April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Adventure

by laaph - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game is not finished. :( This has been heavily inspired by the game "Adventure", but I barely got the bat in the game, and the dragon is not in there.

If you are interested in playing the text adventure on level three in the original format (also made during this Ludum Dare, but I wanted more out of my entry, and couldn't figure out how to submit twice), you can play it at:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/59395735/LudumDare26/LudumDare26.html

Don't press space bar, there is a bug. I will resubmit. Arrow keys or WASD move.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#216Humor2.87
#467Innovation3.23
#589Fun2.95
#611Mood2.81
#789Graphics2.73
#816Theme3.27
#835Overall2.91
#1636Coolness35%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:29am

Wooooo! Awesome!!

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:13am

Mixing in the text style game won my heart.

Sebastian says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:39am

This is quite impressive! The camera angles are pretty awkward in some spots (at the beginning I can't see where I am going, for example) and in other places the spinning made me feel quite dizzy @-@. The game is really cool though and I really like how you put the twine section into the game. How does that work?? I would love to see a source or something for that as it is really cool.

laaph says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:14pm

The Twine section is a big cheat. I took screenshots and used them as textures. Then I did

Ray ray = Camera.mainCamera.ScreenPointToRay(Input.mousePosition);
if(Physics.Raycast(ray, out hit, 250f))

to figure out where on the wall the mouse was clicked. Then I just checked to see if they were within the bounds of the blue text (manually figured out the coordinates).

I should bung my game in to github, but Unity and source control never play nice, but with the promo code I got from Ludum Dare I should have the checkbox that says "play nice with source control".

runonthespot says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Seems pretty ambitious for the 48 hour compo- lots of interesting ideas- maybe the extra days for a Jam entry would have seen this to completion. Quite neat!

MinionStudios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Super fun to mess around in! I broke it twice. Love the text adventure built in.

StMatn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Nice game! The balls on level 2 can push you over the walls, so I accidentially broke the game by getting pushed over the outer wall in the first corner, with a ball in. Putting the textaventure in was an awesome idea and I loled right at the start, because of the mario-reference^^ Good job.

Sebastian says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:59am

Ah cool! :D It worked really well.

donan says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Nice game. Camera indeed its weird, but i love the outcome for a 48h game :D

paulopn says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Impressive...I'd really like to see a more complete version =D

BumpkinRich says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 6:32pm

I'd like to see a more complete version too. Ambitious for 48 hours - which is awesome!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 6:51am

I clipped through the wall and floor xD

laaph says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:41am

I don't know where you can edit old entries here, but you can find this and more here https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/59395735/GameJams/gamejams.html - but the thing I wanted to add was linux builds and source files to the entry.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]