April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Zenboy

by feyleaf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is about completing the boards using zen garden tools: a rake, water, and sand.
I had a lot of fun building this platformer! The hero can drop sand and water to alter the level.
Controls:
Arrow move
[Space] Jump
[C] Attack
[X] Drop Sand, which can be a platform
[Z] Drop Water, which will weigh down the sand

Enjoy the game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1002Audio1.76
#1135Graphics2.24
#1162Innovation2.18
#1311Overall2.12
#1331Fun1.47
#1352Theme1.81
#1800Coolness24%

Comments

johnste says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Very odd game. What was the point of the water? To make the sand go away faster?

feyleaf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Odd is usually my Ludum Dare style. Thanks for commenting, I shall take it as a compliment.
The water is to flush out sand completely.

BumpkinRich says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:08pm

I like the games where you're left thinking.. what.. was... :)

Thanks. Really liked the style.

tiffi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:28pm

nice player sprites, but keep gettin stuck in the sand(water doesnt really help)

Starspell says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:39pm

I like the idea of the game but it's not executed particularly well - there doesn't seem to be much reason to have the water and the sand is only a little bit useful. There are a few collision bugs and the game is kinda boring. However I like the character designs - particularly the images when you get hurt and well done for making your own audio.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:38am

kept getting stuck everywhere and not sure what happens after i kill the boss -- nice effort!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:10pm

That's a good game idea !

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:39pm

It was interesting. But pretty easy to ascend through the ceiling with sand! :P

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]