April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

""

by davidpeter - Jam Entry

My 2nd finished LD, Shirmung's first LD ever! She did the programming, I did the art. It's a really small game, but we're proud of it nevertheless!

There's no restart button because it broke things.

p.s. our entry's title is a blank string.

Controls:
Space for dialogue
Arrow keys for movement (and jumping)
Space to turn off lampposts

NOTE: Our git repository contains updated source code, but the gameplay link won't be updated until after voting ends. If you want the specific source released for LD, it's here: https://github.com/shirmung/ludum-dare-26/tree/v1.0

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#125Graphics(Jam)3.77
#226Mood(Jam)3.10
#340Humor(Jam)1.88
#400Innovation(Jam)2.55
#429Theme(Jam)2.76
#431Overall(Jam)2.73
#437Audio(Jam)1.75
#492Fun(Jam)2.23

Comments

Msquirrel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:49am

Very Nice, liked the graphics, liked the style, good job.

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:00am

Looks nice, but actually I have to admit that I didn't get how to use the space key 'to stun the moths'. I die at the first jump :D Maybe I'm still too tired :D
As you already mentioned no restart key, but I know restarting a game can be really challenging!

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:04am

Aaaa,...ok I finally got my first light off :D That I do call a difficult start :D plus dying at the first contact :D
Gratz for finishing, keep on rocking

davidpeter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:48am

Yeah, it's a bit tricky at first for sure. That's something to fix for later. Thanks!

TheSheep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Definitely a hard game. Fun nonetheless! Congratulations! Great mood. Would be awesome with some music.

johnfn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Graphics are pro. 1 hit death is a little much. Didn't realize you had to jump onto the top of the lamps and mash space to get it to turn off. I died like 10 times before I figured that out. However once I did that I thought it was cool. And stressful, which is good.

I'm going to go ahead and agree with the last commenter. Music would have made this game so much better. Like omg.

tonbery says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:01pm

I dont figure out what to do, this devil butterflies always get me! D= but nice art, and the control is really responsive ;)

psychomonster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Cool artwork a very good mood... very hard gameplay.. there is not a single sound... and I'm dying all the time ... no problem at all... I think I'm to noobish ;)

xdegtyarev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:13am

One hit death is too punishing! Nice visuals.

davidpeter says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:37am

For those having difficulty with the game and want some spoilers on how to beat it: keep mashing the space bar and time your jumps. You want to press space while touching the top of the lampposts, where the light is emanating from.

Prelucid says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:32am

Nice graphics. Couldn't get very far, but interesting mechanic.

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:52am

Nice graphics and mood, and I like the concept of the central mechanic, but the game difficulty doesn't feel very balanced. Getting past the first three moths was really frustrating because permadeath + the lack of a reset to just after the game introduction made the experience of losing quite tedious. I was about to give up before reading the other comments. After that, the game lost all its challenge and I played through in one go without losing. A gradual increase in difficulty to overcome obstacles (with a more forgiving start) would have been very welcome. The ending felt incomplete, and I tried to grab the fallen star and escape the cave for several minutes before I realized that there was nothing else to do.

Good work for a first/second LD.

evilDan says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:37am

Interesting idea - like the mechanic and love the aesthetic.

May 3, 2013 @ 6:14am

Interesting concept, very difficult in the execution. Also a minor aesthetic nitpick but the vector perfect circles of light might have fit the art style better if they were more aliased. Congrats Shirmung on the 1st LD Jam.

May 4, 2013 @ 3:26am

Liked the graphics and of idea, but the death is very frustrating, because don't have a restart button (I know that you already mentioned no restart button). Good Job!

Hatscat says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Nice! A music could add a lot for the mood

FrederickK says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:58pm

good style and graphics, congrats (die at first hit is hard..try to make this easier, please, hehe)

May 16, 2013 @ 12:42am

I made it to lamp 5 i think. 3 got me soooo many times. i noticed the lamp heights varied for every game i played. I like the starry background and the beautiful star. :D

May 16, 2013 @ 4:42am

I played about 8 times and couldn't get past first lamp, even after reading the other comments... I definitely wished that it was easier to restart after death, too.

finefin says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 1:08pm

I died a dozen times on the first screen and the missing restart button makes this quite frustrating.
nonetheless the game looks just lovely and could be a hit with some more hours of work on usability and balancing.
so I give it a 4/5 overall.

WiseGAMER says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Needs a music, other than that it is good !

Thijsku says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Too bad you have to restart the webpage when you're game over. Was kinda hard. I did like the art style though!

Nice job

Dir3kt says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Nice graphics and mood. Too bad there is this single hit death with a kind of empty screen :(

Make A Game says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:39am

I loved the graphics and overall mood, all very warm and fuzzy. Those moths are really evil looking! Aside from some animation problems, this game ran smooth. Hope to see you next LD!

ilo says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Certainly looks a lot less stressful than it plays! :) That's my main criticism really, that the difficulty and presentation don't seem to fit. But the visuals are charming, and it could easily have a great atmosphere with some music and sound effects.

May 20, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Liked the graphics, style and base mechanic ideas. Jump was pretty floaty and the collision box on the player seemed too large making for unforgiving collisions.

BradleySmith says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:42am

Not bad.

OnlySlightly says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:50am

Beautiful game. might be a tad difficult though. Loved the aesthetic and mood

May 21, 2013 @ 12:51am

Strangely difficult, and without much of an introduction. I loved, loved the art though, and I feel the mechanic of turning lights on and off could definitely go places.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]