which makes a horrible sound :p

rwos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:06pm

That was fun, and surprisingly difficult! When I first started it, Level 2 wouldn't finish, even though there were no cubes to be seen (maybe something to do with the randomized cube placement?). After that it always worked fine, though. I really liked it, it's a fun little game. And well-made, too.

btw, the JAR worked fine on my Linux machine (64-bit Debian)

kyru says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:11pm

@tiffi Thanks for the heads up, kind of a dumb bug, but it should be fixed now.

Ofursnati says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Nice game. Worked like a charm. got to level 4 and game over. It gets really difficult after the first few levels.

ryebread761 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Neat little game!

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:48pm

I really liked your game idea!

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:57pm

That was a lot of fun! A surprisingly simple concept yet it was executed wonderfully. Well done :)

hypp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:56am

This is my kind of game! Very nice work!

WiseGAMER says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Hmmmm , the idea is simple,the game play is good, the sounds is annoying :( , at one time the red entities kept moving from the top of the red line to the left end of green line one after one .

GranaDa says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Cool breakout idea. Would be a great mobile game.

matter123 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:53am

dosent work, win7 x64 java 1.7

PapaGrimbles says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Cool idea. Pretty hard to do well after a few levels. Could see this concept work extremely well if it functioned on limited number of lines or length, rather than high speed (pause and draw kind of thing). Nice work!

multikorv says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Nice idea! Really minimal as well. Sometimes a cube spawned really close to a wall and with full speed I lost. Maybe put some restrictions on how they can spawn.

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:36am

Pretty cool idea! I thought this was original, and interesting, and minimalistic. I did find timing the line drawing a bit hard to master. Often I would draw the line, but let go of my mouse button a hair too late thus letting the block pass through. Maybe tweaking that would enhance the fun factor a bit more. Good stuff.

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:11pm

I don't have Java installed, sorry :(

Lafolie says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Wow, Pong on crack! Found it really challenging, which is awesome. Great work.

@SamPotasz says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:14pm

I really enjoyed this! Thanks. I would love to see a few difficulty changes to make it a little more accessible (more simple tutorial levels, maybe slower blocks overall, etc.) Nice job!

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:05pm

It's a simple working idea that leaves a lot of room for further development and iteration.

Two things annoy me quite a bit though:
-Sometimes a cube spawns very close to an adjacent wall and flies directly to it over and over again.
-Moving the mouse outside the game area while drawing a line doesn't create the line, but rather does nothing.

The first one could be fixed by:
-Setting the spawn direction away from the nearest wall
-Randomizing the spawn direction
-Spawning always in the middle of the wall

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Could have used sound! (unless sound was added.. then, it didn't work on my machine. The comments imply there's sound, so I won't rate audio)

Cool concept!

paulopn says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:17am

Nice game!
Drawing lines is a little annoying sometimes, because the mouse keeps leaving the screen. Also, too many entities right at the beginning of the later stages usually destroyed my score...
Still, it works generally well and really needs some skill. =D

HeyChinaski says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Cool game. It's nice to see an original concept.

onzephyr says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:30am

Great mechanic well implemented. It get rather challenging as the levels go on. Fits the theme well. Only critique would be possible softer tones on the audio, as it was a bit jarring compared to the visuals.

May 15, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Nice game! It was quite addictive, although it was annoying when a cube started really close to a wall. I got to level 6.

RawBits says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 9:14pm

I like the idea. It's simple and action packed.

You should finalize a line when the mouse pointer goes out of the screen so the player can keep up with the action while not being so precise about the moves he makes. (clicking all around the place wildly)

thatwhichis says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:11am

Nice mechanic implemented well! Never could beat level 5... ::looks at level 6 longingly::

jtzp4 says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Good game! But stuck at level 5, it's kind of difficult after!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]