April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Islander

by Yezu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

THE ISLANDER

In a postapocalyptic future you are stranded on remote island, alone, among people gone viloently mad. You have been hiding and relatively safe until Today.

An unforseen circumstance has forced you outside into the wasteland. Will you survive?

There are four undergound bunkers to be found and a number of small settlements scattered throughout the island. The island's area is about one square kilometer.

--------------------------------------------

You have to monitor 4 parameters: Food, Water, Oxygen and Radiation. If any of the first 3 run out or Radiation gets to a critcal level you will die.

In the wasteland you will be able to find supplies that will help you keep these 4 parameters at safe levels.

Remember fighting increases you oxygen depletion, flashlight increases your water depletion and taking damage increases your radiotion level.

The arrow in the bottom left is you compass.

--------------------------------------------

Release notes:

* I'll be putting the source on sourceforge, so the link will be here soon.

* The Mac OS X build is not tested, but I'm assuming it works. If there are problems let me know.


--------------------------------------------

Requires Java 7

--------------------------------------------

If the game crashes on startup, just start again... It's very rare but happens from time to time. I'm working on it...

--------------------------------------------

This game is best played with a joypad.

Controls (Playstation style):

Movement + Look -> Analogs
Attack -> Square
Block -> Cross
Flashlight -> Triangle
Use -> Circle


Controls Keyboard + Mouse:

Movement -> WSAD/Arrows
Look -> Mouse
Attack -> LMB/Ctrl
Block -> RMB/Shift
Flashlight -> Q
Use -> Spacebar


Additional:

F5 -> Save
F6 -> Load
ESQ -> Save and exit.

Additional additional:
Press ~ to open in game console. There's some more info there. Also if you want to reset settings (resolution etc.) just type "clear settings" in the console prompt.

-----------------------------------------------

If the game crashes it will ask you if it can send to me the crash data. If you agree I will be able to improve my tools. The data is totally anonymous. Just the call stack and basic Java OS info. Thanks :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#452Graphics3.18
#455Mood3.00
#505Audio2.78
#875Humor1.82
#923Innovation2.62
#1045Overall2.68
#1158Fun2.23
#1317Theme2.31

Comments

deathray says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:21am

Aww. Only Linux?

Yezu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:48am

Windows and OS X are up :)

Andrew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:04am

The walking speed seems very slow, and I was never sure if I hit the enemies or if I narrowly missed. Either way fairly impressive achievement for 48 hours.

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Game was weird, didn't find a way to change the options after having started the game.

Not sure if it's normal but the mouse was inverted (loop up = move mouse down, etc etc), very annoying.

Dissing says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Nice to see a jME game made in just 48 hours!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:55pm

This was a creepy game, and very reminicent of the old PSX demos. Very cool!

Also, good job doing 3D! That's hard to make happen in LD's

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:12pm

That sure is a big sword!
Also this is very cool; very sparse and unsettling.

gokuhd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:16pm

The only thing I would change is the moving speed, at least add the possibility to run faster. It's so much fun, I was walking and walking until I found those guys and laughed a lot when foght them. Did you get inspired by Sanosuke to create the sword? it looks like it :).

CptBubbles says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:23pm

The game seems a little bit ambitious for an LD entry and it could use some polishing (and the movement speed should be much higher). That's quite a lot of work for 48 hours, though.

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Running this on linux gives me:

com.jme3.renderer.RendererException: Image format 'DXT1' is unsupported by the video hardware.
at com.jme3.renderer.lwjgl.TextureUtil.getImageFormatWithError(TextureUtil.java:220)
at com.jme3.renderer.lwjgl.TextureUtil.uploadTexture(TextureUtil.java:231)
at com.jme3.renderer.lwjgl.LwjglRenderer.updateTexImageData(LwjglRenderer.java:1905)
at com.jme3.renderer.lwjgl.LwjglRenderer.setTexture(LwjglRenderer.java:1928)
at com.jme3.material.MatParamTexture.apply(MatParamTexture.java:86)
at com.jme3.material.Material.render(Material.java:1036)
at com.jme3.renderer.RenderManager.renderGeometry(RenderManager.java:523)
at com.jme3.post.FilterPostProcessor.renderProcessing(FilterPostProcessor.java:202)
at com.jme3.post.FilterPostProcessor.renderFilterChain(FilterPostProcessor.java:281)
at com.jme3.post.FilterPostProcessor.postFrame(FilterPostProcessor.java:294)
at com.jme3.renderer.RenderManager.renderViewPort(RenderManager.java:987)
at com.jme3.renderer.RenderManager.render(RenderManager.java:1029)
at eu.cherrytree.zaria.base.ZariaApplication.runState(ZariaApplication.java:818)
at eu.cherrytree.ld48.islander.GameApplication.executeMachineState(GameApplication.java:91)
at eu.cherrytree.zaria.base.ZariaApplication.update(ZariaApplication.java:730)
at com.jme3.system.lwjgl.LwjglAbstractDisplay.runLoop(LwjglAbstractDisplay.java:151)
at com.jme3.system.lwjgl.LwjglDisplay.runLoop(LwjglDisplay.java:185)
at com.jme3.system.lwjgl.LwjglAbstractDisplay.run(LwjglAbstractDisplay.java:228)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:722)


Will try to re-visit on windows later on

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Like the others said above, would be nice if you could move a little faster.

saggiosoft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:26am

Good atmosphere, great ambition, very little "minimalism". Anyway an unusual entry!

rwos says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Just a quick note: it doesn't start on Debian 7, since libbulletjme64.so is linked against glibc 2.14 (and Debian 7 is on 2.13). Will try on a Ubuntu system later on.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Cool! But movement is very slow.

kreddor says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:13am

Really cool graphics, but the walking speed was too slow and the game was slightly confusing. I found a settlement and killed everyone :)

tiffi says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:21am

Very nice game. I love the grafics and the sound! well done!

QXD-me says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:20pm

I got this error on startup:

Could not find the main class:
eu.cherrytree.ld48.islander.GameApplication. Program will exit.

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Amazing mood and wild pacing! Te art is strange and great-looking and the robust system warrants a few play-throughs, at least. AWESOME

zkenshin says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Also agree that faster movement would be a plus, along with some better feedback during combat. Neat game though. :)

Yezu says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:13pm

I'm really glad you liked this entry. :) And thank you very much for trying it out.

I know about the movement speed. I just didn't manage to fix it in time. The character slides visibly right now, if I were to speed him up it would be terrible. I would have to redo his animation, but... I just ran out of time...

OU GDA says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Really good post apoc feel to it, especially with the music. It would have been nice to have a bit more feedback during combat though (maybe some audio hit sounds). And the character is so slow ^__^ Really impressive for a compo entry

imagnity says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:42pm

This is really fascinating for the limited time. Wow!

hgouveia says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:09pm

i think this was a pretty ambicious game to be made in 48h, but i think with a little of clean up, better models this could be a great game :D

Jiddo says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Cool game. Felt quite solid for being a 48h 3D game! It ran perfectly for me on Linux. Also cool to see some JME stuff.

My main annoyance was the quite slow movement speed. It would have been awesome if there was at least some sort of sprint functionality.

Great work!

ovenchips says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:55am

Wow, a lot going on in this game! Amazing to get so much done in the time... Any chance of a source link?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]